Psalm Chapter 101 

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 9

Psalm 101 

I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto thee, O Lord, will I sing.

I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked person.

Whoso privily slandereth his neighbour, him will I cut off: him that hath an high look and a proud heart will not I suffer.

Mine eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me: he that walketh in a perfect way, he shall serve me.

He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.

I will early destroy all the wicked of the land; that I may cut off all wicked doers from the city of the Lord.

40 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 101 

  1. Verse 5 AMP “Whoever secretly slanders his neighbor, him I will silence;
    The one who has a haughty look and a proud (arrogant) heart I will not tolerate.” Oh Lord, let us spread the good news instead of worthless gossip. Let us lift each other up in prayer and praise the King of Kings together.

    Mark 16:15 AMP “And He said to them, “GO into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation. Psalm 34:3 MSG “Join me in spreading the news; together let’s get the word out.” Same verse AMP “O [a]magnify the Lord with me, And let us lift up His name together.”

  2. GO FAITHFULLY

    6 Mine eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me: he that walketh in a perfect way, he shall serve me.

    The world presents serving the LORD JESUS and HIS Gospel as some great and compelling task. However if we will simply consider the benefits of being a “good and faithfulful servant” to and for the LORD, we are BLESSED and privileged.

    The LORD our GOD is witness to EVERY word, deed, and opportunity that we are presented. HE invites the faithful to dwell with HIM, in HIS Holiness, HIS Power, HIS Grace, HIS Peace.

    HE chooses who will serve HIM. For this reason we should consider ourselves BLESSED if we have been presented and opportunity to serve the LORD.

    GO FAITHFULLY because JESUS is watching our words and deeds.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo

  3. iLove to Go Blog
    2I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.
    3I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.#wicked…: Heb. thing of Belial
    4A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked person.

    Wow, a very impacting blog this morning. Check out this scripture, “5Whoso privily slandereth his neighbour, him will I cut off: him that hath an high look and a proud heart will not I suffer.” That word slander means “to accuse”. David (in the Holy Ghost) wasn’t trying to hear it, he said he would cut that person off. I think we need to cut it out…whenever we hear folk accusing folk, we should say, “Hey, cut it out”.

  4. 7. The one who makes a habit of deceit will not be welcome in my house; The one who lies will not remain in my presence for long. Voice

    Those who remain in the presence of liars too long often either become liars themselves, or begin to believe the lies that are being told. The liar’s habit (or spirit) of deceit begins to ‘rub off’ on those around them, and soon the problem has multiplied.

  5. 7 He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.
    2 I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

    You have to go to bed forgiven every person that’s done you wrong. Do the same as the scripture above. To walk into the house with a perfect heart a heart that’s forgiven. Mathew 6:14 For if ye forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you:

    Go to bed angry you’re gonna wake up angry and if you cannot do that then your whole day will be a lie when you’re trying to force a smile on your face. You need to show the joy of the Lord and let others see Hods love shine through you.

  6. 2 I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

    What criteria do we have to align ourselves with to see if we are behaving in a perfect way? The Word of God. It is our “plumb” line. If our hearts/attitude/actions/characteristics are lined up with the Word of God, we will find ourselves walking in the ways of the Lord – a perfect way.

  7. I will sing of you love and justice, Lord . I will praise you with songs.
    PSALMS 101: 1 NLT

    Thank you Father for your love and kindness.

  8. 2 I will be careful to lead a blameless life. When will you come on to me? I will walk in my house with a brainless heart.
    3 I will set before my eyes no vile thing. The deeds of the faithless man I will hate, they will not cling to me.

    7 He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.

  9. For the Lord is good. His unfailing love continues forever, and his faithfulness continues to each generation.
    Psalms 100:5 NLT
    The lord is good and mercy will continue thought all generation oh what great love he has for us I don’t know where I would be without his Mercy and love

  10. Repeatedly this chapter says “I will…” Lord help us to do as Your word says – to hate the appearance of evil and separate ourselves from it, to protect the body of Christ and not tolerate negative speaking. Let us speak daily of Your goodness and mercy!

  11. 7 He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.

    8 I will early destroy all the wicked of the land; that I may cut off all wicked doers from the city of the Lord.

    Everyday I need to examine my heart! Am I being deceitful, have I lied about anything that I was not aware of? I have to because I dont want to live in a life of sin, but also I dont want to deceive my self and think that everything is good, just to find out there are those things I did and forgotten, or things I do out of old habits, Romans 12:2 And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.
    I believe I can achieve this by simply being obedient, Prayer, and the word of God, and Repentance, even if Im not sure…Repent!

  12. 6 Mine eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me: he that walketh in a perfect way, he shall serve me

    Sometimes in the kingdom we consume ourselves with certain things like wanting to be seen, wanting to be up in front of people or on a platform, wanting glory and recognition. But this verse clearly shows that God’s eyes are not upon those type of people instead it’s on the faithful. Those who have the ministry of faithfulness are the ones who are truly blessed in the kingdom of God.

