Psalm Chapter 39

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 11

Psalm 39

1 I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.

2 I was dumb with silence, I held my peace, even from good; and my sorrow was stirred.

3 My heart was hot within me, while I was musing the fire burned: then spake I with my tongue,

4 Lord, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is: that I may know how frail I am.

5 Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah.

6 Surely every man walketh in a vain shew: surely they are disquieted in vain: he heapeth up riches, and knoweth not who shall gather them.

7 And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope is in thee.

8 Deliver me from all my transgressions: make me not the reproach of the foolish.

9 I was dumb, I opened not my mouth; because thou didst it.

10 Remove thy stroke away from me: I am consumed by the blow of thine hand.

11 When thou with rebukes dost correct man for iniquity, thou makest his beauty to consume away like a moth: surely every man is vanity. Selah.

12 Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear unto my cry; hold not thy peace at my tears: for I am a stranger with thee, and a sojourner, as all my fathers were.

13 O spare me, that I may recover strength, before I go hence, and be no more.

53 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 39

  1. I said to myself, “I will watch what I do and not sin in what I say. I will hold my tongue when the ungodly are around me.”
    Psalms 39:1 NLT

    Our tongue is a very powerful muscle
    James 3:8 said our tongue are like poison
    James 3:8
    But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.

    James 3:5-6 Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth!And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body, and setteth on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire of hell.

    So it’s important for us to control our tongue
    Proverbs 21:23 New Living Translation
    Watch your tongue and keep your mouth shut, and you will stay out of trouble.

    I want my mouth to praise you i want the word of my mouth to speak only what you say GOD

    Every tongue will confess the name of JESUS
    GOD made our tougue to praise him and worship him not to spit poison out of mouth

  2. ” Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered_ how fleeting my life is.
    PSALMS 39:4 NLT

  3. I will put on this armor that is spoke about in Ephesians

    Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:
    Ephesians 6:14‭-‬17 KJV

    1 I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.
    Today we will GO to WORK today we wil GO REACH to people.
    God bless you all

  4. 7 And so, Lord, where do I put my hope? My only hope is in you. (NLT)

    In You alone God, my prince of peace, do I place my hope, do I place my trust. When I think about how frail this life is, how short it is… God, “You hold my world in Your hands and I’m not afraid, my world is safe in Your hands…You won’t let go of me.”

  5. I Love To Worship The Lord
    Putting Pain In Perspective
    Silent out of fear of the wicked David asks God to help him sense the impermanence of life . Now admitting his pain is due to his sins and honoring God for his justice David’s hope is restored and he prays to God for relief
    Part of vs -1
    I said to myself I’m going to quit COMPLAINING
    Part of vs-9
    I will not open my mouth to speak one word of COMPLAINT
    Saints it does no good to complaine what ever your complaint about in the Kingdom it will absolutely destroy what your trying to do and accomplish
    James tells us in vs-5 the Tongue is a small thing but enormous damage it can do a great forest fire can be set on fire by one tiny spark
    Vs-6 Tells us that the tongue is a flame of fire it is full of sickness and poisons ever part of the Body.
    Wow!!!!!! Think about it our complaint can effect and poisons parts of the body (people in the Pencostals Of Fort Worth) and just think about the new believers it can destroy them
    God help me not to complaine in front of people if I got a complaint I will take it to The Lord

  6. 7 And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope is in thee

    My expectations are in the Lord. As David wrote about guarding his mouth and how short life really is ;he places thus verse right in the middle. David realized no matter what sins he had involved himself in,not matter what riches,no matter what rebukes came hus way he reminds us our only hope truly is in God.
    We can heap up aquaintences, popularity,bridle our tongue become arrogant in our walk wit God but in God’s tome the measure of our days is but a breath.

    Considering the shortness of life what will I do with it.
    I am frail yet mighty in Him, my hope is not in this world.Life is short so we have to be sure that each breath we are taking could be our last and I want my last breath to say My hope is in You Lord. I will serve You with gladness and expect great things!

