Psalm Chapter 4

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 4

Psalm 4

1 Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness: thou hast enlarged me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me, and hear my prayer.

2 O ye sons of men, how long will ye turn my glory into shame? how long will ye love vanity, and seek after leasing? Selah.

3 But know that the Lord hath set apart him that is godly for himself: the Lord will hear when I call unto him.

4 Stand in awe, and sin not: commune with your own heart upon your bed, and be still. Selah.

5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the Lord.

6 There be many that say, Who will shew us any good? Lord, lift thou up the light of thy countenance upon us.

7 Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.

8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

52 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 4

  1. I Trust you God. 1 Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness: thou hast enlarged me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me, and hear my prayer. Youve picked me up and put me on solid grounds. You haven’t put anything in front of me that i could not handle. Im still here, and im as strong as ive ever been. I will continue to live righteous for the Lord, he hasnt let me down yet. Always giving him praise for the prayers hes answering 3 But know that the Lord hath set apart him that is godly for himself: the Lord will hear when I call unto him. 5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the Lord. I Trust you God…..what can i offer for you today Lord…. 7 Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.

  2. 7 You have given me greater joy than those who have abundant harvests of grain and new wine. (NLT)

    “This joy that’s in my heart just can’t be contained. This peace that’s in my mind just can’t be explained. This love that’s in my soul keeps me amazed.” Thank you Jesus!

  3. Oh man, This is such a beautiful passage.

    “You can be sure of this: The LORD set apart the godly for himself. The LORD will answer when I call to him. Don’t sin by letting anger control you. Think about it overnight and remain silent. Interlude
    Offer sacrifices in the right spirit, and trust the LORD.

    In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, O LORD, will keep me safe.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭4:3-5, 8‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    It’s wonderful to be able to see where and how God sets us apart. He reserves us for only Himself. We aren’t meant to be part of the world.
    The sacrifices of the righteous…yes we definitely need to make every sacrifice in the right spirit and attitude. But the sacrifices of the righteous come in many forms. Whether it be at work, at school, or out anywhere else there are many practices that we as the holy people of God abstain from. He has called us to be separate. There are also situations where we might be tempted to run with the crowd. For us to be true ambassadors and represent the Lord it can put us in a very trying positions. This is where humility and trust come in. And no matter the persecution it says right here in the last verse that the LORD Will keep us safe and let us lay in peace. Thank you Jesus for what you’ve pulled me out of, and for what you’ve called me to, and for where you are taking me. Thank you for the work you do in me.

  4. 1 Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness: thou hast enlarged me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me, and hear my prayer
    When we call on the Lord he is there for us. His grace and mercy is with us and he is ready to answer our prayer. To be “enlarged ” when in distress could mean there is growth and progress in everything we do. We grow by going through things and making it out successfully. Let’s allow God to grow us and make us stronger than ever before

  5. I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety. (‭Psalms‬ ‭4‬:‭8‬ KJV)

    When you have the peace of GOD, then you have all that you’ll ever need. Peace brings joy, joy brings love, love brings giving, giving brings mercy. It’s a sound mind(righteous living) is what we all simply desire. No amount of wealth can ever buy or give you this. There is safety in the arms of a loving Father and it’s where I always want to be!!

    Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice. (‭Psalms‬ ‭63‬:‭7‬ KJV)

  6. Psalms 4:8 (KJV Strong’s)
    8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep:
    for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    The Hebrew word for safety isn’t just security. It has several meanings: confidence, hope, assurance, careless, and refuge.

    The word careless isn’t one of haphazard approaches to serious situations. If the KJV definition is simply without care, without worry, without doubt, without unbelief, without pressure. When we are care less we are then peace full.

    Like Pastor said “God won’t do anything that we can do.” I believe the opposite is true as well. We shouldn’t try and do what God says that he will do.

    1 Peter 5:7 (AMPC)
    7 Casting thewhole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns,once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about youwatchfully.

    Sleep peacefully, and let God do what he does. He cares FOR you.

  7. Verse 3 MSG “Look at this: look Who got picked by God! He listens the split second I call to him.” John 15:16 MSG says “You didn’t choose me, remember; I chose you, and put you in the world to bear fruit, fruit that won’t spoil. As fruit bearers, whatever you ask the Father in relation to me, he gives you.”

