Psalm Chapter 17

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 17

Psalm 17

1 Hear the right, O Lord, attend unto my cry, give ear unto my prayer, that goeth not out of feigned lips.

2 Let my sentence come forth from thy presence; let thine eyes behold the things that are equal.

3 Thou hast proved mine heart; thou hast visited me in the night; thou hast tried me, and shalt find nothing; I am purposed that my mouth shall not transgress.

4 Concerning the works of men, by the word of thy lips I have kept me from the paths of the destroyer.

5 Hold up my goings in thy paths, that my footsteps slip not.

6 I have called upon thee, for thou wilt hear me, O God: incline thine ear unto me, and hear my speech.

7 Shew thy marvellous lovingkindness, O thou that savest by thy right hand them which put their trust in thee from those that rise up against them.

8 Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,

9 From the wicked that oppress me, from my deadly enemies, who compass me about.

10 They are inclosed in their own fat: with their mouth they speak proudly.

11 They have now compassed us in our steps: they have set their eyes bowing down to the earth;

12 Like as a lion that is greedy of his prey, and as it were a young lion lurking in secret places.

13 Arise, O Lord, disappoint him, cast him down: deliver my soul from the wicked, which is thy sword:

14 From men which are thy hand, O Lord, from men of the world, which have their portion in this life, and whose belly thou fillest with thy hid treasure: they are full of children, and leave the rest of their substance to their babes.

15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.

57 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 17

  1. Verses 8-9 MSG “Keep your eye on me; hide me under your cool wing feathers From the wicked who are out to get me, from mortal enemies closing in.” Psalm 91:4 NLT says “He will cover you with his feathers. He will shelter you with his wings. His faithful promises are your armor and protection.”

    Verse 15 MSG “And me? I plan on looking you full in the face. When I get up, I’ll see your full stature and live heaven on earth.” This verse reminded me of the song “Heaven on Earth”:

    The spirit of the Lord is upon me
    His anointing is empowering
    The Kingdom of the Lord is within me
    And He’s calling me to the heavenlies

    Be seated in heavenly places
    Just like Heaven, just like Heaven on Earth
    To be walking in His favor and grace is
    Just like Heaven, just like Heaven on Earth
    Oh-oh-oh-oh Heaven, Heaven on Earth
    Oh-oh-oh-oh Heaven

    Marching in the spirit of unity
    To our community, show His ability
    The will of the Lord for His children
    Is to demonstrate perpetuate

    Something’s moving! Something’s changing!
    See His glory! Feels like Heaven on Earth!
    Lightning and thunder! Miracles and wonders!
    The sound of many waters! Heaven on Earth!

    To see everything from a new point of view.
    To be seated with Jesus in Heavenly places
    From His perspective everything is made new

    There is Lightning and thunder! Miracles and wonders!
    The sound of many waters! Heaven on Earth!

  2. 8. Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,

    God will keep us hidden and safe under His wings if we allow Him to, but if we choose to leave His protection on our own, He won’t force Himself on anyone.

    Matthew 23:37 KJV
    O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, thou that killest the prophets, and stonest them which are sent unto thee, how often would I have gathered thy children together, even as a hen gathereth her chickens under her wings, and ye would not!

  3. 15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.KJV

    “Because I am righteous, I will see you. When I awake, I will see you face to face and be satisfied.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭17:15‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    “And me? I plan on looking you full in the face. When I get up, I’ll see your full stature and live heaven on earth.”
    ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭17:15‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    “My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O Lord; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭5:3‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    “O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭63:1‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    There’s so many places in the Bible that calls us to rise early and seek His face. The LORD does not force us to do it. It is a privlage that we as His children get. We get the opportunity to spend one on one time with God. We get to be face to face with the Creator and Master of the whole universe!! HOW WONDEROUS IS THAT!!?!?!? But how many times to we tredge to our prayer time out of “obligation”? We get to invite the KING of KINGS into our homes and commune with Him. We get to truly experience “heaven on earth!” Jesus, You are so good to us!!❤️

  4. 11 They have now compassed us in our steps: they have set their eyes bowing down to the earth;

    12 Like as a lion that is greedy of his prey, and as it were a young lion lurking in secret places.

    We need to keep our focus on Jesus and his heavenly things. We don’t want to be greedy and selfish. Those things lead to spiritual death. But reading the word and studying is were wisdom comes from, and it like our own precious honey awaiting.My eyes will stay on the lord and his desires.