  7. 7 And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope is in thee

    My expectations are in the Lord. As David wrote about guarding his mouth and how short life really is ;he places thus verse right in the middle. David realized no matter what sins he had involved himself in,not matter what riches,no matter what rebukes came hus way he reminds us our only hope truly is in God.
    We can heap up aquaintences, popularity,bridle our tongue become arrogant in our walk with God but in God’s tome the measure of our days is but a breath.

    Considering the shortness of life what will I do with it.
    I am frail yet mighty in Him, my hope is not in this world.Life is short so we have to be sure that each breath we are taking could be our last and I want my last breath to say My hope is in You Lord. I will serve You with gladness and expect great things!

  8. Verses 5-6 CEV “You made my life short, so brief that the time means nothing to you. “Human life is but a breath, and it disappears like a shadow. Our struggles are senseless; we store up more and more, without ever knowing who will get it all.” Life is short and no one is guaranteed tomorrow; so we have no time to waste or lose. We get so caught up on earthly things that we forget that the treasures we should be storing up should be in heaven.

    Matthew 6:19-21 CEV say “Don’t store up treasures on earth! Moths and rust can destroy them, and thieves can break in and steal them. Instead, store up your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy them, and thieves cannot break in and steal them. Your heart will always be where your treasure is.”

  9. PASSION TO GO

    3 My heart was hot within me, while I was musing the fire burned: then spake I with my tongue,

    This concept is very powerful and potentially dangerous.

    Negative

    When we are wronged or even perceive to be wronged, the hot within me is anger. Anger is dangerous when it is mused or meditated on. When anger is fed, the fire grows and words of harm are spoken. Hateful, devisive, damning words cause great pain with the tongue.

    Positive

    When we are on fire in the Holy Ghost and our hearts burn with the passion of the LORD, the hot within me is LOVE for GOD and HIS Kingdom. The words we speak are words of compassion and inspiration to lead others to the LOVE of GOD our LORD and savior JESUS.

    My prayer today for each of us is that we learn to follow the PASSION of the LORD and allow our tongue to speak for JESUS and HIS Kingdom.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGO

  10. Psalms 39:1 (NL
    I said to myself, “I will watch what I do and not sin in what I say. I will hold my tongue when the ungodly are around me.”

    Sometimes the best thing you can do is keep quite, and not say things you will regret later. One thing you can’t do is take back your words.

    The Bible tells us in James 3:8 (NLT) “But no one can tame the tongue. It is restless and evil, full of deadly poison.
    Perhaps that’s why David said in Psalms 141:3 (NLT) “Take control of what I say, O LORD, and guard my lips.”

    JESUS, guard my lips today! Help me speak only words of life.

  11. iLove to Go Blog
    1I said to myself, “I will watch what I do
    and not sin in what I say.
    I will hold my tongue
    when the ungodly are around me.”
    2But as I stood there in silence—
    not even speaking of good things—
    the turmoil within me grew worse.
    3The more I thought about it,
    the hotter I got,
    igniting a fire of words:

    Wow, powerful verses this morning that most of us can relate to. Sometimes human anger rises up and when it does, we need to do what David did…He went to the Lord in prayer. verse 4 says, “Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be.” lol, when anger rises up we must remember that we are here on earth only temporary and our life is only a vapor. True judgement will soon occur and God will not remain silent forever.

  12. 1 I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.

    The tongue is such a little entity of our being, yet it possess so much power. Power that is given to it from our mind. First we must think the though that comes out of our mouth. The tongue doesn’t just operate on its own. It all begins in the mind. That is why it is so important that we guard our though pattern, and keep our mind stayed upon Jesus.

    I am reminded of a wise quote I heard years ago:

    “\Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions, they become habits. Watch your habits, they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.”

  13. I said to myself, “I will watch what I do and not sin in what I say. I will hold my tongue when the ungodly are around me.”
    Psalms 39:1 NLT
    Help me to be quiet and hold my tongue no matter the circumstances. If someone needs a word from me, let me quiet myself and listen to You, LORD, and what I may say.

  14. ““ LORD, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered— how fleeting my life is.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭39:4‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    “You have made my life no longer than the width of my hand. My entire lifetime is just a moment to you; at best, each of us is but a breath.” Interlude”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭39:5‬ ‭NLT‬‬

  15. 7 And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope is in thee.