  8. 4 Stand in awe, and sin not: commune with your own heart upon your bed, and be still. Selah.

    5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the Lord.

    Even when times get difficult and hard, put your trust in God! You may look at your life and think it may look hopeless, like you have been left out on your own. But God is always on your side and he has a plan for you and your life, all you have to do is put your trust in him.

  9. 7. You have filled me with joy, and happiness has risen in my heart, great delight and unrivaled joy, even more than when bread abounds and wine flows freely. The Voice

    And like today, when bread abounds and milk flows freely…

  10. 5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the Lord.

    No matter what we go through. We put our trust in God. We must trust him when ever we go through the tests of life. People put there trust in many things, but I choose to put my trust in the Lord.

  11. Forever my Peace
    8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    Peace and safety He gathers His angels and they are all about us. He holds us in the palms of His hands for if His footstool is the earth then His hands are capable of holding everyone of us. Oh the safest place to be is right in the midst of Him.

  12. 5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the Lord.

    Our trust always need to be in God! For good many good things Come from him! Blessed are the ones who do put there trust in God.Hard times come and we never need to be afraid for when we put our trust in him, he will make a way

  13. 3 But know that the Lord hath set apart him that is godly for himself: the Lord will hear when I call unto him.

    God has set us apart. Yes we are different, yes we stand out. God set us apart from this world for himself.

  14. SPALMS 4:4
    Don’t sin by letting anger control you. THINK about it overnight and remain silents.

    EPHESIAMS 4:26 (MSG)
    Go ahead and be angry. You do wll to be angry – but don’t use your anger as fuel for revenge. And don’t stay angry . Don’t give the devil that kind of foothold in you life.

  15. “Don’t sin by letting anger control you. Think about it overnight and remain silent. Interlude”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭4:4‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    This verse alone can save you from so much heartache! We will all face disagreements and conflicts and how we handle them is crucial. In all things we still must show the love God!

  16. GO IN GODS GRACE AND PEACE

    7 Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.
    8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    Recognizing and Remembering who it is that we are serving is very important and influential in our attitude and actions of life. Life in itself can become disappointing, discouraging and even defeating. BUT, holding to the promises of GOD as we GO through this life we are eternally set to GO with GOD eternally. Choosing in our minds to GO with GOD and GO in GODS GRACE AND PEACE means we are Blessed and Comforted.

    The MSG version clearly states our appraoch.

    6-7 Why is everyone hungry for more? “More, more,” they say.
    “More, more.”
    I have God’s more-than-enough,
    More joy in one ordinary day

    7-8 Than they get in all their shopping sprees.
    At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep,
    For you, God, have put my life back together.

    Lets choose today to be THANKFUL and JOYFUL over what GOD has done for us rather than complain about what he hasn’t done for us.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo

  17. iLove to Go Blog
    Psalms 4:7 KJV Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.

    Gladness
    H8057
    שִׂמְחָה

    From H8056; blithesomeness or glee, (religious or festival): – X exceeding (-ly), gladness, joy (-fulness), mirth, pleasure, rejoice (-ing).

    Thank You Lord for these verses that illustrate the joy of the Lord in the midst of persecution. Notice in this verse that David is comparing the enemies joy verses the joy of the Lord. Notice in verse #2, “How long will you people ruin my reputation? How long will you make groundless accusations? How long will you continue your lies”?

    David lays out his case and thanks the Lord that the Joy of the Lord is far superior than the joy of the harvest of the enemy. Waaaahhhhooo! In your face devil!

  18. 8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    It is complete trust when we close our eyes to sleep without fear, knowing that God watches over us and keeps us safe. This trust comes from living a holy and separated live for Christ and having a relationship with Him.

  19. 3 But know that the Lord hath set apart him that is godly for himself: the Lord will hear when I call unto him.

    I have read many story in the bible that when they call your name something began to happend

    I know when i call upon your name lord that you will hear me. I know that what ever i ne

  20. 3 But know that the Lord hath set apart him that is godly for himself

    The Lord has called each of us to be “holy” separated unto Him. Our idea of separation and His idea of separation may be two totally different thought processes. He calls us to withdraw from the “spirit” of the world: thinking like the world, dressing like the world, acting like the world, to be drawn to Him through areas of separation in our lives: becoming like Him in attitude and actions, and then allowing that same spirit that changes us on the inside to be evident on the outside, revealing the Christ in us.