  13. Josiah: 6 Mine eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me: he that walketh in a perfect way, he shall serve me.
    7 He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.
    “Mine eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land…he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight…” In these verses he is looking at the faithful and not having evil dwell around him. If people want to succeed they should do what the successful do. So, like in this verse if we want to be part of the faithful we should make sure that the people we look upon are the faithful so that the things of this world do not pull us away. In the next verse David says that he shall not have deceit in his house or have liers in his sight. I pray that I do not ever let evil be what I look upon, but make my true friends, people I look up to, be the Godly examples. LET US GO IN JESUS NAME! LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD! PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  14. 6 I will search for faithful people to be my companions.

    We should have friends that we can fellowship with, enjoy and have trust in. These are friends you can depend on during times of trouble. Even at work or school, choose friends you can trust.

  15. 1 I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto thee, O Lord, will I sing.
    2 I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.
    3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

    I will rejoice in mercy and judgement..I will behave in a perfect way…perfect doesn’t mean without flaw, it means to be matured, to grow and learn in wisdom. To behave in such a way that we are constantly drawing closer to God and away from evil.
    That’s my desire every day…to grow closer with the mind of Christ, to continually learn from mistakes and mature in the word of God.

  16. 7 He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.

    At some point in our lives – each and every one of us has lied. Bro Cook made a profound statement about Thomas. He is commonly known as doubting Thomas, all because he wanted to see Jesus’ hands. He asked Bro Jackson if he had ever lied and of course Bro Jackson said yes. We do not refer to Bro Jackson as Lying Jackson… So, if we can agree that everyone has lied at some point in our lives; why do some struggle with lying?

    People lie to get what they want, they lie to avoid embarrassment, to maintain their self- image, they lie to avoid being judged, they lie because they don’t want to own up to a mistake, and continue to lie because they have lied.

    As Christians we are called to put away childish things and the old self with its practices. Therefore, let us make this our prayer: Keep deception and lies far from me, give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is my portion, that I not be full and deny You and say, “Who is the LORD?” Or that I not be in want and steal, and profane the name of my God (Proverbs 30:8-9).

  17. I Love To Worship The Lord
    David expresses his commitment to his God of love and justice David will lead a blameless life he will not permit his people to sin and will advance those whose walk like his is blameless

  18. 7 He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.

  19. Psalms 101:2, “I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.”

    This chapter shows us that (in the NLT) David…
    Refused to look at anything vile or vulgar
    Had nothing to do with people who dealt crookedly
    Rejected perverse ideas and stayed away from evil
    Did not tolerate people who slandered their neighbors
    Did not endure conceit and pride
    Did not allow deceives in his house
    Did not allow liars to stay in his house
    David wanted to behave himself wisely in a perfect way and walk in his house with a perfect heart.

    How are you behaving yourself? How are you walking/living in your house? Are you behaving yourself and walking/living the same way in your house as at church?

  20. 3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

    4 A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked person.

    The Lord is seeking righteous and faithful servants.

  21. So many good thoughts in this Psalm! I’m not just going to sing praises unto the Lord, I’m going to let it be seen in my behaviour and attitude. That intention is not just when I come to his house, but even in my own house my heart will be perfect before him… mature and without guile! It is not enough just to dwell on his goodness in his house, in my own house I will set no evil before my eyes! That is God’s threshold for my entertainment… nothing from the world is welcome to influence my behaviour apart from his desire.

    Even my friendships are limited… I will not become close to those whose heart is set upon the wickedness of the world and the works of those who’ve turned aside shall not cleave to me. If they choose to slander those whose company they used to share I’ll cut them off rather than be influenced by the wickedness in their heart. My fellowship has just as much influence over my behaviour as my entertainment, so both will be limited that the intentions of my heart would remain pure and undefiled.

    When I look for those whose friendship can serve as examples for my heart to emulate, ‘Mine eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me: he that walketh in a perfect way, he shall serve me.’ Let my example be one of following those who also follow Christ that my heart and my spirit might be more like his! Let me guard my heart so my light can shine brightly unto those in such a dark and lonely world! Let my home truly be a sanctuary for his spirit and a place of safety for me and my family every day!

  22. 6 Mine eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me: he that walketh in a perfect way, he shall serve me.
    7 He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.

    Praise God for his mercy and the time and chance to amend our ways before we are judged. We live in the age of grace which means he gives us time to come to know him and learn his ways. Praise him for putting repentance in his word!

  23. 1 I will sing of your love and justice; to you, Lord, I will sing praise.

    Let my heart be clean from this world so I may sing praise to you and you alone God! I pray that I will be able to daily follow you path, surround myself with believers, and keep my mouth full with praise to you!

  24. 2 I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.
    3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

    Young people. It is in our best interest that we do not put ourselves in a situation that would cause us to lose out with God. We must know that there are consequences to us doing bad things. We must make sure that we are doing our absolute best for God and for the church. We all know the addage, hear no evil, speak no evil, see no evil. But there is actually a fourth, which is do no evil. We must try our very best to do this. Be a person of good character and a trustworthy spirit. The Lord will bless you for this.

