Acts Chapter 22

40 Days of FIRE – Day 19

Paul is an example of a transformed life. Today he confronts an angry crowd that he would have gladly participated in just a few years earlier. Prayerfully thank God for His ongoing work of transforming your life and the power of the Holy Ghost that preserves and sustains us as we daily Go Transformed.

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 14

Acts 22

Men, brethren, and fathers, hear ye my defence which I make now unto you.

(And when they heard that he spake in the Hebrew tongue to them, they kept the more silence: and he saith,)

I am verily a man which am a Jew, born in Tarsus, a city in Cilicia, yet brought up in this city at the feet of Gamaliel, and taught according to the perfect manner of the law of the fathers, and was zealous toward God, as ye all are this day.

And I persecuted this way unto the death, binding and delivering into prisons both men and women.

As also the high priest doth bear me witness, and all the estate of the elders: from whom also I received letters unto the brethren, and went to Damascus, to bring them which were there bound unto Jerusalem, for to be punished.

And it came to pass, that, as I made my journey, and was come nigh unto Damascus about noon, suddenly there shone from heaven a great light round about me.

And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?

And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest.

And they that were with me saw indeed the light, and were afraid; but they heard not the voice of him that spake to me.

10 And I said, What shall I do, Lord? And the Lord said unto me, Arise, and go into Damascus; and there it shall be told thee of all things which are appointed for thee to do.

11 And when I could not see for the glory of that light, being led by the hand of them that were with me, I came into Damascus.

12 And one Ananias, a devout man according to the law, having a good report of all the Jews which dwelt there,

13 Came unto me, and stood, and said unto me, Brother Saul, receive thy sight. And the same hour I looked up upon him.

14 And he said, The God of our fathers hath chosen thee, that thou shouldest know his will, and see that Just One, and shouldest hear the voice of his mouth.

15 For thou shalt be his witness unto all men of what thou hast seen and heard.

16 And now why tarriest thou? arise, and be baptized, and wash away thy sins, calling on the name of the Lord.

17 And it came to pass, that, when I was come again to Jerusalem, even while I prayed in the temple, I was in a trance;

18 And saw him saying unto me, Make haste, and get thee quickly out of Jerusalem: for they will not receive thy testimony concerning me.

19 And I said, Lord, they know that I imprisoned and beat in every synagogue them that believed on thee:

20 And when the blood of thy martyr Stephen was shed, I also was standing by, and consenting unto his death, and kept the raiment of them that slew him.

21 And he said unto me, Depart: for I will send thee far hence unto the Gentiles.

22 And they gave him audience unto this word, and then lifted up their voices, and said, Away with such a fellow from the earth: for it is not fit that he should live.

23 And as they cried out, and cast off their clothes, and threw dust into the air,

24 The chief captain commanded him to be brought into the castle, and bade that he should be examined by scourging; that he might know wherefore they cried so against him.

25 And as they bound him with thongs, Paul said unto the centurion that stood by, Is it lawful for you to scourge a man that is a Roman, and uncondemned?

26 When the centurion heard that, he went and told the chief captain, saying, Take heed what thou doest: for this man is a Roman.

27 Then the chief captain came, and said unto him, Tell me, art thou a Roman? He said, Yea.

28 And the chief captain answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And Paul said, But I was free born.

29 Then straightway they departed from him which should have examined him: and the chief captain also was afraid, after he knew that he was a Roman, and because he had bound him.

30 On the morrow, because he would have known the certainty wherefore he was accused of the Jews, he loosed him from his bands, and commanded the chief priests and all their council to appear, and brought Paul down, and set him before them.

42 thoughts on “Acts Chapter 22

  1. 25 And as they bound him with thongs, Paul said unto the centurion that stood by, Is it lawful for you to scourge a man that is a Roman, and uncondemned?
    26 When the centurion heard that, he went and told the chief captain, saying, Take heed what thou doest: for this man is a Roman.
    27 Then the chief captain came, and said unto him, Tell me, art thou a Roman? He said, Yea.

    Here, Paul uses his position to defend himself and pastor just preached using this context but I can’t but be reminded of when Paul also used his position in a form to win souls, in 1 corinthians 9:22 he says :
    To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.
    Winning souls isn’t hard, there are tons of books and methods that is preached about but it’s very simple and much easier than we sometimes preceive it is. It’s about connecting to people. We are interconnected in someway..and all we have to do is find it. Connect to God, connect to people, then connect people to God. Finding what it is that connects us to whoever we are reaching out to and using that in love to win them.

  2. 28. And the chief captain answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And Paul said, But I was free born.