  21. 7 Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.

    8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    Really its the latter part of verse 7 but I love them both! Sometime we are just grateful when things are going great, hey the bills are paid, food on the table, and no problems, but when things are bad thats when we call on God, Hey God im here but where are you! Were starving and the lights are gonna get shut off bla bla bla, We need to thank God not only in the good times, but in the bad times too, I will praise you through every circumstance, good, bad, happy, sad! In the time of decrease and in the time of increase, ungratefulness is happiness in plenty and sad when there not enough, gratefulness is happiness regardless because im grateful! Its not taking God for granted! i have found myself in this very situation not to long ago! And when I look back God didn’t move in that situation! He wants us to be grateful all the tine, and he dont want us to take him for granted!

  22. Ps. 4:7, “Thou hast put gladness (feeling of joy or pleasure; delighted; pleased) in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.”

    Thank You JESUS, that even in the times of our trials and tests of life, You put GLADNESS (Joy, Pleasure, Delight) in our hearts.
    “The JOY of the LORD is MY STRENGTH!!”

  23. 5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the Lord.

    Trust in God no matter what your going thru!

  24. 7 Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.
    8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.
    God has given us the city of Fort Worth as our field. He has given us blessings we have yet to see. We will rejoice with the harvest of winning new souls for His glory! Let us rest tonight because tomorrow is a new day and we are ready to sow the next seed.

  25. Psalm4 verse 5 I reading today’s English amp Bible it saying , offer just and right sacrifices; (lean on and be confident) in the Lord. Trust in the lord with all of your heart , and watch what he does for your life . thank you Jesus for saving my life.

  26. 7 Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased

    Our joy should t come from carnal things but rather it should come from the things of the kingdom of God. When we are kingdom minded we get our joy from seeing other people blessed, someone praying through or being baptized. God sees our heart through what brings us joy.

  27. Don’t sin by letting anger control you. Think about it overnight and remain silent.
    Psalms 4:4 NLT

    When we get angry we loose control of what we say and how we act which in turn causes us to loose our testimony and hurt those that our anger is towards. The enemy will try to use anything to make us fall but we must remember that God is in control and He will take care of it. We must learn to take a step back breath, think, be quite and relax before we react.

  28. 8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    I have put my trust in you Lord!
    In the past I used to worried about everything, if I didn’t had the control of things, I would worried things would work out. The hardest thing I have ever done is to let go and let God take the control. The minute I learn to TRUST in Him, I have peace and know for sure that in God I have safety and dwell in His mercy and know He has my back.

  29. Tremble and[d] do not sin;
    when you are on your beds,
    search your hearts and be silent.

    We all need a good dose of the fear of God to keep us from sin.

  30. 3 But know that the Lord hath set apart him that is godly for himself: the Lord will hear when I call unto him.

    God has set us apart and commanded us to walk in holiness. He said to be holy for he is holy. To walk after Him as he guides us. We are to trust in him and he will hear us when we call for him. We can rest easy knowing our God is in control.

  31. 8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    I find that the peace the Lord gives me is through his love for me. There is no better place to find safety than in trusting God.

  32. “When I call, give me answers. God, take my side! Once, in a tight place, you gave me room; Now I’m in trouble again: grace me! hear me!”
    ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭4:1‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    Sometimes we don’t understand when we are waiting on answers from God. We don’t always know why we have to wait. We don’t always see that is picture is more ham just our tiny speck in front of us. If we truly understood we would cope better and wait longer. God give us the ability to have greater understanding of your plans in our lives

  33. “Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the Lord.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭4:5‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Samuel told King Saul it was better to obey than to offer a dead animal. The same is true today. It is better to offer a sacrifice of obedient righteous living than to offer dead works.
    Righteousness is a sacrifice and it’s Faith in ACTION!

    “And Samuel said, Hath the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the Lord? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, and to hearken than the fat of rams.”
    ‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭15:22‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  34. 8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety

    The Lord is the prince of Peace and he is who gives us safety. While the world may be in turmoil there is a calm and peace that protect the hearts of those that honor and serve the Lord.

  35. “I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭4:8‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    My God my God. He makes me lay in green pastures. He leads me to the ocean. He calms the storms around me. Even if the world is crashing down on me. He keep me safe.

  36. 3 Know that the Lord has set apart his faithful servant for himself;
    the Lord hears when I call to him.

