Psalm Chapter 108

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 16

Psalm 108

O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.

Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: and I will sing praises unto thee among the nations.

For thy mercy is great above the heavens: and thy truth reacheth unto the clouds.

Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: and thy glory above all the earth;

That thy beloved may be delivered: save with thy right hand, and answer me.

God hath spoken in his holiness; I will rejoice, I will divide Shechem, and mete out the valley of Succoth.

Gilead is mine; Manasseh is mine; Ephraim also is the strength of mine head; Judah is my lawgiver;

Moab is my washpot; over Edom will I cast out my shoe; over Philistia will I triumph.

10 Who will bring me into the strong city? who will lead me into Edom?

11 Wilt not thou, O God, who hast cast us off? and wilt not thou, O God, go forth with our hosts?

12 Give us help from trouble: for vain is the help of man.

13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

42 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 108

  1. 3. I will stand and offer You my thanks, Eternal One, in the presence of others; I will sing of Your greatness among the nations no matter where I am.

    God is still God and worthy of praise, no matter where we are or who is around us.

    8. Gilead belongs to Me, and so does Manasseh; Ephraim is the helmet that protects My head; Judah is the scepter through which I rule;

    We rule through Judah
    Judah = praise
    Rule = dominion and authority
    No Praise = no dominion and authority

  2. GO THROUGH GOD

    13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

    There is A path and will of GOD for each of us to follow. As Born Again believers GOD has ordained a destiny, prepared a place for us and is awaiting the time to come for us.

    We are privileged to choose to follow through the path and plan of GOD or we can choose to veer from that path and take unexpected and uncalculated routes on our own.The routes often cause great pain and disappointment and no guaranteed end.

    However, if we choose to follow the route GOD has placed before us we have this promise; “Through GOD we shall do valiantly”.

    Valiantly – 1: possessing or acting with bravery or boldness : courageous valiant soldiers
    2: marked by, exhibiting, or carried out with courage or determination : heroic valiant feats

    Hebrew word – 2428. khah´-yil; probably a force, whether of men, means or other resources; an army, wealth, virtue, valor, strength:—able, activity, (+) army, band of men (soldiers), company, (great) forces, goods, host, might, power, riches, strength, strong, substance, train, (+)valiant(-ly), valour, virtuous(-ly), war, worthy(-ily).

    When we choose to GO THROUGH GOD we are promised HIS resources, strength, power, force, virtue, strength, substance, riches, strength.

    Sounds like VICTORY IN JESUS to me!

    Lets GO THROUGH GOD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo

  3. Verses 1-2 MSG “I’m ready, God, so ready, ready from head to toe. Ready to sing, ready to raise a God-song: “Wake, soul! Wake, lute! Wake up, you sleepyhead sun!” Are you ready to GO? Same verses ASV “My heart is fixed, O God; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises, even with my glory. Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will [a]awake right early.”

    Ephesians 3:17-19 MSG “My response is to get down on my knees before the Father, this magnificent Father who parcels out all heaven and earth. I ask him to strengthen you by his Spirit—not a brute strength but a glorious inner strength—that Christ will live in you as you open the door and invite him in. And I ask him that with both feet planted firmly on love, you’ll be able to take in with all followers of Jesus the extravagant dimensions of Christ’s love. Reach out and experience the breadth! Test its length! Plumb the depths! Rise to the heights! Live full lives, full in the fullness of God.” Hebrews 3:1 NIV “Therefore, holy brothers and sisters, who share in the heavenly calling, fix your thoughts on Jesus, whom we acknowledge as our apostle and high priest.”

  4. 1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.
    2 Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.
    3 I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: and I will sing praises unto thee among the nations

    I made up my mind a long time ago, that no matter what was going on in my life, I wanted to praise God. I didn’t want to be one of those people who weep and beg God when things aren’t going Right and then shouting when things are good; I wanted to be a man of God that shouted and praised when life knocked me to my knees. I wanted to run isles when I had no where else to go. My heart is fixed on Jesus. If I am made to praise, then by God that’s what I’m going to do.

  5. 1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.

    Merriam Webster says “fixed” is used to describe something that does not change. : placed or attached in a way that does not move easily…

    13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

    How do we know that we can be victorious over our enemies? Because our heart is fixed, it cannot be moved, regardless of our situation.

  6. With God’s help we will do mighty things, for he will trample down our foes.
    Psalms 108:16 NLT

    We are mighty through God!