  25. 2 I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

    Jesus is the only one who is perfect, so that means if everyday we are trying to be more and more like Him and walk in His ways, we get closer and closer to perfection!

  26. 3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

    We have to make up our mind every day that we are not going to have sin in our way. Most of the things we get into can be avoided. If you make it a habit of doing right it becomes natural.

  27. Hannah: “3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.” Never entertain the appearance of evil in your life. It will constantly be there to tempt you and only bring you to destruction. Instead my desire is that I will never stop praying to God to take that thorn out of my side so that I can have the blessings of the Lord in my life instead of the temptations of the world. Always have the things of the Lord set before you to encourage you with your walk with God. He is perfect and all his ways are perfect. He has more planned for you than you can ever imagine and just continue to do his will that he has in your life. Be that light wherever you go to draw people to the Lord and make them want to seek him in their life. Always walk in the ways of the Lord and not in the ways of the world.

  28. 3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

    We have to watch the gates to our soul, being our ears with what we hear and listen to.. because it can form thoughts and entertain certain spirits. He gives us the ability to discern when something glorifies Him or is not of God. Like the psalmist makes clear here, we too need to make the choice to walk in holiness obstaing from the very appearance of evil.

  29. This Psalm is an important reminder yet again of the importance of being in the world but not of the world. Just as David, I should strive to not just ignore wickedness, but to also avoid it in every way; avoid even the appearance of evil. Even if I am not doing an evil I need to be sure that those things I am letting into my life do not contain that evil. It doesn’t do any good to say that I will not swear or speak evil of another person if I am always around people who do that. Or to say that I won’t see anything evil, if I am hearing that same evil from the speech of those around me. What we are around can go into our heart and mind and what is in our heart will eventually come out of our mouth. So in all I do I need to be sure that God is being glorified around me, that He is being shown forth in my life and that my heart is always right with Him! Praise Him and bless His holy name!!

  30. 1 I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto thee, O Lord, will I sing.

    Why should one waste the talent God has given singing to this world? Give it in worship to the Lord invest in His kingdom with it and be blessed

  31. 1 I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto thee, O Lord, will I sing.

    I will sing praises to my God everyday! There is not a day that I do not sing unto the Lord! I love music, music is a way of worship that brings everything your feeling in a song. There are so many beautiful songs that exalt and describe the King of Kings. Jesus you are my rock and my foundation. Out of my mouth I shall sing praises unto you Lord!!! Thank you for being so faithful!!!

  32. 3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

    I hate the work of them that turn aside!

    The only person that will not make it in the kingdom is a quitter. Every task is too hard, there’s an excuse for everything, always too busy, starts a lot of things but never follows thru, etc.

    Very brutal words used to describe a slothful person. It was so detestable that he didn’t even want to get contaminated by them.

  33. 2 I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

    Through Christ, we can be perfect. His grace holds us together.

  34. 2 I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.
    3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

    This verses and Psalm just remind me of the prefect way to live a holy life and prefect walk by setting no wicked thing before my eyes.

  35. 2 I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

    The Hebrew word here for perfect is tamim which translates to complete or sound. As a wife and mother I think this is crucial for the integrity of your family to be upheld we must behave ourselves in a sound way. We must walk through our houses with sound hearts. When will You, LORD come unto me? I walk and behave soundly. I invite You into every situation with my actions because they show my trust and love in You.

  36. “He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭101:7‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Worketh Deceit

    Many times people just think of telling lies. Here in the Bible it doesn’t say telling, but working. People work deceit when they try to make people believe something that’s not real. You look like you have more or less money than you really have. You look like you did something you should have done but you really didn’t do. You look like you didn’t do something, but really you did. All of those thiga are working deciet. For all of those things that are deceitful you will not be able to dwell in the house of the Lord. Jesus prick our hearts to tell us if we are being deceitful.

  37. 6 I am like a pelican of the wilderness: I am like an owl of the desert.

    First, the obvious, pelicans are not wilderness birds no more than owls belong in the desert. So, what is the Psalmist trying to say? I believe he feels so lost and out of place he cannot find his bearings. I have been there before. When we face feelings of emptiness, it is usually because our hearts have grown distracted. When we feel lost, it is usually because we have allowed that distraction to hold us back from seeking Jesus.

    God understands the distractions of the world we live in. But He has overcome the world, and if we allow Him to do so, he can help us to do the same. Jesus didn’t come to praise the perfect. He didn’t place Himself on the cross for those who had it all together. He gave Himself so that those of us who were lost could return home. We would have had no other way. This broke God’s heart so much that he came for us. He is the same God today who fought for you then. When we find ourselves lost once again, we can turn to the cross and remember that Jesus points the way home.

  38. I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

    In order to love the things that God loves and hate those things in which he hates, I must be steadfast in guarding what comes not only before my eyes but also what I allow to come into my hearing and teach this to my children do that they will do the same when they are grown. There is absolutely nothing in this world worth losing salvation for.

Leave a Reply