    Jesus paid a great sum (the ultimate sacrifice) to obtain our freedom from sin so that we could become free by being born into His Kingdom.

  3. 21“But the Lord said to me, ‘Go, for I will send you far away to the Gentiles!’”

    Paul was wanting to start spreading the Word right there in Jerusalem, but it is was not God’s plan. Paul was obedient to God, and left Jerusalem to spread the Word to other regions. We may feel like we are ready to do God’s work, but we have to do so according to his plans. God prepares each of us to do his ministry in some form or another.

  4. In this chapter, we find Paul Sharing his Testimony.
    Then verse 22 says, “And they gave him audience unto this word, and then lifted up their voices, and said, Away with such a fellow from the earth: for it is not fit that he should live.”
    As Pastor taught us Wednesday night, Testify and the hearer will either receive it or reject it. All you have to do is speak the Truth and Share the Gospel.

    GO TestifyINg
    GO speak Truth
    GO Share the Gospel

  5. 15 For thou shalt be his witness unto all men of what thou hast seen and heard.

    Once we’re saved, we all have the same call as Paul: to be a witness of what we have seen and heard. We have our testimony, the testimonies of others, and all the great things God is doing in the church. It’s time during 40 Days of Fire we all witness as He has called us!

  6. 28 And the chief captain answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And Paul said, But I was free born.

  7. 6 And it came to pass, that, as I made my journey, and was come nigh unto Damascus about noon, suddenly there shone from heaven a great light round about me.

    7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?

    8 And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest.

    9 And they that were with me saw indeed the light, and were afraid; but they heard not the voice of him that spake to me.

    10 And I said, What shall I do, Lord? And the Lord said unto me, Arise, and go into Damascus; and there it shall be told thee of all things which are appointed for thee to do.

    11 And when I could not see for the glory of that light, being led by the hand of them that were with me, I came into Damascus.

    The glory of the light! Stepping out of the darkness of this world and stepping into His marvelous light will forever change you! Because once you truly have the revelation of His glory, there is no turning back! I’m thankful for light that shined down on me and is continually changing me!

  8. The soldier who were about to interrogate paul quicky withdrew when they heard he was a Roman citizen, and the commander was frightened because he had ordered him bound and whipped. Acts 22:29 NLT

  9. 6 And it came to pass, that, as I made my journey, and was come nigh unto Damascus about noon, suddenly there shone from heaven a great light round about me.

    7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?

    8 And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest.
    9 And they that were with me saw indeed the light, and were afraid; but they heard not the voice of him that spake to me.
    10 And I said, What shall I do, Lord? And the Lord said unto me, Arise, and go into Damascus; and there it shall be told thee of all things which are appointed for thee to do.

    We all have our own unique testimonies to share with the lost.

  10. And I persecuted the followers of the Way, hounding some to death, arresting both men and women and throwing them in prison. The high priest and the whole council of elders can testify that this is so. For I received letters from them to our Jewish brothers in Damascus, authorizing me to bring the followers of the Way from there to Jerusalem, in chains, to be punished. “As I was on the road, approaching Damascus about noon, a very bright light from heaven suddenly shone down around me. I fell to the ground and heard a voice saying to me, ‘Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting me?’
    Acts of the Apostles 22:4‭-‬7 NLT
    In this chapter you see that Paul is giving his testimony and how GOD change his life
    Today I thank God for change and thank GOD for putting leaders in my life to make me a better person and a better leader I look at my life back then and I look at now I wort go back thank you Jesus

  11. GO IN FREEDOM

    28 And the chief captain answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And Paul said, But I was free born.

    Born Again of water and Spirit believers are privileged to GO IN FREEDOM. Freedom from sin, our past and public opinion. We are BLESSED with this privilege at the New Birth experience. Repentance, Water Baptism in JESUS name and receiving the Gift of the Holy Ghost.

    John 8:36 If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.

    Allow JESUS today to set you FREE and tell everyone you know that they also may be FREE BORN through JESUS.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGIve
    iReap
    iGo

  12. 2 (And when they heard that he spake in the Hebrew tongue to them, they kept the more silence: and he saith,)

    You gotta get on their level lile Paul.
    Then you tell them what had happen. Describe the feeling. Make it vivid almost lile their about to experience the same thing

    6 And it came to pass, that, as I made my journey, and was come nigh unto Damascus about noon, suddenly there shone from heaven a great light round about me.

    7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?

    Paul was a man with wisdom and experience he shared witht these people about the holy ghost..the spirit of God. I domt know abput but every time I do that I just feel led to tell mpre because the holy ghost falls over me and im hungry to keep it going. God is so powerful and when I’m spreading that word…when I’m sowimg that seed HE remimds me just how powerful he truly is.