  7. “Give us help from trouble: for vain is the help of man.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭108:12‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    People, man, only seek after what is good to them. We don’t understand how to help someone correctly. We help when it benefits us. If it makes us feel better or profits us then we are quick to help because of our benefits. Our hep is often superficial and shallow as well.

    There is hope through. It’s when we listen to God that the way we help changes. God can use man to help others, but it is still GOD that is helping. When we are used of God to help others then we don’t just jump in with both feet. We wait for instructions. We follow orders. The person needing help is able to work through their situation, comes out victorious, and they are stronger in God.

    I need to listen to God more earnestly so I can be used of God more frequently.

  8. 4 For thy mercy is great above the heavens: and thy truth reacheth unto the clouds.
    5 Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: and thy glory above all the earth;

    13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

  9. iLove to Go Blog
    Psalms 108:2 Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

    Wow, what a great intro to Friday Morning 6am Prayer. Boom, I myself will awake early! You know, the hardest thing for most folks to do is to discipline their own flesh to wake early and pray. Yep, remember the disciples tried and failed.

    Matthew 26:40-41 KJV  And he cometh unto the disciples, and findeth them asleep, and saith unto Peter, What, could ye not watch with me one hour?  (41)  Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.

    It’s not that folk don’t want to pray early, it’s that they make up in their minds to get up at 5am and instead punch the snooze button. I mean, most folks would say something like, “Well, if Jesus manifested in the flesh and told me to do it…THEN I would do it…” Well, Jesus was in the flesh and told the disciples to do it and they still pushed the snooze button.

    The fact of the matter is, the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. The challenge with that is that in order to stay away from temptation we have to pray when we don’t want to pray.

    Matthew 26: 41 Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.

    Rise and Shine 🙂

  10. 1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.

    My heart was broken but the Lord fixed my heart. Jesus was the only one.that.could fix my broken heart. He fixed my heart and gave e me the strength. We can’t let people or society hurt our hearts, yes we all have emotions but when heart we have to learn to pray and give that pain, worry, etc to God. We can’t carry around pain, grudges, anger, brokenness in our heart because it creates a barrier to what God wants to do with us. We all have feelings and emotions but we can’t let it break us. Thank You Jesus for fixing and molding my heart.

  11. Psalm 108

    My Heart is Fixed My Mind Made Up
    I Am Souled Out!

    1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.

    2 Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

    3 I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: and I will sing praises unto thee among the nations.

    4 For thy mercy is great above the heavens: and thy truth reacheth unto the clouds.

    5 Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: and thy glory above all the earth;

    Keeping your heart fixed upon Him is the answer. It comes with humbleness before His throne seeking His will. His ways are far above our human understanding. His truth will prevail. His love everlasting.
    If I could teach a young or older person one thing it would be fall in love with the Savior. When you love someone you want to please them.
    Solid you fall in love with Him you will find great contentment.
    His Strength is Perfect

  12. Should be so if you fall in love with Him you will find great contentmen. I am Soulded Out My heart is fixed my mind is made up I am Souled Out!

  13. Psalms 108:4 (NLT)
    “For your unfailing love is higher than the heavens. Your faithfulness reaches to the clouds.”

    Thank You JESUS for Your Unfailing Love and Your Faithfulness.

  14. 1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.

    2 Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

    3 I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: and I will sing praises unto thee among the nations.

    I love to praise God, I do! I love to clap, sing outloud, move to the music, wave my hands, lift my hands, shout on top of my lungs! Because I know what God has done for me! I know how he brought me out of darkness into his marvelous light!

  15. Jesus is my lawyer.

    7 God hath spoken in his holiness; I will rejoice, I will divide Shechem, and mete out the valley of Succoth.
    8 Gilead is mine; Manasseh is mine; Ephraim also is the strength of mine head; Judah is my lawgiver;

    Judah is my lawgiver.
    Think about that. Judah, which is praise is the lawgiver. We know Jesus to come from the tribe of Judah. So Jesus is my lawgiver.
    Young people. It is imparitive for us to understand that without a praise, the law can not be given nor received. This is another reason why, we praise God before we get any Word, so that we may receive it with gladness.
    #GODOSOMETHING for God.

  16. 13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our
    Through Christ all things are possible
    Everything I do I want to do in the name of JESUS because if he with me nothing can stand against me I know Jesus is with me

  17. 1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.

