Psalm Chapter 109

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 17

Psalm 109

Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;

For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.

They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.

For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.

And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.

Set thou a wicked man over him: and let Satan stand at his right hand.

When he shall be judged, let him be condemned: and let his prayer become sin.

Let his days be few; and let another take his office.

Let his children be fatherless, and his wife a widow.

10 Let his children be continually vagabonds, and beg: let them seek their bread also out of their desolate places.

11 Let the extortioner catch all that he hath; and let the strangers spoil his labour.

12 Let there be none to extend mercy unto him: neither let there be any to favour his fatherless children.

13 Let his posterity be cut off; and in the generation following let their name be blotted out.

14 Let the iniquity of his fathers be remembered with the Lord; and let not the sin of his mother be blotted out.

15 Let them be before the Lord continually, that he may cut off the memory of them from the earth.

16 Because that he remembered not to shew mercy, but persecuted the poor and needy man, that he might even slay the broken in heart.

17 As he loved cursing, so let it come unto him: as he delighted not in blessing, so let it be far from him.

18 As he clothed himself with cursing like as with his garment, so let it come into his bowels like water, and like oil into his bones.

19 Let it be unto him as the garment which covereth him, and for a girdle wherewith he is girded continually.

20 Let this be the reward of mine adversaries from the Lord, and of them that speak evil against my soul.

21 But do thou for me, O God the Lord, for thy name’s sake: because thy mercy is good, deliver thou me.

22 For I am poor and needy, and my heart is wounded within me.

23 I am gone like the shadow when it declineth: I am tossed up and down as the locust.

24 My knees are weak through fasting; and my flesh faileth of fatness.

25 I became also a reproach unto them: when they looked upon me they shaked their heads.

26 Help me, O Lord my God: O save me according to thy mercy:

27 That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, Lord, hast done it.

28 Let them curse, but bless thou: when they arise, let them be ashamed; but let thy servant rejoice.

29 Let mine adversaries be clothed with shame, and let them cover themselves with their own confusion, as with a mantle.

30 I will greatly praise the Lord with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude.

31 For he shall stand at the right hand of the poor, to save him from those that condemn his soul.

44 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 109

  1. 29 Let mine adversaries be clothed with shame, and let them cover themselves with their own confusion, as with a mantle.
    30 I will greatly praise the Lord with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude.
    31 For he shall stand at the right hand of the poor, to save him from those that condemn his soul

    It should not be as any surprise to have people against us, as peaceful as a nature we should always have, there will always be adversaries. This used to be a struggle for me, because if I had enemies I thought that meant I was doing something wrong until God revealed to me today they’re will always be people who will revile that which is good, and even so I must continue doing what is right and let God deal with them.

  2. 1 Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;

    Is it through Judah of through the praise that episode chains are broken and the captives are set free!

  3. 27. That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, Lord, hast done it.

    When you see things going good in my life, know that it’s not through luck or any skill of my own, but the hand of God; He has done it.

  4. Verse 21 MSG “Oh, God, my Lord, step in; work a miracle for me—you can do it! Get me out of here—your love is so great!—”. This verse reminds of the song that Praise in Motion signs “The Presence of the Lord” that says:

    Can’t you see Him working on the outside
    I can see Him moving on the inside
    So come and enter in and cast your cares on Him
    He’ll open up a window and pour you out a blessing
    Cause when the Lord STEPS IN He brings everything you need
    Healing, power, and victory
    Said it’s all up to you, whatever you need Him to do
    Just trust Him and believe and then by faith you will receive

  5. Prayer & Love

    4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.

    With God even in the midst of adversity prayer & love can defeat the enemy.
    We are warring against spirits not flesh and blood.
    When your confidence is placed in the High King the adversary is already defeated. Why do you think the Bible teaches the greatest is love. For love goes deeper than words deeper than wounds it goes to the very depth of your own soul. Will there be adversity that you cannot change with love yes but when you realize it is God’s love in you then your adverse is defeated. You are free because of His love. You see the enemy will try to destroy you but when you are covered by God and you submit to Him then Love Conquers All. Your prude,your will,your flesh. Yes Prayer and Love in Him there is no challenge to great. His Love in us!
    His Strength is Perfect!