    Lets GO in the mighty name of Jesus!
    God bless you all!

  13. 14 And he said, The God of our fathers hath chosen thee, that thou shouldest know his will, and see that Just One, and shouldest hear the voice of his mouth.
    15 For thou shalt be his witness unto all men of what thou hast seen and heard.

    What would you say if God chose to use your enemies?

    Hmmm something to think about. As this generation who is outspoken and has an option about everything. Many say that they would be tolerable to something like this. But action speak so much louder. When we can’t forgive one another about the small things. Or if someone looks different than us or acts different. We has a culture are very skittish when it comes to change or differences. Now I’m not talking about these movements that are forbidden in the Bible that are not holy unto God. Yet we must love the sinner ,as we were at another time. Don’t forget where God brought you from. And dontbthink that just because you’re saved that you are better than anyone. No we all have sinned and come short of the glory of God. Bit what would you do if God chose to use your worst enemy and changed him. Would glforgive him. Or hold that grudge against them. Something to think about.

    #GOdosomething

  14. 22 And they gave him audience unto this word, and then lifted up their voices, and said, Away with such a fellow from the earth: for it is not fit that he should live.
    23 And as they cried out, and cast off their clothes, and threw dust into the air,

    I can’t imagine how Paul felt when he was in the midst of such a crowd. But I can imagine it was not a pleasant feeling. But at the same time I wonder, how many of then would he later touch, just as he stood by Stephen was killed and God touched him. How many would this memory come back to trouble and push them to God. I do not know, but as Paul I do not want to have a bad testimony and push them away but rather my testimony draw them in. At the same time I am touched that they still saw God enough in Paul to hear his defense, and had the respect to listen as many of my generation in this world would not.

  15. I Love To. Worship The Lord
    Paul receives permission to speak to the crowd and when they hear him speak in Aramaic the crowd quiets and listens to him. Paul states his credentials as a pious Jew and then tells his story of his conversion on the road to Damascus

  16. 22 And they gave him audience unto this word, and then lifted up their voices, and said, Away with such a fellow from the earth: for it is not fit that he should live.
    23 And as they cried out, and cast off their clothes, and threw dust into the air,.
    Surrendering your life to JESUS and having him wash away all of your sins and filling you with the gift of the holy ghost, is the most beautiful thing that can ever happen. We want to share this experience with everyone so that they to can have their sins washed away and be given a peace which passes all understanding. Yet like Paul, there are going to be people which will hear your words and then want nothing more to do with you. Some even desire ill will towards you. We cannot be dismayed but must have a steadfast desire to cheerfully share this gospel to everyone because we never know who Is searching, who the Lord is dealing with and who will come to the house of God because of our testimony. Seeing someone weeping at the altar in repentance, being filled with the holy ghost and baptized in Jesus Name is worth any mocking, ridicule and rejection that this world bestows. It is not about us but about reaching the lost and dying world for Jesus!!

  17. 1 Men, brethren, and fathers, hear ye my defence which I make now unto you.
    2 (And when they heard that he spake in the Hebrew tongue to them, they kept the more silence: and he saith,)

    Paul started at the beginning and gave his testimony of his conversion and they people listened. We all have a testimony and we are overcomers by the blood of the Lamb and the word of our testimony! Tell everyone you can how you came to the Lord and what he has done for you. It will help someone to come to God, to know what he has done and will do for them.

  18. Josiah: 7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?
    8 And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest.
    Saul persecuted God’s people. He killed and imprisoned God’s people. Yet, he still fell on the ground before God. He called on the Lord in verse 7 (“Who art thou, Lord”). The Bible tells us that the devils believe also, and tremble. A persecuter of God’s people, of the church, feared God. The devils believe and tremble. What does this tell us about enemies in this world. The devils tremble. They tremble because they know who God is. They know that God is stronger, and greater. Even Saul fell down before the glory of God. God is what gets us through. This world DOES NOT get us to heaven. If God is for us who can stand against? LET US REJOICE IN THE LORD OUR GOD. LET US GO IN JESUS NAME! LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD. PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  19. iLove to go Blog
    25 And as they bound him with thongs, Paul said unto the centurion that stood by, Is it lawful for you to scourge a man that is a Roman, and uncondemned?

    We have to know our rights. When the soldiers were about to beat Paul, he was not afraid to speak up for his rights. As children of God, we have rights and benefits that we must speak up to receive. We don’t have to put up with the devil’s nonsense, we can put that rascal under our feet and receive our deliverance.

