Psalm Chapter 73

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 14

Psalm 73

Truly God is good to Israel, even to such as are of a clean heart.

But as for me, my feet were almost gone; my steps had well nigh slipped.

For I was envious at the foolish, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

For there are no bands in their death: but their strength is firm.

They are not in trouble as other men; neither are they plagued like other men.

Therefore pride compasseth them about as a chain; violence covereth them as a garment.

Their eyes stand out with fatness: they have more than heart could wish.

They are corrupt, and speak wickedly concerning oppression: they speak loftily.

They set their mouth against the heavens, and their tongue walketh through the earth.

10 Therefore his people return hither: and waters of a full cup are wrung out to them.

11 And they say, How doth God know? and is there knowledge in the most High?

12 Behold, these are the ungodly, who prosper in the world; they increase in riches.

13 Verily I have cleansed my heart in vain, and washed my hands in innocency.

14 For all the day long have I been plagued, and chastened every morning.

15 If I say, I will speak thus; behold, I should offend against the generation of thy children.

16 When I thought to know this, it was too painful for me;

17 Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.

18 Surely thou didst set them in slippery places: thou castedst them down into destruction.

19 How are they brought into desolation, as in a moment! they are utterly consumed with terrors.

20 As a dream when one awaketh; so, O Lord, when thou awakest, thou shalt despise their image.

21 Thus my heart was grieved, and I was pricked in my reins.

22 So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was as a beast before thee.

23 Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.

24 Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.

25 Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.

26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.

27 For, lo, they that are far from thee shall perish: thou hast destroyed all them that go a whoring from thee.

28 But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.

38 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 73

  1. Verses 25-28 MSG “You’re all I want in heaven! You’re all I want on earth! When my skin sags and my bones get brittle, God is rock-firm and faithful. Look! Those who left you are falling apart! Deserters, they’ll never be heard from again. But I’m in the very presence of God—oh, how refreshing it is! I’ve made Lord God my home. God, I’m telling the world what you do!” Let us GO tell the world this weekend at Prayer in the Plaza what the Lord has done, is doing and will continue to do!

  2. 25. Whom have I in heaven but you? I desire you more than anything on earth. NLT

    Matthew 6:33
    But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. KJV

    Open up the sky
    Fall down like rain
    We don’t want blessings
    We want you
    Open up the sky
    Fall down like fire
    We don’t want anything but you

  3. But as for me, how good it is to be near God! I have made the savereing Lord my shelter, and I will tell everyone about the wonderful things you do.
    Psalms 73: 28 NLT

  4. GO WITH GOD

    28 But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.

    With so many choices and opportunities in a day, we are pressed on every side to make choices to satisfy our flesh and not our savior. The psalmist declared, “it is good for me to draw near to GOD”.

    A simple observation on this Good Friday is that if I am in fact making choices that will draw me near to GOD, that same choice must also be placing distance between me and satan. When we choose to GO WITH GOD we are empowered to “Declare HIS works”.

    To GO WITH GOD may not always be the most popular, convenient or comfortable choice. However, anything we can do to draw closer to GOD and farther from the devil is a good choice.

    Joshua 24:15 And if it seem evil unto you to serve the LORD, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.

    I choose to GO WITH GOD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo

  5. 25 Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.
    26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.
    27 For, lo, they that are far from thee shall perish: thou hast destroyed all them that go a whoring from thee.
    28 But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.

    Can’t say how many times thoughts similar to what this chapter has shared, ran through my mind. Over the years seeing people I dearly loved, people who helped me establish my relationship with God – friends – just walk away. I would often question why, but even more I would wonder, “why not me?” I stumble, I slip, but how is it that some stay and some go? There’s all kinds of encouraging answers I would hear when I spoke my thoughts to others. When it comes down to it though, it becomes our own decision, and God, as much as He loves us, won’t force Himself onto anyone. He may intervene and create ‘divine appointments’ as one preacher would call them, but until that soul decides in their heart what the scriptures above say – “…there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee” – they will continue to wander. When we are weak and we fail, God can and will be our strength if we allow Him to be and don’t allow pride to make ourselves a way. As friends I love have slipped, I recall the last verse, “But it is good for me to draw near to God…” I know where my strength comes from, I know who my faith and trust is in, I know the one who has saved me and that I love most of all – JESUS!!