  5. 3 Thou hast proved mine heart; thou hast visited me in the night; thou hast tried me, and shalt find nothing; I am purposed that my mouth shall not transgress.
    4 Concerning the works of men, by the word of thy lips I have kept me from the paths of the destroyer.
    5 Hold up my goings in thy paths, that my footsteps slip not.

    Being determined to serve God no matter the slip-ups or the mistakes that we make is the most important decision that it takes to overcome any obstacle. Often times the devil uses every single little mistake we make to oppress us trying to get us to give up. But it is when we have a made up mind that we will not give up that makes us more than conquerors

  6. VALUED BY GOD

    8 Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,

    A simple reflection of the multiple things that JESUS has kept us from. The result of HIS assessment of our value is revealed in and through the LOVE of GOD to HIS Church.

    The apple of the eye is considered the most valued sight of the eye. The shadow of a wing is extended beyond the natural covering. As we walk with and serve the LORD JESUS we position ourselves in that sweet Apple of his eye spot as we position ourselves under the protective wings of the LORD.

    We are wise to reflect on the LOVE that JESUS showed us.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo

  7. Hear the right, O Lord, attend unto my cry, give ear unto my prayer, that goeth not out of feigned lips.

    2 Let my sentence come forth from thy presence; let thine eyes behold the things that are equal.

    3 Thou hast proved mine heart; thou hast visited me in the night; thou hast tried me, and shalt find nothing; I am purposed that my mouth shall not transgress.

    4 Concerning the works of men, by the word of thy lips I have kept me from the paths of the destroyer.

    5 Hold up my goings in thy paths, that my footsteps slip not.

  8. This is our ultimate goal, to awaken in his likeness! To be perfect just like our God!

    15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.

    “Remember, what Jesus said “Be perfect just like your Father in Heaven is perfect!”

  9. (3) You have teste my thougths and examined my heart in the night. You have scrutinized me and found nothing wrong. I am determined not to sin in what i say.
    Psalms 17: 3

    Is by blood of jesus that we are declare righteous. Thank you Lord!!

  10. Rejoice in the morning.

    15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.

    We must make up in our minds in the morning to serve God. Everyday we have a choice. And we make the most importance choice in the morning. To serve God.

  11. Hear the right, O Lord, attend unto my cry, give ear unto my prayer, that goeth not out of feigned lips.

    What this Verse means is we pray to the Lord with a cry to tell him what we are praying for my God is worthy of all the praise we give unto him.
    Go with Jesus Amen

  12. David confident in his firm commitment to God remains deeply aware of the dangers faced by a righteous man in living a sinful world. What comfort to know that God will confront the wicked and the righteous find satisfaction in Gods presence.

  13. “As for me, I shall see Your face in righteousness; I will be [fully] satisfied when I awake [to find myself] seeing Your likeness.”
    ‭‭PSALM‬ ‭17:15‬ ‭AMP‬‬

    This world can keep all their earth wealth and riches. My desire is to see Jesus!

    “And me? I plan on looking you full in the face. When I get up, I’ll see your full stature and live heaven on earth.”
    ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭17:15‬ ‭MSG‬‬

  14. 14 By the power of your hand, O Lord, destroy those who look to this world for their reward. But satisfy the hunger of your treasured ones. May their children have plenty, leaving an inheritance for their descendants.
    15 Because I am righteous, I will see you. When I awake, I will see you face to face and be satisfied. (NLT)

    Where are you looking for reward? If it’s not in Jesus, watch out! But for those who seek His face, who seek to live riteously, we will be greatly rewarded – Oh what a glorious day when we see Him face to face!