  20. What Shall I Do

    10 And I said, What shall I do, Lord? And the Lord said unto me, Arise, and go into Damascus; and there it shall be told thee of all things which are appointed for thee to do.

    11 And when I could not see for the glory of that light, being led by the hand of them that were with me, I came into Damascus.

    12 And one Ananias, a devout man according to the law, having a good report of all the Jews which dwelt there,

    I am so thankful that we have the opportunity to hear the voice of God. We must be that voice to this world when they ask us what should they dos we can give them the answer. Many people’s eyes are blinded by false doctrine but we have the truth that will set them free. Gods light will supersede the darkness. Just as Paul was blinded by the light of Gods glory we can help others walk right in that light which will unblind them from darkness. In Jesus name .

  21. 7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?

    8 And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest.

    Notice that Paul constantly told his testimony over and over again whenever God gave him a opportunity. It wasn’t just a story he told but it was a tool he used to declare the gospel. It was a way to reach people and reach people he did. All over the then known world Paul reached souls through his testimony

  22. 7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?
    8 And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest.

    14 And he said, The God of our fathers hath chosen thee, that thou shouldest know his will, and see that Just One, and shouldest hear the voice of his mouth.

    One for the arsenal

    The voice that Saul heard identified himself as Jesus. Jesus in a trance spoke to Saul in a supernatural encounter.

    At the same time, a devout man named Ananias was commanded by God to and give a word to Saul about what he would have him do. The message says: The God of our fathers hath chosen thee (Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob).

    Wait WHAT!? The Ananias says Jesus is the God of the Old Testament? Yes

  23. 28. And the chief captain answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And Paul said, But I was free born.

    Jesus died on the cross so we won’t be lost! He paid it all for me!

  24. Verses 1-2 MSG “My dear brothers and fathers, listen carefully to what I have to say before you jump to conclusions about me.” When they heard him speaking Hebrew, they grew even quieter. No one wanted to miss a word of this.” We cannot jump to conclusions about anyone or anything; but, trust in the Lord to guide us with wisdom and knowledge to reveal truth to us.

  25. 16 And now why tarriest thou? arise, and be baptized, and wash away thy sins, calling on the name of the Lord.

    Yet another evidence in scripture to support Jesus name baptism. Calling on the name of the Lord. His name is Jesus. There is no other way to be baptised that has power to cleanse from sins. You must apply, call upon, the name.

  26. Get my attention Jesus

    When you are running from God or just never surrendered, God knows how to get your attention. Some of us were harder to get their attention than others but we say now, whatever it takes God, get my attention. Paul had to be blinded and taken away in a very dramatic way before Jesus got his attention. I pray that my attention stays on him so that I don’t have to be cast to the ground and led away before he can get my attention.

  27. 30 On the morrow, because he would have known the certainty wherefore he was accused of the Jews, he loosed him from his bands, and commanded the chief priests and all their council to appear, and brought Paul down, and set him before them.

    Being called is much different than being sent.

  28. 2 (And when they heard that he spake in the Hebrew tongue to them, they kept the more silence: and he saith,)

    It makes me smile when people don’t think I understand or speak certain languages. Some think just because you look a certain way you must only understand that cultures language. Truth is growing up I heard multiple languages and picked up on enough to conversate. We see the same uniqueness in Paul he is Roman, grew up Pharisee and transformed Apostle for Jesus Christ. God can use the things he gifted us with to mold us and lead us on our own hornet as he does Paul. When he spoke in the Hebrew language everyone listened out of surprise. Sometimes meeting people on their level will make then feel comfortable enough to let down their guard. If we can relate to someone our testimony can become a tool to help minister to them.

  29. v15 For thou shalt shalt be his witness unto all men of what thou hast seen and heard.

    JESUS IS ALIVE AND STILL SAVES from sin. The stakes are high, and we must not fail to reach our world for HIM.
    GO be a light to a darken world.

  30. Paul would had never been saved if God didn’t save home himself. Paul was such a man so tough so prideful so full of himself and mislead. That Norman could approach him to show him. No body really wanted too…. but God himself had to save him. Sometimes God has to save people, all we can do is wait till he send a them to us.

    7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?

    8 And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest.

  31. The importance of the transformation in our life cannot be overstated. When people we knew see the vast difference in our walk, they cannot help but take notice. All the years of wanting to change and really going nowhere despite all our earnest efforts and then one day EVERYTHING changes. We change so much so quickly that people know it cannot be just us. They don’t want to admit that it could be God but just can’t explain it any other way. Finally they have to come and see for themselves. That is why such a majority of first time visitors are usually brought by those who have served the Lord less than a year. The changes are so fresh and so vast the people that know them want to see for themselves what it is that brought forth such a transformation.

