Psalm Chapter 118

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 26

Psalm 118

O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: because his mercy endureth for ever.

Let Israel now say, that his mercy endureth for ever.

Let the house of Aaron now say, that his mercy endureth for ever.

Let them now that fear the Lord say, that his mercy endureth for ever.

I called upon the Lord in distress: the Lord answered me, and set me in a large place.

The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

The Lord taketh my part with them that help me: therefore shall I see my desire upon them that hate me.

It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.

It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.

10 All nations compassed me about: but in the name of the Lord will I destroy them.

11 They compassed me about; yea, they compassed me about: but in the name of the Lord I will destroy them.

12 They compassed me about like bees: they are quenched as the fire of thorns: for in the name of the Lord I will destroy them.

13 Thou hast thrust sore at me that I might fall: but the Lord helped me.

14 The Lord is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.

15 The voice of rejoicing and salvation is in the tabernacles of the righteous: the right hand of the Lord doeth valiantly.

16 The right hand of the Lord is exalted: the right hand of the Lorddoeth valiantly.

17 I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the Lord.

18 The Lord hath chastened me sore: but he hath not given me over unto death.

19 Open to me the gates of righteousness: I will go into them, and I will praise the Lord:

20 This gate of the Lord, into which the righteous shall enter.

21 I will praise thee: for thou hast heard me, and art become my salvation.

22 The stone which the builders refused is become the head stone of the corner.

23 This is the Lord‘s doing; it is marvellous in our eyes.

24 This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

25 Save now, I beseech thee, O Lord: O Lord, I beseech thee, send now prosperity.

26 Blessed be he that cometh in the name of the Lord: we have blessed you out of the house of the Lord.

27 God is the Lord, which hath shewed us light: bind the sacrifice with cords, even unto the horns of the altar.

28 Thou art my God, and I will praise thee: thou art my God, I will exalt thee.

29 O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.

44 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 118

  1. Verse 14 CEV “My power and my strength come from the Lord, and he has saved me.” Psalm 28:7 AMP says “The Lord is my strength and my [impenetrable] shield; My heart trusts [with unwavering confidence] in Him, and I am helped; Therefore my heart greatly rejoices, And with my song I shall thank Him and praise Him.” II Samuel 22:33 CEV says “You are my strong fortress, and you set me free.”

  2. 26. May the one who comes in the name of the LORD be blessed! We will pronounce blessings on you in the LORD’s temple. NET

    Such as invoking the Spirit of Goshen, for one example:
    You will get a raise on your job, and bonus checks, and unexpected blessings; may the blessings of the Lord be upon you; I bless you in the Name of the Lord!

    Genesis 47:27
    And Israel dwelt in the land of Egypt, in the country of Goshen; and they had possessions therein, and grew, and multiplied exceedingly. KJV

  3. 6 The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

    Today I will GO with boldness fearing nothing but the Lord it’s our day our time and the truth needs to be told. When I walked outside yesterday it was so bright to me and it reminded me when I got the Holy Ghost. When I was standing in that alter then finally prayed through I looked down at my hands and they almost seemed new to me. The color was so bright, everything was so bright. I realize everything was brighter because I was living in darkness, I was living sin, I was lost. But like Paul in Acts chapter 9 it was like scales had fell from my eyes and I received the truth immediately. That very day I had to tell everyone and anyone that had never experienced that.

    Today I will GO like I did in the beginning of my walk with God and I will tell anyone and everyone what Jesus has done for me.

  4. 8 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.

    9 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.

    Men can let you down but God will never let you down! Do not put your trust in the things of this world but put your trust in the Lord.

  5. 6 The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

    Absolutely nothing! I fear and reverence only the Lord and as the scripture commands them that do: “His mercy endure the for ever!”

  6. 17 I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the Lord.

    I am alive in Christ! With the lord moving and doing marvelous works, we need to declare his goodness and all his miracles and doings to the non-believer or anyone.With sharing all his works we are building our own FAITH and anyone around us FAITH.I know I’m not the only one that could sit and listen to testimony after testimony.O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: because his mercy endureth for ever. God Bless and have a Jesus filled day!

  7. Merriam Webster definition for Mercy

    a : compassion or forbearance (see forbearance 1) shown especially to an offender or to one subject to one’s power; also : lenient or compassionate treatment

    28 Thou art my God, and I will praise thee: thou art my God, I will exalt thee.

    29 O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.

    This is how I know God has heard me, because I am hard on myself and I was repenting, and I said God every morning I wake up and all I feel is pain all through my body and im tired of hurting, im at the coffee pot and was like pain go away in Jesus name, I was hurting so bad and desperate, and the pain went away! and then I get on here and read 28 and there were more like it but this stood out because 29 followed it up telling me to give thanks because he is good! And his what? His MERCY endureth forever! Mercy is simply Compassion and forberance, so when people say Gods Mercy and grace is new everyday they are saying everyday God is showing us Compassion and Forbearance, Forbearance meaning Patient, self control, restraint, tolerance! GOD YOU ARE AMAZING!