    “How could I keep from singing Your praise? How could I ever say enough? How amazing is Your love! How could I keep from shouting Your name? I know I am loved by the King and it makes my heart wanna sing!” My heart is fixed on You Jesus and I am souled out! When your heart is fixed and your souled out for God, there is no greater joy, peace and love; it means allowing Him full control as the potter to mold and shape you. We never stop growing and learning, He is always blessing with new revelations and understandings. Wow God is so good! With my heart fixed on such a terrible God, I will continue to sing and give praise.

  18. 12 Give us help from trouble: for vain is the help of man.

    13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

    It is through the power of God that we survive and thrive in this life. We do not have the power in ourselves but when we trust in Him and have confidence in His power He gives us the strength to do valiantly!

  19. Josiah: 3 I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: and I will sing praises unto thee among the nations.
    Notice how he does not say he will just praise the Lord around people in the Church, or at Church. He said that he will praise the Lord “among the people” and “among the nations.” He will praise the Lord even in the world. We should talk and praise the Lord not just with Church people and at Church, but also to this world so that our light could shine, and we could be a city set on a hill with a fire burning. So, let us GO be a Christian example to this world. Let us praise the Lord at all times and all places. LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD! PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  20. 1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.

    “My Heart is Fixed, My Minds made Up, No Room, No Vacancies, I’m All Filled Up, His Spirit lives in me and that’s the reason I’m Souled Out!”

    With a fixed heart, we refuse to dwell on wondering thoughts. With a fixed heart, we dwell on whatsoever things are true.

    “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” Phil 4:8

  21. The psalmist declares ‘Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.’ He didn’t day that we might or perhaps from time to time but that through God we SHALL do valiantly and triumph over our enemies. We don’t have to wait for a convenient season, the hour of battle is the time to triumph regardless of the time or the place. That is not too say that trials won’t take their course, but when the enemy comes in, even in our darkest hour, greater is he that is in me than he that was cast down into the world. I may be walking in the world today, but one day I’ll have that opportunity that other enemy will never share… the Lord himself shall raise me up to be with him!

    So I can also sing, ‘O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory. Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early. I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: and I will sing praises unto thee among the nations.’ I want everyone to know! I want everyone I love to come with me! I want my strength to be in him so it is his strength that sustains me at all times! Not just in the hour of battle or in the trial, O let my moments of greatest joy be shared with him! ‘Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: and thy glory above all the earth;’ let me be part of that host that exalts his name in praise and worship!

  22. 1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.

    13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

    If your heart is truly fixed on God then there should be no room for anything or anyone to come and take His place.

    Fixed – fastened securely in position, predetermined and not subject to or able to be a changed.

    We need to predetermine in our hearts and minds to be fixed on God so that when a situation comes our way or someone tries to come fill our heads with lies and deceptions about the word of God, they will not be able to succeed because we fight our battles through God and we are fastened securely in His kingdom!

  23. 13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

    I’ve been told to praise the Lord through the tough times and this verse reminds me why. We’re reminded that we’re in a battle already won and it’s not even ours, it’s Gods. Stated above it says HE will tread down our enemies, That is anyone that’s against the Word of God and the truth. Trust in the Lord and you shall be blessed. So Go in Jesus name spreading Gods love and show others what he can do!

  24. 1-3 I’m ready, God, so ready, ready from head to toe. Ready to sing, ready to raise a God-song: “Wake, soul! Wake, lute! Wake up, you sleepyhead sun!” I’m thanking you, God, out in the streets, singing your praises in town and country.

    God you created me to give praise unto you and daily I’ll be ready to awake with praise and thanks in my mouth! Let us go into our city streets, schools, and works and awake our praises to the One True Living God!

  25. 12Oh, please help us against our enemies, for all human help is useless.

    During desperate times most look for help from family, friends or coworkers. Yes these individuals will provide words of comfort but won’t solve your problems. Only prayer to God will bring complete healing, peace and comfort to your life.

  26. Hannah: “4 For thy mercy is great above the heavens: and thy truth reacheth unto the clouds. 5 Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: and thy glory above all the earth;” His mercy is above all and every day I am so thankful for all his mercy that he shows us. His word is the truth and his way is the only way. Whenever I am going through a trial it is comforting to know that he is the One True Living God and that he is always there for each of us. Every day we need to continually praise for who he is and every thing he has done. My desire is that I will never stop praising him for who he is and never stop my walk with him. Always continue to grow in the Lord and lift him up.