    The case of Paul is certainty a most dramatic shift. From persecuting and slaying to joining those of faith. How many people in that crowd had been part of his former self. How many of them knew him and were glad of what was being done. How many were convicted but took solace that the temple took such an obviously strong position against these followers of Jesus… and now their very champion had been converted. He’s gone over to the other side. He’s declaring the same Jesus that they saw slain upon that cross. He’s been transformed in such a manner that none can deny it’s authenticity… but they still don’t want to change.

    Their anger is as much for themselves as anything said of Paul. Why would they even care that one more had converted if they weren’t facing a struggle within themselves? He was transformed while they were still fighting against the tug of God on their heart and in their anger they lash out against the only one they can. We shouldn’t be discouraged when our former acquaintances become angry and push us away… just remain faithful and allow them to see the visible evidence of the very real transformation that hs transpired in our life!

  32. Who will I be Ananias to? Saul had been blinded, given instruction to go to Damascus and there he met Ananias who not only gave him back his physical eyesight, but explained the revelation of the Lord to him and gave him spiritual eyesight. I believe there are thousands of people in the region of Fort Worth praying for deeper revelation of who Jesus is. Who will be Ananias to them? Let’s GO POFW – reach our region.

  33. Blinded

    11 And when I could not see for the glory of that light, being led by the hand of them that were with me, I came into Damascus.

    I have experienced temporary blindness due to extreme contrasts of light. Such as coming into a very dark room from being out in the sunshine. The same goes from leaving a very dark room out into the sunshine. I predict this is the same kind of blindness. The Glory and Power of God blinds us to our own desires and plans.

    Paul was on his way to do what he has been doing for a long time. Nothing new, just the same ole – same ole. Then a meeting with the power of God and Paul’s personal plans disappeared. Not only was Paul’s duties forgotten his focus was changed. Suppose what he was thinking he might be told what to do. I know that I would have many concerns and questions.

    Has our desires faded to allow Gods plans lead us?

  34. 14. Then he said, ‘The God of our fathers has chosen you that you should know His will, and see the Just one, and hear the voice of His mouth.
    15. ‘For you will be His witness to all men of what you have seen and heard.
    Beautiful testimonie of Paul. to be witness to all men. The Lord use our testimonies to preach about the Only God, Jesus! In Jesus name!

  35. Acts 22:22 ( English Amp Bible) Up to the moment that Paul made this last statement, the people listened to him; But now they raised their voices and shouted, Away with such a fellow from the earth! He is not fit to live! Here Paul about to tell his testimony. We must tell people what Jesus brought us from . Go tell people your testimony. Paul was reaching souls.Be like Paul go reach souls for God’s Kingdom.

  36. And I said, Lord, they know that I imprisoned and beat in every synagogue them that believed on thee:

    20 And when the blood of thy martyr Stephen was shed, I also was standing by, and consenting unto his death, and kept the raiment of them that slew him.

    21 And he said unto me, Depart: for I will send thee far hence unto the Gentiles

    I’ve seen it so many times where God will use what He delivered you from to write your story and His true purpose for you. It would kind of be like Him sending me into drug houses and rehabs after being delivered from drug addiction and that lifestyle. I can only imagine how he may have felt, having killed families of the faith that has now saved him…. How many lives did I help ruin to keep my habit going or to make money dealing? What if I went to a rehab and met someone’s kid that I use to do drugs with? That’s a lot to come up against, but when bringing the gospel to those that are lost…and you have the Maker of All Things standing with you, you can do all things.

  37. 6. And it came to pass, that, as I made my journey, and was come nigh unto Da-mas ‘- cus about noon, suddenly there shone from heaven a great light round about me. 7. And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me? 8. And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Je’-sus of Naz’-areth, whom thou persecutest. Glory to your name !!!! How excellent is your name Jesus !!!!

  38. And he said, The God of our fathers hath chosen thee, that thou shouldest know his will, and see that Just One, and shouldest hear the voice of his mouth. (Acts 22:14 KJV)

    We have also been chosen as his chosen people and generation. He will show us the path and speak to us for his sheep know his voice and obey him.

  39. God chose Paul as his servant and Paul obeyed even though he hurt many other people before. His past was carnal minded. But he chose to serve The King of Kings regardless of his history.

  40. May 14
    18 And saw him saying unto me, Make haste, and get thee quickly out of Jerusalem: for they will not receive thy testimony concerning me.
    Everybody needs JESUS but not everybody wants JESUS!!!

Leave a Reply