  15. 10 They are inclosed in their own fat: with their mouth they speak proudly.

    Fat here could and probably does mean abundance. They are inclined in their own abundance. They are wrapped up in their wealth. Too caught up in what they have. And they are proud about it.

  16. Psalms 17: 5-8 Hold up my goings in thy paths that my footsteps slip not. I have called upon thee for thou wilt hear me O God incline thine ear unto me and hear my seech. Shew thy marvellous loving-kindness O thou that saves by thy right hand them which put their trust in thee from those that rise up against them.

  17. Guard me as you would guard your own eyes. Hide me in the shadow of your wings. Protect me from wicked people who attack me, from murderous enemies who surround me. By the power of your hand, O  Lord , destroy those who look to this world for their reward. But satisfy the hunger of your treasured ones. May their children have plenty, leaving an inheritance for their descendants.
    Psalms 17:8‭-‬9‭, ‬14 NLT

    The lord will protect me keep me under his wings. He push back the darkness light up the kingdom ALL THINGS ARE WORKING FOR MY GOOD

  18. 4 I’m not trying to get my way in the world’s way. I’m trying to get your way, your Word’s way. MSG

    We won’t always know the will of God in every situation. Then there are times when we will know the will of God, but we won’t like it. Then, there are times when we will know the will of God, but we don’t understand it. My heart nor my mind are very well equipped to handle or understand the big picture. God sees the beginning from the end and gives what is good. Difficulties and hardships will strike each of us at different times in our lives. What should our response be; complain for 30 chapters as Job did? Or, maybe submit to the fact that our best interests are always in God’s plan.

  19. I am blessed to feel the presence of the Lord as i read this chapter this morning. He protects me throughout the night from the enemy and the sin that tries to pull me back to something i never wanna be apart of again. Every step i take is a step closer to helping others view God a better way than the day before. I wanna do this by showing these people whho protects me, who watches over me. They ask me how? How do you do it Jackson? Well, im blessed and i submitted myself to God i gave up and accepted him in my life. I tell them my legs started hurting from running so long. So i just fell on me knees and he kinda just took over from there.
    God bless you all!

  20. 4 I’m not trying to get my way in the world’s way. I’m trying to get your way, your Word’s way. 5 I’m staying on your trail; I’m putting one foot In front of the other. I’m not giving up. MSG
    It is not time to quit and throw in the towel, it’s time to keep going forward. I don’t want my way I want less of me and more of God. The only way to win this battle is put one foot in front of the other and listen for God’s directions. Sometimes those directions come from our Pastor after he has heard from God. I want to keep an open heart to listen to my elders and Pastor and Pastor’s wife so I am kept under the anointing.

  21. Psalms 17:15, “As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.”

    The scripture that came to mind as I read this one is 1 John 3:2-3.
    2) Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is.
    3) And every man that hath this hope in him purifieth himself, even as he is pure.

    What a Great Day that is going to be for those who live godly in Christ Jesus. When we see JESUS, just as He is, and we will be like Him.

  22. 4-5 I’m not trying to get my way
    in the world’s way.
    I’m trying to get your way,
    your Word’s way.
    I’m staying on your trail;
    I’m putting one foot
    In front of the other.
    I’m not giving up. MSG

    I’m persuaded! There is no other place that I would rather be than in God’s plan for my life! Yes, at times I’m truly baffled and don’t truly understand what He’s doing. Yet, as the scripture says “I’m putting one foot in front of the other, I’m not giving up”.

  23. 15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.

    Wake up each and every day seeking after God and striving for a holy and righteous life, and you will receive something greater than the world could ever give you! You will receive eternal life, something only a true relationship with God can give you!

  24. 1 Hear the right, O Lord, attend unto my cry, give ear unto my prayer, that goeth not out of feigned lips.