    Lord you are the treasure of my and heart and my soul, I wait for nothing but You! In You alone Lord is where I find my hope!

  16. 6. In truth, each of us journeys through life like a shadow. We busy ourselves accomplishing nothing, piling up assets we can never keep; We can’t even know who will end up with those things.

    7. In light of all this, Lord, what am I really waiting for? You are my hope. Voice

    Our time here is so short; if we put our hope in storing up treasures we can only use down here, when we leave it behind, it will have all been for nothing.

    If I had hope only in this world below
    I’d be covered with trouble; there’d be no place to go
    But when I met Jesus and I started believing
    I got filled with His love, washed in His blood
    I just started living.
    – The Cathedrals

  17. 5 Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah.

    Amen! For anyone who may think they are perfect or holy or righteous we must understand that our righteousness is in Jesus and even in our best state it’s altogether vanity! Nonetheless Paul said “and such were some of you but you’ve been washed, sanctified, justified by The Spirit ” We’re not all we need to be but thank God were not what we used to be!

  18. 1 I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.

    We have many chances every day to sin with our tongues, bridling frustration and or anger…just drive in rush hour bumper to bumper traffic every day! This prayer is very real for us today-we need the help of the Lord to stay calm & not get out of sorts with the people doing crazy things around us. Praise God for the Holy Ghost!

    4 Lord, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is: that I may know how frail I am.

    We get so caught up with our calendar of events that we need to stop and consider that tomorrow is not guaranteed. I must live my very best for God today because it may be the last one. My hope is in the Lord and not this world. Isaiah 40:31 “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”

  19. 8 Deliver me from all my transgressions: make me not the reproach of the foolish.

    I love you lord ans I thank you for forgivness! The lord knows we are not perfect but the perfect thing about this is he gives us forgivness. I will forever lay my sins down at the alter. Thank you Jesus!

  20. Psalm39:I. In today’s word ( amp English Bible) I will take heed and guard my ways , that I may sin not with my tongue; I will muzzle my mouth as with a bridle while the wicked are before me. Lord . Your tongue is poison snake . Lord just keep my mouth Speaking positive things always not negative things

  21. 3 My heart was hot within me, while I was musing the fire burned: then spake I with my tongue,
    4 Lord, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is: that I may know how frail I am.

  22. Psalms 39:1-2 (KJV Strong’s)

    To the chief Musician, even to Jeduthun, A Psalm of David.
    1 I said, I will take heed to my ways,
    that I sin not with my tongue:
    I will keep my mouth with a bridle,
    while the wicked is before me.
    2 I was dumb with silence, I held my peace, even from good;
    and my sorrow was stirred.

    Living for God isn’t done accidentally. Success is determined by what we purposefully do. David owned up, and took responsibility for his actions. He understood that if he was going to experience the kind of results he wanted to see that it was going to take self-discipline.

    The Lord empowers us. He gives us his grace, and his spirit to grant us the ability to do what is necessary. However it is incumbent upon us to understand that even though he supplies the power it is up to us to get up and do something about it.

    I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me….

    This spells WORK

  23. 1 I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.

    The Holy Ghost within us gives us the strength we need to hold back from sin and shine for Jesus.

  24. Wonderful words of wisdom when caught in the heat of the moment. Before anyone else has to step in and remind me, ‘I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.’ Notice that the wicked is right before him and likely railing against him and yet he chose to remain silent lest sin should come forth from his mouth. And notice the following verse, ‘I was dumb with silence, I held my peace, even from good; and my sorrow was stirred.’ He didn’t just withhold his tongue at the beginning of the conversation… he appeared dumb and yet still chose to turn the other cheek. Even though he could have shown himself to be good, he remained silent lest he should be tempted to say more than he ought.

    If there is any question about this, the next verse certainly portrays how he felt about what was being said. ‘My heart was hot within me, while I was musing the fire burned…’ He wasn’t just upset or a little troubled, he was hot with a fire burning within him to strike back, yet before he chose to speak, he pondered on an appropriate response. So commendable to point out and yet sometimes so difficult to do in practice if we haven’t learned to truly bridle our tongue. That’s why James declares that ‘if any offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body’. My prayer is to not only remember this example, but to truly live it in my life… not only when it’s easy to do so, but at those times when it would be so easy to ignore that still small voice and strike out at their cheek rather than turn my own.