  27. 2 Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

    My favorite time of the year is when time changes in the spring for the sun pops up earlier and it is not dark when I wake up. The birds are chirping and the outside seems to come alive with praise to their Maker! I wake up early giving thanks unto the alord for He is Good and has granted me one more day of life, one more opportunity, one more chance at life. Whom can you impact??? To whom will you speak of His Goodness and Grace? Whom will you reach out and tell them what Jesus has done for you? I WILL AWAKE EARLY!!!!

  28. Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.
    Psalms 108:13 KJV

    Through God… when we try everything on our own we are limited but with and through God. Men can do great and mighty things.

  29. 12 Give us help from trouble: for vain is the help of man.
    13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

    Man can only do so much, but with God all things are possible. My trust and my help is in the Lord.

  30. Something people say a lot is pray even in the hard times and this chapter connects to that saying well. David is in a bad situation with his people being punished by god, instead of getting mad at him and rejecting him he prays for help with his situation.

  31. The praise police!

    Gilead is mine; Manasseh is mine; Ephraim also is the strength of mine head; Judah is my lawgiver;

    Pastor has been preaching about praise lately. When I examine myself against the word that has been coming across the pulpit I realize that the lack of praise is like putting handcuffs on. When you let your praise go it liberates you in the spirit and chains fall off. When you hold back it’s like putting you in jail, you are completely incompetent to do anything in the spirit when your praise is on lockdown! I looked around on Wednesday night at altar call and masked myself if everyone’s praiser was broken? The sure way to lock yourself up in the spirit is to shut down on praise. God let the POFW shake loose the handcuffs and give God the praise due his name!

    #IDONTKNOWWHYBROMOHASNTPREACHEDTHISYET!

  32. 12 Give us help from trouble: for vain is the help of man.
    13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

    We can always turn to God in those times of distress. Even when it seems as if all is going wrong, we can look to God and He will help us through, He will strengthen us to carry on. “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” Surely even when it seems that nothing in this world can help, God can make a way for us! Even as He made a way for Saul to become a Christian, and the Israelites to leave Egypt. Throughout the Bible is evidence of God taking care of His children, whether that be via provision or even from enemies. He can take care of whatever opposition there is, and through God we will do great! Surely, there is nothing in this world that can stand against God, so why would I look to things in this world for guidance? I need to always focus on Him, and He will bring me through! To God be the glory forever and ever amen!

  33. “God, my heart feels secure. I will sing and make music to you with all my heart.”
    ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭108:1‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    When our trust is in the Lord that changes the way we respond to challenges. No matter the situation that surround us there will always be a praise that comes from heart.

  34. 1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.
    2 Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

    I’m sold out!
    My heart is fixed my minds made up no room no vacancies I’m all filled up.
    The good thing about being sold out for God is He is worth it all. What I do for God I do not “have to do” yet even if I was forced to do it in the end it would be worth it! He is worth it all and salvation is worth it!

  35. Psalm 108:8 Gilead is mine, Manasseh is mine; Ephraim is my helmet, Judah is my scepter.

    Judah is my scepter.

    You want the King of kings to extend his favor over you? Praise Him!
    A scepter is a sign of authority, when we face the enemy, all you have to do is start praising God and you will demonstrate the authority Of Gid in your praise.

  36. 13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.
    With Jesus on our side, we do not have to fear.He will always bring us through. He is making a way and drawing us closer to him. This life is only temporary and the enemies of our soul shall not​ prevail if we stay close to our Jesus,trust him even when we do not understand and obey his direction. He knows the what we need and if we follow him,then we shall do valiantly,get the victory and give God all of the praise and glory!!

  37. 1 O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.
    2 Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

    These verses spoke to me again about what pastor is preaching on praise and the importance of it. The last part also caught my attention, for David said even with my glory. So despite being King, and the example of his predecessor David felt it was important to praise God. And awake early. Praise him from the rising of the sun to the going to of the same.

  38. 8 Gilead is mine; Manasseh is mine; Ephraim also is the strength of mine head; Judah is my lawgiver;

    God set his people in certain roles for his purpose and will. They are all his people as we are but each fulfil a function in unity as a body.

  39. For thy mercy is great above the heavens: and thy truth reacheth unto the clouds.
    (Psalms 108:4 KJV)

    The heavens is his throne and the earth is his foot stool. His mercy and truth is so great that it cannot be contained like the clouds by man but given by God’s grace.

Leave a Reply