  6. When you’re surrounded by those that do not like you, the best thing to do is pray. You can force people to change the way they feel about you, but prayer will soften their hearts. If the people of God would remember to pray first before taking action, the outcome will be much more positive. Prayer is what is going to strengthen us when the enemy comes our way.

  7. ‘Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;’

    So many people in the world just want the church to be quiet and hold their peace. Live and let live is the request of sin that abounds in the world today. The psalmist did not want even God to hold his peace. He didn’t give God the praise for him to be silent in his life. He wanted to see the visible manifestation of that praise in his life. We cannot expect that kind of visitation if it is our desire to hold our peace and go unnoticed by the world. God deserves to be noticed!

    This Psalm may seen surprising from the perspective of the dispensation of grace but it still speaks truth! This is the expected end of those in the world; if they do not repent they shall likewise perish. We’d like to think that we’d place ourselves in intercession rather than asking for God’s judgment but our spirit still cries out against the wickedness of the sin even as we pray for the sinner to repent. O that our prayers would make that kind of difference!

    Our prayers can’t be effective however if we choose to hold our peace… we need a Holy Ghost boldness to declare the will and promise of God to a world who’d rather not even hear of his name. So ‘I will greatly praise the Lord with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude.’ Let everything that hath breath refuse to hold their peace and praise the Lord at all times! O let my soul boldly magnify the Lord and bless his holy name without fear or trepidation! Let them know that as for me and my house, we shall serve the Lord with gladness!

  8. 26 Help me, O Lord my God: O save me according to thy mercy:
    27 That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, Lord, hast done it.

    JESUS today YOU will SAVE me!
    “Let them see You in me. Let them hear you when I speak. Let them feel You when I sing.” God it’s only by Your hand that I am who I am today, it’s only by Your mercy that I am still here – thank You Jesus!

  9. Josiah: 5 And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.
    28 Let them curse, but bless thou: when they arise, let them be ashamed; but let thy servant rejoice.
    Sometimes we just have to be Christian even if people wrong us. If we be a Christian example even when we may want to retaliate God will reward us. The Bible says in Proverbs 25:21-22 “If thing enemy be hungry, give him bread to eat; and if he be thirsty, give him water to drink. For thou shalt heap coals of fire upon his head, and the Lord shall reward thee.” We can rejoice when people wrong us because it could be a test, or a trial which can get us closer to God and if we a Christian God will reward us. So, let us GO be a Christian example. Let us not lose our reward because we want revenge. LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD! PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  10. 1 Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;
    2 For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.
    3 They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.
    4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.
    5 And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.

    deceptive-giving an appearance or impression different from the true one; misleading.
    It’s important to know the difference between a deceptive image and the true image. This is something I knew even before I got the Holy Ghost but since I’ve been in church I’ve noticed that situations such as seeing the “difference” still occurs. It’s easy to be deceived and if you can catch one trying to deceive you then you’re probably under attack or being attacked by the adversary. With God on our side who could stand against us right? It’s all about knowing how to handle the situation though. Above in those scriptures it’s told how the enemy will speak against you with a lying tongue. So stand clear of deceptive image and know when someone is speaking against your fellow saint

  11. 26 Help me, O Lord my God: O save me according to thy mercy:
    27 That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, Lord, hast done it.

    We all need the saving grace of Jesus in our lives. Without His grace we would not make it and would find ourselves lost without hope for the future. It’s His grace and mercy that picked us up and pulled us out of the depths of Sin and his grace that will keep us

  12. 26 Help me, O Lord my God: O save me according to thy mercy:

    27 That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, Lord, hast done it.

    Lord I am here not because of who I am but because of what You’ve done, and not because of what I’ve done but because of who You are! Help me oh Lord to have a spirit of humility so that when others see me and hear me they know who I’ve become is because of the work You have done in me!