  8. 2 Let all Israel repeat: “His faithful love endures forever.”

    Just like Bishop Foster said, the concert goers repeat and follow Christian habits. They yell, they stand up throughout concert and jump. But we do so to praise our God our creator. We praise/worship God because he loves us and has mercy for us. Unlike an entertainer whom you’ll never meet, whom doesnt care for you.

  9. What Sing Are You Singing
    Psalms 118
    14 The Lord is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.

    I daily find strength in His presence. My Song is He is my Strength He is my salvation. He is my all. I will not sing woe is me! When in the desolate moments of life I still must sing The Lord is my strength and my salvation.

    His Strength is Perfect

  10. iLove to Go Blog
    Psalms 118:1 KJV  O give thanks unto the LORD; for he is good: because his mercy endureth for ever.

    Wow. I just looked up the word “give thanks” in the Strong’s Concordance and look what I found…

    Thanks- H3034
    יָדָה
    yâdâh
    yaw-daw’
    A primitive root; used only as denominative from H3027; literally to use (that is, hold out) the hand; physically to throw (a stone, an arrow) at or away; especially to revere or worship (with extended hands); intensively to bemoan (by wringing the hands): – cast (out), (make) confess (-ion), praise, shoot, (give) thank (-ful, -s, -sgiving).

    The Word is the same Word that is translated to praise in other parts of the Bible. Yadah…Wow. Giving thanks is worship…to me that is a revelation.

  11. 5 I called upon the Lord in distress: the Lord answered me, and set me in a large place.
    6 The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?
    7 The Lord taketh my part with them that help me: therefore shall I see my desire upon them that hate me.

    One of the greatest attacks against us outside of deception, is fear. FEAR means false evidence appearing real..once we understand that by God we are unstoppable, the devil can do nothing to us. He is one less weapon down. David is just pointing out…what can man do to me? What is so bad that it can take me from the love of God. They can not keep us from heaven, they can only wound our flesh and try to kill our spirit, but we decide if that is gonna happen, we decide what goes on in our spirit.

  12. Thank You JESUS, because You are on my side, and You take part with me to help me, I don’t have to fear what man can do to me. I TRUST in You JESUS. You are my Help, my Strength, my Song, and my Salvation.
    Therefore, I will PRAISE Thee, I will EXALT Thee, I will give THANKS unto Thee, for You Are Good and Your MERCY Endures For Ever.

  13. 8 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.

    9 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.

    While we have a certain degree of confidence and trust in those that God has put into our lives we should trust no one more than our God. Upon him we can lay our hurt and sorrow our burdens and our prayers. The bible says ” Cast all your cares on him for he careth for you.

  14. 8 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.

    9 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.

    Put your confidence in God, he will never fail you!

  15. Josiah: 6 The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?
    7 The Lord taketh my part with them that help me: therefore shall I see my desire upon them that hate me.
    8 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.
    If God is for us then who can stand against us? “6 The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?” We serve a God that delivers, a God that can do anything, and a God who we can trust in. God is not like man who can fail you, man are the ones who fail God. So, when we serve the Lord we can have victory over trials and things in life. “8 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.” So, let us GO BOLDLY in Jesus name with confidence in Him! For, “what can man do unto me?” LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD! PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  16. 23 This is the Lord‘s doing; it is marvellous in our eyes.

    24 This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

  17. 6 The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

    This verse reminded me of an a song from days gone by –
    If it had not been for the Lord on my side,
    tell me where would I be, where would I be.

    He Kept My Enemies Away
    He Let The Sun Shine Though A Cloudy Day
    Oh, He Wrapped Me In The Cradle Of His Arms
    When He Knew I’ Been Battered And Torn,
    So…

    [Verse 2:]
    He Never Left Me All Alone
    He Gave Me Peace And Joy I’ve Never Known
    He Answered When I Knelt To Him In Prayer
    And In Victory The Lord Brought Me This Way,

  18. 1 O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: because his mercy endureth for ever.
    2 Let Israel now say, that his mercy endureth for ever.
    3 Let the house of Aaron now say, that his mercy endureth for ever.
    4 Let them now that fear the Lord say, that his mercy endureth for ever.
    14 The Lord is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.