  6. 23 Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.

    Thank u for always being right by my side.
    In moments of unsurity I can reach for the Word and I can feel Your hand in mine.
    Walking never alone for all I have to do is say ok I need You to hold my hand and in a moment I feel your presence and a touch of peace in my mind . Your hands hold the nail prints where you freely gave Your life so that all could know You and live free from sin. Thank You for Your Love You so freely have given. Today I want to touch someone with Your hands so that they too can know You. Let my will be Your will .

  7. 16 When I thought to know this, it was too painful for me;

    17 Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.

    18 Surely thou didst set them in slippery places: thou castedst them down into destruction.

    Sometimes things in our life are hard to deal with and we struggle to face the challenges of life. But when we come to the house of God He opens our understanding to the realization that He has everything in control. God truly has us in a spiritually safe place and the wicked are forever condemned.

  8. 22 So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was as a beast before thee.

    23 Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.

    24 Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.

    25 Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.

    26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.

    27 For, lo, they that are far from thee shall perish: thou hast destroyed all them that go a whoring from thee.

    28 But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.

    As long as I stay by God and He stays by me I will not need anything else.

  9. Truly God is good! Some good reminders in this Psalm on why our eyes should be focused on him and his goodness rather than what’s going on around us. ‘But as for me, my feet were almost gone; my steps had well nigh slipped. For I was envious at the foolish, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.’ Perhaps we think we’d never be tempted of the same but beware: his testimony was that he nearly slipped away because of envy over the prosperity of the wicked. He’d lost sight of the prosperity promised unto him because of the physical things evident in the hands of the wicked: ‘Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.’ Before you allow your walk with God to be affected by the passing pleasures of this world, take the time to go to the house of God and allow him to show you the expected ends of that path. Allow him to keep you on his path of blessing that truly endures forever!

    Sometimes that awareness from God is not just in the dancing and shouting and rejoicing. There psalmist said, ‘Thus my heart was grieved, and I was pricked in my reins. So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was as a beast before thee.’ When conviction comes, allow it to do its work. God chastises those that he loves! ‘Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.’ When we come to that realization, nothing on this earth will be capable of discouraging us for long… for we know our expected end! We won’t be able to remain silent for long! Because ‘it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.’ I’m not here to bemoan the fleeting blessings of the wicked, I’m here to declare the wondrous works and blessings of Almighty God!

  10. Be not deceived

    3 For I was envious at the foolish, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

    It is difficult to see without our physical eyes of what everyone has or doesn’t have.we see a nice house and a new car in the driveway and think,wow they must make really good money. But working at a bank you see the true side of people. The debt they are trying to pay for. The worry on the faces when they see their account going to 0. I have learned since working here that money is everything in the world. But you get true peace when you know Jesus. So dont be envious of the new things, people seem to have. Now on the flip side of that same coin. There are principles and promises in the bible that are true and work. Giving. Yes of money to the church. And to be a blessing to others too. It could be as simple as a bottle of water to a police officer, a candy bar to a child. Whatever it is do it with a happy heart and blessing on your lips. We have overcome through the overcomer.
    #GOdosomething and be blessed.