  25. When reading this chapter and starting with verse 1 where it says I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me. I am reminded of James 3:3-5 where it says Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouths, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body. Behold also the ships, which though they be so great, and are driven of fierce winds, yet are they turned about with a very small helm, whithersoever the governor listeth. Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth! So like David, I wish to guard my tongue so I do not start such a great matter or discord. Also that I do not make my self foolish with my tongue. May I also with guarding my tongue, guard the direction of my body, and my walk with him.

  26. Psalms 39:1-4 I said I will take heed to my ways that I sin not with my tongue I will keep my mouth with a bridle while the wicked is before me. I was dumb with silence I held my peace even from good and my sorrow was stirred. My heart was hot within me while I was musing the fire burned then spake I with my tongue, Lord make me to know mine end and the measure of my days what it is that I may know how frail I am.

    Give me wisdom and grace to consider my end and how short the measure of my days will be and to improve what I know.

  27. 11 When thou with rebukes dost correct man for iniquity, thou makest his beauty to consume away like a moth: surely every man is vanity. Selah.

    12 Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear unto my cry; hold not thy peace at my tears: for I am a stranger with thee, and a sojourner, as all my fathers were.

    13 O spare me, that I may recover strength, before I go hence, and be no more.

  28. 11 When thou with rebukes dost correct man for iniquity, thou makest his beauty to consume away like a moth: surely every man is vanity. Selah.

    12 Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear unto my cry; hold not thy peace at my tears: for I am a stranger with thee, and a sojourner, as all my fathers were.

  29. v13 Remove Your gaze from me, that I may regain strength
    Before I go away and am no more”
    v7 ” My hope is in You.”

    One may think of darkness when they think of death, but JESUS came with the light of life. JESUS conquered death and we have a hope of our resurrection.

  30. 1 I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.

    1 I’m determined to watch steps and tongue so they won’t land me in trouble. I decided to hold my tongue as long as Wicked is in the room. MSG

    One of the hardest things many people have to learn is when to be quiet. Sometimes it’s so easy to say whats on your mind but we have to take a moment to make sure it’s what God needs us to say. Sometimes silence is best but praise is always acceptable.

  31. David is fearful of what he might say. Hes been disciplined by God (vs10-11) and doesn’t want to say anything in front of the unbelieving that might dishonor God. So he keeps silent. Thumper, in the cartoon Bambi said “If you can’t say nothing nice, don’t say nothing at all”. This familiar parental directive is actually a Biblical principal. Jesus tells us that we are the light of the world and that when the character of righteousness shines brightly through us unbelievers will recognize God in us and give him praise (Mat 5:14-16).

  32. Watch your mouth

    1 I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.

    The tongue is talked about over and over again I the Bible. It is taught to be deadly or life giving, it is unruly and it is wise to hold it. It is so easy to pop off and make a mess of things. This is why the devil is setting waiting on the first remark out of line then it gives him an open door to step in and make things worse. Even if what you have to say is right it’s not worth the mess it makes for you tinted and clean up.

  33. 2 Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear unto my cry; hold not thy peace at my tears: for I am a stranger with thee, and a sojourner, as all my fathers were.

    13 O spare me, that I may recover strength, before I go hence, and be no more.

  34. 1 I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.

    It will take an action and diligent care to watch what you say. Even in the times where you are boiling. Keep you words and listen. Listen to Gods voice for direction. Its easier said than done but take heed to your ways…

  35. 12 Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear unto my cry; hold not thy peace at my tears: for I am a stranger with thee, and a sojourner, as all my fathers were.

    Many times the kids get nervous in class when they first start see others get the Holy Ghost. Usually it’s because they are crying. When we explain what is happening then they calm down and receive the Holy Ghost.

  36. 4 Lord, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is: that I may know how frail I am.

    My life and time is nothing. I have little bit of days. Oh lord allow me to remember that my days are gifts and not promises. Don’t allow me to waste my time.