    The enemy may cause us to be in distress, to worry, but never lose faith. His word lets us know that he will never leave or forsake us, but that his mercy endures forever. He is able to bring out of the valley and let us experience the mountain tops of victory! Praise the Lord for he is good.

  19. GO WITH GOD

    8 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.

    I Love you LORD JESUS!

    The fastest path to carnality is to look to and or trust in the flesh or man. Man will not always let you down. However GOD will never let you down. It is not always convenient and comfortable to TRUST in the LORD. However it is always BETTER.

    Choosing the side of man over GOD is never frutiful. The Mercies of the LORD endure forever.

    Our aspirations, desires and motives should always be to please the LORD and not man.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo

  20. Yes, the Lord is for me; he will help me. I will look in triumph at those who hate me. It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in people. It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in princes.
    Psalms 118:7‭-‬9 NLT

    You can not trust people because we are human but you can put you trust because he not human and he made people have no knowledge like God does God is faithful human are not God does not like but human do who Shall I put my trust in the LORD our God

  21. 6 The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

    7 The Lord taketh my part with them that help me: therefore shall I see my desire upon them that hate me.

    8 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.

    9 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.

    Everytime you put all of your confidence in man or woman, they will let you down, they will hurt you and disappoint you and you have to begin again on rebuilding that trust. But if you put your confidence in the Lord, He will never let you down nor forsake you, He will be there to guide you every step of the way! I put my trust in the Lord!

  22. 22 The stone which the builders refused is become the head stone of the corner.
    23 This is the Lord‘s doing; it is marvellous in our eyes.

    This is an awesome example of what would happen to our Lord. Just like the rock was rejected and found to be the prefect rock for the cornerstone. So was our Lord rejected of men and crucified, being the cornerstone of which our entire salvation depends. He was the cornerstone that the builders rejected.

  23. I once heard it pointed out that although this chapter in psalms, which is sandwiched between the shortest and longest chapters of the Bible, is not the center chapter of the Bible, that it’s ninth verse makes for an interesting agreement with the number of chapters in the Bible: 1189. ‘It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.’ The verse prior makes the same declaration of man. How fitting a reminder of the importance of God’s word in our life and the preeminence it should have in our walk with him!

    Although not of spiritual significance, it is easy in this day and age to point to the central verses of the Bible: Psalm 103:1-2 ‘Bless the LORD, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name. Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits.’ How fitting a reminder of praise! That we should bless his holy name with all that is within us! Not only to bless his name, but to remember all his benefits on our life. The passage in this Psalm goes on to remind us of God’s forgiveness and the healing we have of him… powerful reminders of praise!

    Today’s Psalm would agree: ‘The Lord is my strength and song, and is become my salvation. The voice of rejoicing and salvation is in the tabernacles of the righteous: … I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the Lord.’ O let that be my desire! Let it be seen and heard in my praise! Just as these principles are central to his Word, allow them to be central to my life… the continual reminders that keep me grounded in his word and in his love as I daily walk with him. ‘Thou art my God, and I will praise thee: thou art my God, I will exalt thee. O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.’

  24. 9 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.

    Why give glory to any entity but the Almighty God?

  25. Psalm 118:23-24 (English Amp) This is from the Lord and is His doing; it is marvelous in our eyes. (24) This is the day which the Lord has brought about ; we will rejoice and be glad in it. [ Matthew 21:42 ] JESUS asked them, Have you never read in the Sciptures; The very Stone which the builders rejected and threw away has become the Cornerstone; this is the Lord’s doing, and it is marvelous in our eye’s? Act4:11 This ( Jesus) is the Stone which was despised and rejected by you, the builders, but which has become the Head of the corner [ the Cornerstone].This is day the Lord has made and I will rejoice and be glad in it.

  26. 24 This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

    There are many opportunities during the day for us to get discouraged or find fault. The world we live in is wicked and full of trouble. We have all the ingredients that we need to have a bad day, everyday. But…. Gods But is bigger than our But. When you are full of the Holy Ghost it is easy to find a way to be happy. It is easy to find a way to rejoice. God is good whether or not our situation is good. I was talking with an elder tonight and we had the conversation about how attitude meant everything in ministry. You can always find things to point out that are bad but why not find the things to point out that are good. I will never get this day back so I’m going to make it a good one! Praise the Lord for He alone is good!

  27. 14 The Lord is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.
    15 The voice of rejoicing and salvation is in the tabernacles of the righteous: the right hand of the Lord doeth valiantly.
    16 The right hand of the Lord is exalted: the right hand of the Lorddoeth valiantly.
    17 I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the Lord.