  11. Yet I still belong to you; you hold my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, leading me to a glorious destiny. Whom have I in heaven but you? I desire you more than anything on earth. My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever. But as for me, how good it is to be near God! I have made the Sovereign Lord my shelter, and I will tell everyone about the wonderful things you do.
    Psalms 73:23‭-‬26‭, ‬28 NLT
    Where does my help come from my help come from the lord
    Many times I many failed to GoD words but my God is A forgiving GOD when I am weak he is strong when I am sick in my body he is the healer so tell how can you life without GoD ? You can’t he is everything you need so I will tell everyone I know about wonder of GOD Jesus is the true way there is no better way then the path of the living GOD

  12. Josiah: 26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.
    28 But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.
    The Lord my God is my rock. A sure foundation I can trust in for it is good “to put my trust in the Lord God”. God is my heart’s strength and “my portion forever”. In him I know I can be established and have my name written in the book of life. “My flesh and my heart faileth” yet I can have eternal life when I trust in the Lord. For “it is good for me to draw near to God:…That I may declare all thy works”. Proverbs 14:12 says “For there is a way which seemed right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death.” The Bible clearly states what happens when we follow our flesh or this world. Yet the Bible also tells us about the eternal blessings we can have if we are obedient to God’s word. BLESSED BE THE KING’S OF KING’S AND THE LORDS OF LORDS. LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD. PRAISE YE THE LORD.

  13. 22 So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was as a beast before thee.
    23 Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.
    24 Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.
    25 Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.

    God is so good to us-especially when we act so ignorant! He gives us space and time to come to better understanding of him and his ways so we can make adjustments in our behavior and ways.. It’s his word that guides us, along with our man of God’s wise counsel. Thank you Lord for being patient with me through every stage of life. I can’t wait as David says for you to receive me to glory.

  14. Psalms 73:17, “Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.”

    UNTIL I WENT TO CHURCH

    What happens to us when we go to church? It’s a place where we GO to hear the Word of God preached, and when we hear it, it opens up our understanding (vs.17), and it brings conviction of our sins (vs.21), and it helps us realize that God is our counsellor (vs.24), and it helps us realize that God is the strength of our hearts (vs.26), and it tells me that it is good for me to draw near to God (vs.28) for when I draw near to a God – He will draw near to me (James 4:8), and it helps me understand that I can put my trust in God (vs.28).

    Thank You JESUS that I can GO to Church and hear Your Word and get Understanding and GrOw in the grace and knowledge of who You are!

    Thank You JESUS for “giving POFW a Pastor according to Your heart that will feed us with knowledge and understanding” of Your Word. (Jeremiah 3:15)

  15. 22 So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was as a beast before thee.
    23 Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.
    24 Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.
    25 Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.
    26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.
    27 For, lo, they that are far from thee shall perish: thou hast destroyed all them that go a whoring from thee.
    28 But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.

    We are human and mistakes are inevitable but God remains infallible and should be glorified for his perfectness. We need to learn to look past our own issues to worship God for who he is, it will draw us away from our fleshly desire towards his spirit. When the spirit is fed, the flesh is deprived and is not able to fight that battle with the spirit.

  16. 3 For I was envious at the foolish, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

    17 Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.

    18 Surely thou didst set them in slippery places: thou castedst them down into destruction.

    Things are not always as they seem. Just because someone appears to be prospering, doesn’t mean they are right. When you pray about it, God will reveal the attitude of their actions.

    Keep your focus, keep connected to the Vision of the House that you serve in, and let God deal with those who appear to be prospering, while out from under their covering. Judgement comes to all.

  17. iLove to Go Blog
    Psalms 73:3-6 NLT For I envied the proud when I saw them prosper despite their wickedness. (4) They seem to live such painless lives; their bodies are so healthy and strong. (5) They don’t have troubles like other people; they’re not plagued with problems like everyone else. (6) They wear pride like a jeweled necklace and clothe themselves with cruelty.

    Wow, this is a powerful chapter. The wicked look as if they are prospering but those days of fun are short lived. Some folk think mother earth is taking care of them and the universe shines light upon them, but where do these folks turn to when they are in trouble…There is nowhere to turn to when God is not with you.