  13. Psalms 109:4 & 26-27
    4) For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.
    26) Help me, O LORD my God: O save me according to thy mercy.
    27) That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, LORD, has done it.

    It’s when we PRAY that God will be Merciful to us and Help us.
    It’s when we PRAY that our adversary will know that it is the Hand of the Lord who Helped us.

    You want to put your enemy to flight? GO PRAY

  14. THE DISCIPLES ANSWER TO FALSE ACCUSATION

    1 Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;
    2 For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.
    3 They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.
    4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.
    5 And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.

    PRAISE and PRAYER

    Life is filled with adversity, people make false assumptions, cruel accusations and hateful statements. How we respond to these painful experiences is how our FAITH is developed. We must first understand that all hardships are not from the devil.

    GOD allows trials to try us or develop us.

    The psalmist confessed in verse 1 that he was faithful in PRAISE and in verse 4 that he was faithful in PRAYER. The FAITH development of staying focused on GOD when we are tried is our greatest FAITH builder. If accusations, assumptions and harsh words have been spoken of you.

    Dont get MAD
    Dont get EVEN
    Dont get TIMID

    GO PRAY and GO PRAISE

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo

  15. 29 Let mine adversaries be clothed with shame, and let them cover themselves with their own confusion, as with a mantle.

    30 I will greatly praise the Lord with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude.

    31 For he shall stand at the right hand of the poor, to save him from those that condemn his soul.

    The enemy will drown in his own confusion. And we will stand in victory!

  16. 1 Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;

    2 For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.

    3 They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.

    4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.

    5 And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.

    Alot of times even in the church, people are not who they say they are some are but others are wearing mask, and they may not set out to, but when something goes wrong in their life, they hurt others to feel better, and they lie on them, spread awful rumors, But through it all we have to be strong, trust in God that he will fix it, and be sure not to let bitterness come in, stand for what we know is right, and just praise and trust in God! and Love them anyways!

    Proverbs: 25: 21-22 If thine enemy be hungry, give him bread to eat; and if he be thirsty, give him water to drink:
    For thou shalt heap coals of fire upon his head, and the LORD shall reward thee.

  17. 1 Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;
    2 For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.
    3 They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.
    4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.
    5 And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.26 Help me, O Lord my God: O save me according to thy mercy:

    26 Help me, O Lord my God: O save me according to thy mercy:
    27 That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, Lord, hast done it.

  18. iLove to Go Blog
    2 For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.
    3 They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.
    4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.

    Wow. Looks like folks have been going through this kinda stuff since the beginning of time. What is the answer in how to deal with this challenge in life? (By the way, I think most of us fail this test). The answer is to give yourself to prayer…Yep. Wow, that means I can throw complaining out the window. I’m going to practice this principle of the Word of God and I shall see the same results that David saw. When folks speak against me, I’m “giving myself to prayer”. Boom.

  19. 30 I will greatly praise the Lord with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude.
    31 For he shall stand at the right hand of the poor, to save him from those that condemn his soul.

    Sis Fielding used to sing a song called “Through It All” and it told of learning to trust in Jesus no matter what was happening in your life. We must not only trust him when things get hard in life, but also praise him because he is up to something.

  20. O God, whom I praise, don’t stand silent and aloof while the wicked slander me and tell lies about me. They surround me with hateful words and fight against me for no reason. I love them, but they try to destroy me with accusations even as I am praying for them!
    Psalms 109:1‭-‬4 NLT
    Those who try to beat me laugh at me and try to get me in trouble , lie on me and made fun of me cuz I was serving God but oh God I didn’t stop telling​ them about you cuz God I love them I don’t care what they do I love them let them see the love in me so they can see the love in you

  21. 26 Help me, O Lord my God: O save me according to thy mercy:

    27 That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, Lord, hast done it.

  22. Psalm109:31 Enghlish Amp For He will stand at the right hand of the poor and needy, to save him from those who condemn his life. Through it all we must trust in Jesus.Just praise him when it hard times ,DONT leave the church , Keep on pressing through know matter what the world is telling you to.