    Any petition we have unto the Lord should be made in the manner that David describes it here. For him to hear my cry, my prayer, is all that matters. Once it is in his hands, he will work things out. But like the parable of the unjust judge in Luke 18:1-8, we are “continue to pray and not falter or become dejected if our prayers do not seem to be answered right away. We are to come to understand that if a request is not granted immediately, God may be testing us, teaching us patience, or working out a purpose we cannot see. We must understand that He works on His timetable—not ours—and that He always works out what is best for us and for our particular situation (Romans 8:28). Our job, then, is to persevere in our faith in God, always trusting Him in what we ask of Him.” …from Forerunner Commentary

  25. 5 My steps have stayed on your path; I have not wavered from following you.

    Some say it’s not easy staying on the straight and narrow path to God. Instead of thinking that you’re walking on a tight rope, balance beam or sidewalk curve making it so hard to focus on God. Think to yourself and say, I’m walking on a wide plank, wide ply board, or a twelve by four board and you won’t have to worry about falling off. You’ll stay focused on God and better serve him!

  26. 8 Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,

    9 From the wicked that oppress me, from my deadly enemies, who compass me about.

    To be the apple of Gods eye means to be the center or pupil of his attention. It shows a level of protection and security. If we delight ourselves in the Lord and submit to Him He will put us under the shadow of his wings and will protect us from harm and danger.

  27. 15 As for me, I will be vindicated and will see your face; when I awake, I will be satisfied with seeing your likeness.

    What a glorious day when we meet Jesus as we are caught away in the sky! David shows us that even though we may be tried on every side God will bring us out. We have the crown of righteousness and to see his face to look forward to. Most pregnant mothers I’ve had the privilege of seeing as patients look forward to just seeing what their baby looks like. They go through so much pain throughout pregnancy and labor for the outcome. David explains his struggle and how he knows those that belong to this world will receive their reward here. In order to see his reward it is going to take a process and oh how he desires to see his maker just the anticipation and joy is enough to satisfy him. He sees past his current situation and beyond into what God has in store.

  28. iLove to Go Blog
    Wow, what a prayer and song from David. He proclaimed his innocence and declared his righteousness. This is exactly opposite of how the majority pray today. The majority pray today about how terrible they are and how unrighteous they are. The majority do not think they are worthy of anything from God. Blah. Repent and turn to Jesus folks. John 9:31 NLT “We know that God doesn’t listen to sinners, but He is ready to hear those who worship Him and do His will.” When we come to God in faith, the Word declares that God will answer our prayers.

  29. 13 Arise, O Lord, disappoint him, cast him down: deliver my soul from the wicked, which is thy sword:

    14 From men which are thy hand, O Lord, from men of the world, which have their portion in this life, and whose belly thou fillest with thy hid treasure: they are full of children, and leave the rest of their substance to their babes.

    15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.

    It doesn’t matter how much money you have or how many friends you have what’s important is how much time you spend talking to God and working for his kingdom!

  30. 15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.

    What a verse of prophesy!!!! This is what we all should be striving for, that when we are laid to rest, we “awaken” (get to awaken in the spirit), and we, and even more importantly, Jesus is pleased with our testimonies, and we get to see ourselves transformed into the fullness of His likeness…

  31. A purposes mouth

    3 Thou hast proved mine heart; thou hast visited me in the night; thou hast tried me, and shalt find nothing; I am purposed that my mouth shall not transgress.

    On accasion everyone is tempted to get out of line and say something they shouldn’t. Just as we purpose to get ourselves up for work in the morning and prepare our selves by shower and grooming of our flesh, we should also groom our spirits with a purpose, a purpose to be like Him. When our hearts are right and on purpose our mouth will follow. Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.

  32. 5 Hold up my goings in thy paths, that my footsteps slip not.

    6 I have called upon thee, for thou wilt hear me, O God: incline thine ear unto me, and hear my speech.

    7 Shew thy marvellous lovingkindness, O thou that savest by thy right hand them which put their trust in thee from those that rise up against them.

  33. 10 They are inclosed in their own fat: with their mouth they speak proudly.