    Lord help me be that faithful servant. Help me do what you say no matter what!!!! I will fight and fight for you give me the strength that I need. I have the victory and no weapon shall be formed against me!!! Help me be humble and obey all your commands Lord!!! I’ll provide the sacrifice you provide the Spirit Lord!!! All for your glory and your honor!!! I was listening to a preaching today and the preacher said “if we would realize who God is it be simple…. If God says to do it just say yes sir and do it”

    “The master said, ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!” Matt 25:23

    Its A Promise!!!

  37. Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.(Psalms 4:7 KJV)

    Every good thing comes from above and the joy the Lord gives us is greater than a blessing of physical things. The joy of the Lord is our strength. That gladness will bring forth favor and increase.

  38. 6 There be many that say, Who will shew us any good? Lord, lift thou up the light of thy countenance upon us.

    7 Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.

    8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

  39. 3 Look at this: look Who got picked by God! He listens the split second I call to him.
    8 At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep, For you, God, have put my life back together.

    God hears every cry out to him and he comes on his time to pick us up and sets us on the path for him. He’s the only one that is our mender that can put our lifes back together to run after him. Thank you Lord for hearing my prayers, coming to pick me up and set my feet on solid ground, and being my mender in my life!

  40. 8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    There is a certain surety that has to be in you to go to sleep around people. Many times in my youth, when we would go out of town, and had to stay together in a room, we would all stay up with the fear of being pranked on by your room mates.

    I remember as well when I was in SERE school, Survive, Evade, Resist, Escape, on the third day of my as I was being successful in not being caught. I fell a sleep in the side of a cliff. I was so tired and exhausted, it defeated my instincts and awareness, that I got caught. I remember fighting my sleep because I just knew if I did, I would be caught.

    This very can be applied in a spiritual sense, there is a sureness when have a clear conscience. I can not imagine, when people have polluted there minds, try to go to sleep, and are haunted by there lack of forgiveness.

  41. 8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    Thank you, JESUS for GREAT PEACE!!! I SLEEP IN PEACE ESPECIALLY WHEN I SPEAK UNTO YOU THEE!!!

  42. 8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.
    God is my peace and my rest. Although some days can be tough in the end I sleep well knowing He is with me.

  43. Is it a sacrifice?

    5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the Lord.”
    ‭‭
    It seems to me that the only people in society today who are “sinners” are Christians. We KNOW how rotten we are, and we know the grace that redeems such rotten sinners. Even when we fall into a period of sin, do we go around defending it and trying to justify our sin, and trying to change reality to make our sin acceptable?

    Activists for “alternate-lifestyles” or “gender-awareness” are trying to force everyone else to acknowledge that their relationships and choices have all the cultural and moral justifications and “rightness”. It simply is not true. In fact, the negatives are horrendous; death, weeping and gnashing of teeth.

    Jesus looks at us with thoughts of eternity. He is on a mission to bring us back into a relationship with Him to get us through the narrow gate into the kingdom of heaven. Let’s get back to basics.  Christianity and righteousness is about one thing and that is Jesus Christ.  I know that we are bombarded with teachings about prosperity, health, and abundance, but the fact is that Jesus Christ died so that we would be forgiven. Jesus did not die so that we would have good health, wealth, and prosperity.

  44. 7 Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased.

    8 I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

    Gladness from the greek:
    G20: agalliao from
    agan (much); properly to jump for joy, i.e. exult:- be (exceeding) glad, with exceeding joy, rejoice (greatly).

    See I know what can happen; when your joy is taken away. That I’ve experienced on a personal level. There have been more times than I can count where the enemy has taken my joy; and I have not done anything to gain it back. Man I thought God hated me at one point; That is one thing I couldn’t: I will not be able to do anymore. Live without God, His word, or being baptized in Jesus name and filled with the Holy Ghost. I need to purposely keep the gladness and joy in my heart. Let the word of God spring up in to where they over flow. Thank you Jesus…….Amen!!!

  45. 4 Don’t sin by letting anger control you. Think about it overnight and remain silent.

    We all could take this as advice. We should learn how to control our anger, or dont say nothing at all.

  46. HEAR me when I call, O God of my righteousness: thou hast enlarged me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me, and hear my prayer. Thank you that your a prayer listening God !!

Leave a Reply