  23. I LOVE TO WORSHIP THE LORD
    VS-30
    But i will give repeated thanks to the Lord praising him to ever one.
    This verse really caught my attention. In prayer and also for everything i love to give thanks to the Lord for everthing good and bad.
    I love to praise the Lord always no mater whats going on if i dont praise the Lord dalily i am dead i also love to witness and talk to people about the Lord and praising the Lord when i am talking to someon

  24. 30 With my mouth I will greatly extol the Lord;
    in the great throng of worshipers I will praise him. NLT

    If I had no voice, if I had no tongue I would dance for you like the rising sun, and when that day comes and I see your face I will shout your endless glorious praise!!

  25. 30 I will greatly praise the Lord with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude.
    Through all the trials and tribulations, praise is the answer.It is in that darkest hour that we can be a great testimony to someone that is hurting and unable to cope with the situations in their life. When I praise my Lord Jesus , he gives a peace which passes all understanding. This peace is my shelter in the midst of the raging storm. I cannot live without praising Jesus for everything he has brought,is bringing and will bring me through!

  26. 30 I will greatly praise the Lord with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude
    Hallelujah your worthy and i will shout it on the mountain tops! God is so good to me!!

  27. When we can’t do anything right. Pray

    3 They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.

    4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.

    5 And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.

    How many of us have gone to do something. And no matter how hard you try, the person that asked you to do it is not happy with the work. But not just that but it seems the harder we try to do right the harder it is to do right. Be not deceived, we will reap the blessings if we faint not. Stay strong young people. If we will just pray and praise God. He will take care of the rest.

  28. 26 Help me, O Lord my God!
    Save me because of your unfailing love.
    27 Let them see that this is your doing,
    that you yourself have done it, Lord.

    We have to remember that we go through trials to make us who Jesus needs us to be. Each trial has a reason and purpose, even if it may reach one soul. That one soul is worth it.

    However, we must pray that they will see YOU doing the work through us. That you do it ALL through LOVE.

  29. 1 Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;

    This just spoke to me when I read this chapter, even though David is asking for recompense. Hold not thy peace the God of my praise. He is the God and partaker of all my praise, and his kingdom. So may God hold not his peace but send it round about to Tarrant and surrounding counties.

  30. Although, we are only here on this earth for a short while our testimony matters! Our testimony is one thing that we have a huge impact on! Through our actions towards others, through our choices we make each day, and through our reactions to situations in life. These are all testiments to how we live our life. This is how others around us will either be able to see or not to see God’s light shining through us. Just as David’s enemies’ testimonies were bad and caused David to pray against them in this psalm, our testimony can be good or bad. I pray that in all I do, my testimony is good! That I can honestly say that I have tried my best to live a life good to God while shining His light as bright in my life as possible. Glory be to God! I cannot do this on my own and I definitely need His guidance in every step that I take!

  31. 4I love them, but they try to destroy me with accusations even as I am praying for them!

    You pray for those that you love, even though they may reject you. Even if its a family member who has done you wrong, you continue to pray for him/her. Then one day, he will ask you to forgive him, just like we ask God for forgiveness at all times.

  32. 4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.

    Praise and Prayer out of love will defeat and adversary. We must remember we are not fighting flesh and blood but the spirit that is causing the problem. This fight is not won by throwing more accusations back or throwing pain words or physical violence but through praise and prayer.

    Luke 6:28Bless them that curse you, and pray for them which despitefully use you.

    Matthew 5:44 But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;

  33. 29 Let mine adversaries be clothed with shame, and let them cover themselves with their own confusion, as with a mantle.

    This is why the world gets confused when we serve God Like we do. It doesn’t make since to them. There nothing like being faithful to confuse the enemy.