    11 They have now compassed us in our steps: they have set their eyes bowing down to the earth;

    12 Like as a lion that is greedy of his prey, and as it were a young lion lurking in secret places.

  34. Psalms 17:4 (NLT)
    4 I have followed your commands,
    which keep me from following cruel and evil people.

    Sometimes the best way to stay out of trouble is to just simply follow the words of the Bible. God give us the commands he does to keep us from sin but also to keep us safe, and protect us.

    Yes we will have our fair share of trouble but we will never have to deal with the kind of challenges that certain addictions, substances, and lifestyles bring.

    He truly loves us and we should ever and always trust him.

  35. 8 Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,

    God will always be there for us no matter what the problem maybe I will always keep his hand over us and he will keep his blessings and his love for the ones that love him.

  36. 15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness

    Our major desire is to be more like God. We should strive to take on his likeness. Less of me and more of you God. Time spent with Jesus is time we invest in becoming more like Him.

  37. O  Lord , hear my plea for justice. Listen to my cry for help. Pay attention to my prayer, for it comes from honest lips.
    Psalms 17:1 NLT

    We must be persistent enough and righteous that God Has to pay attention to us. The only way to do that is by seeking His Face.

  38. “Thou hast proved mine heart; thou hast visited me in the night; thou hast tried me, and shalt find nothing; I am purposed that my mouth shall not transgress.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭17:3‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Even through he dark times or trials of life we are expected to be like David. We are to be someone of faith. We are expected to speak good and not curses.

  39. 15 As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness.

    My desire is to be wake every day in the likeness of Jesus Christ.

    To be like Jesus, to be like Jesus
    On earth I long to be like Him
    All through life’s journey from earth to glory
    I only ask to be like Him

  40. Arise, O Lord , disappoint him, cast him down: deliver my soul from the wicked, which is thy sword:(Psalms.17.13.KJV)

    The mind of the wicked believe that they are above God because they have the mentality of their father of this world. David, who has the mind of Christ knows his enemies are defeated even before they rise up. It’s not by might, nor by power but by His Spirit. It’s the sword of his Spirit that slays the enemy.

  41. 4-5 I’m not trying to get my way in the world’s way. I’m trying to get your way, your Word’s way. I’m staying on your trail; I’m putting one foot In front of the other. I’m not giving up.

    His way is in the word not the world! Every “Christian” church says there for God and believe there way is the right way for him but that’s not His way it’s the worlds! They think the Bible is a book that can be flexible but there’s nothing flexible about the word of truth! I praise God that I’m in a church that has a pastor to know the word of truth and be able to share it with everyone! I won’t stop till the whole world knows he is truth and all they have to do is open up his word, read and walk in it!

  42. 9. The righteous also shall hold on his way, and he that hath clean hands shall be stronger and stronger. Praise ye the LORD !!!!

  43. Please excuse this I made a mistake I typed in Job instead of Psalm Chap. 17 verse 7. Shew thy marvelous lovingkindness, O thou that savest by thy right hand them which put their trust in thee from those that rise up against them. Praise the LORD !!!! I lift you up Jesus !!!!

  44. 5 Hold up my goings in thy paths, that my footsteps slip not.
    I stand on The Rock. I shall not be moved. Hold me Lord to the path you have given me. Bless me on my journey to see this life to the end. Thank you Lord for the trials during my journey and for blessings yet to come.

  45. Psalm 8:8 Today’s English amp Bible . Keep and guard me as the pupil of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings. God guard my mouth , my thinking , my thoughts that’s not pleasing to you. I love you Jesus.

  46. 8 Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,

    Reminds me of the time that took care of chickens. I would go looking for the chicks and I couldn’t find them. I got flustered and told my dad about it. He took me to the hen that was squatted down in a corner. He took the hen up and there they were. All 12 of them hiding under the wings and in the protection of the mother hen.

    I can imagine when God places us in the shadow of his wings. Where we can find protection, be hidden under the mighty presence of God. No better place I rather be.

Leave a Reply