    27 For, lo, they that are far from thee shall perish: thou hast destroyed all them that go a whoring from thee.

  18. 21-24 When I was beleaguered and bitter, totally consumed by envy,I was totally ignorant, a dumb ox in your very presence.I’m still in your presence,but you’ve taken my hand.You wisely and tenderly lead me, and then you bless me.
    25-28 You’re all I want in heaven! You’re all I want on earth!When my skin sags and my bones get brittle,God is rock-firm and faithful. Look! Those who left you are falling apart!Deserters, they’ll never be heard from again.But I’m in the very presence of God—oh, how refreshing it is!I’ve made Lord God my home.God, I’m telling the world what you do!

    God you are my everything! When I turned to his world you brought me back to your house where I can find everything I need! You poured out your love and mercy when I didn’t deserve it but you still gave it! God you are my rock on which I stand on and my blessing that I will always need. Thank you Lord for guiding me to your loving arms! I won’t stop till the whole world knows what you have done and what you will do for everyone who comes to you!

  19. 16 When I thought to know this, it was too painful for me;

    17 Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.

    Ive known the truth for a very long time, i knew how powerful God was/is. I knew the things i had done were wrong. I knew the things i had done would send me straight down to the fiery pits of hell…it wasnt until i went into that sanctuary i began to cry and weep. To ask for his forgiveness and actually feel him come into my life and intervene. When i felt his presence i knew he was real, i had no more questions about my existence, my purpose. I truly felt as if i were forgiven for absolutely everything i had ever done. I immediately knew he had a purpose for me. When he gave me the precious gift of the Holy Ghost. They talked about fear once before, how it can overtake someones mind and trick them into believing that the enemy is gonna get them. I trust God. I trust him with all my heart. When my purpose is fullfilled. I trust i will be safe in his loving arms.
    God bless you all!

  20. 2But as for me, I almost lost my footing. My feet were slipping, and I was almost gone.

    At some point, we may have felt slipping away from our walk with God. We may ask ourselves, “where are you God”. You may feel disconnected from God. That’s when we have to pray and praise even more. We can’t let the enemy pull us away from God.

  21. 24. Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory. 25. Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee. AMEN !!!!

  22. 26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.

    Amen! I can’t count on my flesh but only on God!!! He’s the only one that gives me strength because if I rely on my own flesh and heart it’ll lead me to evil and destruction.

    “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?” Jeremiah 17:9

    “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Matthew 26:41

  23. 24 Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.

    25 Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.

    26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.

    27 For, lo, they that are far from thee shall perish: thou hast destroyed all them that go a whoring from thee.

    28 But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.

    These verses stood out to me, because Jesus is all we want, its my goal to be at His feet forever worshipping him! There is noone on earth that I’d rather be with more than Jesus, and after that my Husband!

  24. 2 But as for me, my feet were almost gone; my steps had well nigh slipped.

    3 For I was envious at the foolish, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

    Everywhere we go their is influence of famous and wealthy people, on TV, magazines, music playing in stores and restaurants, billboards etc. Like David we are reminded of how those highly recognized in this world prosper but not from holiness. If David felt like he was slipping out of envy, a man after God’s own heart, do we need to watch our foothold and guard our hearts.

  25. 24 Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.

    25 Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.

    26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.

    Take heed to the counsel given in the Word of God.

  26. “My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭73:26‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    The Lord is all I need. At times things and situations look impossible but God! He is my source of strength. My reason to live. He is my friend! He is the Almighty and Holy One!

  27. I’m a moments time

    19 How are they brought into desolation, as in a moment! they are utterly consumed with terrors.

    It seems as though people backslide in an instant but it is really a process. If you really knew the person you could have seen the signs of it coming. Kingdoms are not conquered in one day and people don’t backslide overnight.

  28. 15 If I say, I will speak thus; behold, I should offend against the generation of thy children.
    16 When I thought to know this, it was too painful for me;
    17 Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.
    22 So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was as a beast before thee.
    23 Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.
    24 Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.
    28 But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.