  34. 30 I will greatly praise the Lord with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude

    Amen!!! The devil is under my feet and will praise you Lord! The only one that can contain me from praising Him is me. No matter the situation I have to make up in my mind that Jesus is alive and no matter what I have to praise Him. His plans are better than my plans and He knows my needs and will give me my needs. Throughout these past 3 years I have seen what the Lord had to take us through to be where we are now. He had to trust us and make us stronger and know that we really did trust in Him. Jesus is Faithful we just have to be patient and let God work.

  35. Help me, O Lord my God! Save me because of your unfailing love.
    Psalms 109:26 NLT

    I have faith in the unwavering and boundless love of my Creator. I have faith that no matter the trial, my God will do what is needed to sculpt me and make me into the vessel He needs. He comes to my aid and rescue so many times. When the enemy is all around me, I can send up my praises to the One True Living God and He will send ambushes to those that rise up against me. My God is mighty!

  36. For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.

    3 They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.

    4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.

    Here is our great example of what to do in situations like the one explained. Tell it to Jesus. Go to him in prayer and praise Him knowing that he will be a just judge.

  37. God hears the cry of the poor!

    16 Because that he remembered not to shew mercy, but persecuted the poor and needy man, that he might even slay the broken in heart.

    17 As he loved cursing, so let it come unto him: as he delighted not in blessing, so let it be far from him.

    I know now where Jesus stands with me!

    31 For he shall stand at the right hand of the poor, to save him from those that condemn his soul.

    “Cry unto the Lord”……..

  38. 29 Let mine adversaries be clothed with shame, and let them cover themselves with their own confusion, as with a mantle.

    Our God is not the author of confusion, but he is the author and finisher of our faith. When we don’t understand something if it is his will he will reveal it to us. Those who wish harm to us God will avenge us by bringing them to shame. That which the enemy intends for evil the Lord will change for good of his people.

  39. Let them curse, but bless thou: when they arise, let them be ashamed; but let thy servant rejoice.(Psalms 109:28 KJV)

    I doesn’t matter what attack the enemy brings my way. I know that my God is my deliver and my healer and blesses me also when times of trouble. “So shall they fear the name of the Lord from the west, and his glory from the rising of the sun. When the enemy shall come in like a flood, the Spirit of the Lord shall lift up a standard against him.” (Isaiah 59:19 KJV)

  40. Psalm 109:4 In return for my friendship they accuse me, but I am a man of prayer.

    It is the confidence on the basics that he trusted. Wheb someone comes to ask me to explain why they are going thru theee trouble, the first question that I ask is, How’s your prayer life, how’s your devotion to the Word, and how’s your fasting?

    In lost of the cases, that is the problem. When you see all these great men of God and ask how they did it, it was the faithfulness to the basics.

  41. “As he loved cursing, so let it come unto him: as he delighted not in blessing, so let it be far from him.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭109:17‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    You reap what you sow. The Bible tells in many places how people can receive what they give out. Lord let us live blessing. Let praise continually be in our mouths so that we can bless and curse not.

  42. 1 Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;

    2 For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.

    3 They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.

    4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.

    We see the very human side of David in this Psalm. He is overwhelmed by what his enemies have said and done to him. But he gives the key and the answer to his problem in verse 4 – I give myself unto prayer. Prayer is the only thing that can change situations like this. Heap coals of fire upon the heads of those that do evil to you, and watch God work. We reap what we sow, those that sow discord, disunity and are deceitful, will reap discord, disunity and deceit somewhere in their lives. What goes around comes around.

  43. Hannah : “5 And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.21 But do thou for me, O God the Lord, for thy name’s sake: because thy mercy is good, deliver thou me.” Always turn the other cheek and never dwell on something that has happened to you. The Lord sees everything that happens and you just need to pray for the strength of the Lord to get you through every situation. You will always be going through a situation, but the best thing to do is praise the Lord anyways and not let the things of this world hinder your praise for him. He can deliver you but you need to keep your faith and praise for him. If you have no faith to get you through then you probably won’t get through. Instead you need to have faith in the Lord and keep increasing your faith in him that he has everything in control. Never push the Lord out of your life and always place your full trust in him.

Leave a Reply