  37. Hannah: 1 “I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.” Always be careful with what you say. Even in the most difficult situations this verse reminds me to hold my tongue and seek God with what he would like me to say. Sometimes you feel like saying something to someone but first you should place it in Gods’ hands so he can direct and place his words in your mouth.

  38. ““ LORD, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered— how fleeting my life is.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭39:4‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    With an understanding of how short our lives truly are. What should we be doing with the time God has blessed us with? Are we going to waste time complaining about things we can’t change? Are we going to use our time selfishly? Or could we use it for God? Could we use it to witness? Use it to REACH?

    “Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.”
    ‭‭Matthew‬ ‭28:19-20‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  39. 1-3 I’m determined to watch steps and tongue
        so they won’t land me in trouble.
    I decided to hold my tongue
        as long as Wicked is in the room.

    Vince Lombardi, the best football coach in football history, said this:
    “The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of knowledge, but rather a lack in will.”

    “I am determined!” Determination is what will get you through its all. It is simply knowing who’s on your side.

  40. Lord , make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is; that I may know how frail I am.
    Psalms 39:4 KJV

    David wants to know how many days he has left because he knows that God holds all time in his hands. David wants to know how frail and small he really is. Sometimes people get puffed up and arrogant as if the air they breathe isn’t a miracle from God. Understanding how much we need God helps to see that we must trust him and his timing.

  41. Verse 5 says, “Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah.” This reminds me of what it says in 2 Peter, “But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.” Life is so very short compared to eternity, yet what happens eternally for me depends on this very short life. God will come back again in the twinkling of an eye for His Church! I need to be sure every moment that I am right with God and doing what is pleasing to Him and for His kingdom.

  42. Josiah: 7 And now, Lord, what wait I for? My hope is in thee.
    What am I without the Lord. The Bible talks about about how strength is the glory of young men but without God you still can not have eternal life. Many wander in search of something and yet find nothing. My goal is not to have what strength I have to be my true glory but the knowledge I have of God to be my true strength. This I pray I truly get before my youth days are over.

  43. 5 Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah.

    NO TIME TO LOSE!!!

  44. I was dumb with silence…

    There is a tip here for us. The heart seldom listens while the mouth is open. A closed mouth before God and a silent heart are crucial for the understanding of certain kinds of truth. No man is qualified to speak who has not first listened. It might be a wonderful thing to us if we were to be completely quiet for a short time, long enough to listen to our heart and our soul and to listen in the silence for the voice of the God. Id the experience, if repeated often enough, would do more to cure our ulcers than all the pills in CVS.

  45. 1 I said to myself, “I will watch what I do and not sin in what I say. I will hold my tongue when the ungodly are around me.”

    How do you speak when you are around friends from work or school? It’s easy to join the conversation and go along with them. Be true to this verse and watch what you say, because friends and coworkers are listening to your heart.

  46. “Lord, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is; that I may know how frail I am.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭39:4‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    So many times we think, “oh I can do that tomorrow” when tomorrow is not promised. We never know when our time and time might occur, if we did would it change things? Would we procrastinate less? Would we be more focused? Would it make us give up on life? We have few things that are certain. The things that are not certain are the hinge we need to focus on to ensure that we live every moment like it matters, because it does.

  47. 12. Hear my prayer , O LORD , and give ear unto my cry ; hold not thy peace at my tears : for I am a stranger with thee , and a sojourner , as all my fathers were . I cry unto you my LORD !!!!

  48. “People are only shadows as they go here and there. They rush around, but it doesn’t mean anything. They pile up wealth, but they don’t know who will get it. “Lord, what can I look forward to now? You are the only hope I have.”
    ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭39:6-7‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    The human life is so fragile. When we compare it to eternity it’s just a vapor of smoke. We are here and gone like the morning dew. This encourages me to make the best of this one life God has given to me. I want to make sure I devote it all to Him.

  49. 1 I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me.
    It can be so easy to let our flesh say something quickly back to one that has caused offence but it only works to kindle a fire and can even turn the person away from wanting to serve God because they just may see a worldly response and not a Godly one. When we bridle our tongue and hold our peace and let the Lord fight our battles, he give us the victory. i pray to keep my tongue bridled and speak what he would have me to speak and not that of my flesh

Leave a Reply