    Sometimes it may be annoying to look around and see the physical wealth that those in the world have. It may seem that they have all that their heart could desire, yet as it is stated so many times throughout the Bible, wealth will not save them. I need to be laying my treasure up in Heaven, because my heart will be where my treasure is. As we are bringing in the harvest it is important for me to remember that God does not condemn us for making mistakes in this world; as long as we change our actions. In times past we may have put our full or partial trust in this world, yet it is never to late for anyone to change where their investment is! He will always continue to guide us back to Him and show us the right way to live. I need to keep trusting in God and He will lead me to eternal life with Him!

    Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

  29. 16 When I thought to know this, it was too painful for me;

    17 Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.

    18 Surely thou didst set them in slippery places: thou castedst them down into destruction.

  30. 17 Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.

    A person can get so caught up in judging the “wealth of the wicked” or “judging themselves among themselves” that they’ve somehow slipped out of the sanctuary of God.

    A judgmental attitude is a great indicator that ones feet are slipping and it’s time to secure yourself in God.

  31. 25 Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.
    26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.
    28 But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works. All the riches of this Earth can never replicate the peace, joy and happiness I’ve received from serving Jesus. I am definitely reminded that all of heaven and Earth will pass away and I must consciously choose every day whether I will place my treasures in heaven for eternity or on this temporal earth.

  32. Hannah “26 My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever. 27 For, lo, they that are far from thee shall perish: thou hast destroyed all them that go a whoring from thee.”It doesn’t matter who you are or what you are if you do not serve the Lord you will perish and will not make it into the kingdom of heaven. Always serve the Lord and never turn back. In God you will have life but serving this world will only bring you destruction. Go an serve the Lord God our Savior.

  33. For I was envious at the foolish, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

    Sometimes we see what other people have and we become greedy. We decided that we need what they have. We work toward their goals. We often don’t know the sacrifices they have made for their achievements.

  34. 17 Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.
    21 Thus my heart was grieved, and I was pricked in my reins.

    In the sanctuary is where God moves on us best, however the last part of verse 21 is what caught my attention, because usually God is described as pulling on our heart strings as he guides us. Here it seems like David was describing something else, besides his heart. So I looked it up, and the last part of the verse “in my reins” came up as the word Kilyah whose root is kĕliy which is an article, vessel, implement, utensil. So, which I applied as something that can be used, by God (a tool). Also, interesting is that the root word of kĕliy is kalah which caught my attention last post. So those to roots combined mean a tool God can use for an end. ( May I be a tool God can use.) However the definition of Kilyah is (1) Kidneys, of physical organ (lit.), of seat of emotion and affection (fig.), and of sacrificial animals (2) reins. So while I do not think, David was referring to his kidneys as it does not make sense, (though if it does may I be corrected), David was most likely referring to his seat of emotion and affection. Which means God pricked, and directed David out of his affection for God. All of which simply shows me that to be used of God and directed by God, one must first love God, which is the first commandment (Mark 12:30, Matthew 22:37, Luke 10:27).

  35. Psalm73:22( EnglishAmp) So foolish, stupid, and brutish was I, and ignorant; I was like a beast before You. We’re all make mistakes, Bad decisions in our lives, We should all repent for our lives first,Than let God teach you his direction.

  36. For I was envious at the foolish, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked. For there are no bands in their death: but their strength is firm. They are not in trouble as other men; neither are they plagued like other men. Therefore pride compasseth them about as a chain; violence covereth them as a garment.
    Psalms 73:3‭-‬6 KJV

    This was me years ago. I did envy a lot of how others were living. I thank God for taking the spirit of envy from me: Pride covered me me like the gold the Egyptians wore. I thank God for removing that spirit from me. God is so good that He can do anything.
    Phil. 4:13 I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.
    That is true in all things and in every aspect of my life. I have to trust in the Lord and follow His word.

    26)My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever. 28) But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God , that I may declare all thy works.
    Psalms 73:26‭, ‬28 KJV

Leave a Reply