    You shall not die, but live.

    Wow, this is a promise. If we will humble ourselves and submit ourselves to God, we live. We will eternally live. When he lives inside of us, we then live like we were ment to live. One with God. The essence of God, his Spirit, inside of us. Just as when he formed man Adam, he breathed the breath of life into him. Young people let’s not waste our time on this earth with the petty things of life. We have too much to do, to tell this world of what God did for humanity. The greatest humanitarian assistance that we can give our world is by sharing the gospel with them. What would the apostials do with this technology that we have today. My thoughts go back to the charge that Bro. Mangun gave our generation. We are released to share this great gospel. So let’s go and share, like, and repost what God is doing in our midst.

    #GODOSOMETHING

  28. 4. Let them now that fear the Lord say, that his mercy endureth for ever.

    It is only by His mercy, that any of us are even able to read these scriptures now, or that we might even know that He exists. Because He is o merciful, we all have a chance to repent, and spend eternity with Him. Thank you Jesus for saving me!!!

  29. It is better to trust in the Lord Than to put confidence in man.
    Psalms 118:8 NKJV

    Herman will always fail because He is human and in the human element there is failure but in God we trust and he will never fail us. We just have to to trust Him and expect Jim to come through

  30. He is my song, strength and salvation…….

    14 The Lord is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.
    ______________________________________________________
    Save Lord, and send prosperity…………….for I come in thy name Jesus Christ!

    25 Save now, I beseech thee, O Lord: O Lord, I beseech thee, send now prosperity.

    26 Blessed be he that cometh in the name of the Lord: we have blessed you out of the house of the Lord.

    “May God be found in his house!”………………………..

  31. 8 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.

    Fear can be a good thing if it’s used properly in reverence to God out of respect and honor. The confusion and wretchedness in which the fear of what men can do can entangles us, is contrasted with the security of one, who not only “fears” the Lord, so as to avoid offending Him, but trusts in Him as his protector and guide.

    Mat 10: 28 says “Don’t be afraid of those who want to kill your body; they cannot touch your soul. Fear only God, who can destroy both soul and body in hell.” This life is temporary and we have to be careful who we trust and what we do with it to serve the kingdom which is eternal. Thank you Jesus for your mercy that leads us to trust and fear only you our Lord and Savior.

  32. Psalm 118:5,6 I called upon the Lord in distress: the Lord answered me, and set me in a large place. The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

    If God is for me , who can be against me!!
    The Lord is on my side! Thank you Jesus!

  33. HIS MERCY ENDURES

    As humans, it is so hard for us to truly understand the Mercy of God because we do not truly understand eternity. The mercy of God extends beyond time and circumstances. If we could grab hold of His mercy and show it towards one another there would be fewer divisions and strife and more love and compassion one for another. It is not enough to see a person and watch them live their life but we must be willing to walk in their shoes before we pass judgment.

    Lord, teach me to show mercy and compassion. I do not accept pity but give me the wisdom to show compassion to my fellow brothers and sisters.

  34. 22 The stone which the builders refused is become the head stone of the corner.

    This is what I call inspired by the Holy Spirit. I don’t know if I have ever said anything that I didn’t understand. David was a prophet and he probably didn’t even realize it.

    The head stone of the corner is what keeps the structure upright. It’s so important that all of the other stones are held up until the head stone is put up.

    Just like out lives, without God it would just fall apart. Even if we try to put it up ourselves we fall short because he is what we need to be complete.

  35. 13 Thou hast thrust sore at me that I might fall: but the Lord helped me.

    14 The Lord is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.

    15 The voice of rejoicing and salvation is in the tabernacles of the righteous: the right hand of the Lord doeth valiantly.

  36. 28 Thou art my God, and I will praise thee: thou art my God, I will exalt thee.

    29 O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.

    Let’s praise the Lord at all times! He’s worthy of our praise!

  37. 8 It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.

    Tía is guaranteed!!!! Even if we may look up to someone spiritually we must still Go to God first in everything!!! We can’t expect for our leaders to solve our every problem and trials but to go to the Lord in our time of need. You are my everything Lord!!!!

  38. “Let them now that fear the Lord say, that his mercy endureth for ever. I called upon the Lord in distress: the Lord answered me, and set me in a large place.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭118:4-5‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    This reminds me of trouble that I have been in. There was a time when I was dying in college. I was on the way home. The roads were wet. My truck hydroplaned and I spun in circles three times in the middle of the street. My truck then went into the ditch. I tried to correct and I went across the road into the opposite ditch. I tried to correct again and I went back across the road and into my ditch again where I stopped. All of this happened on a well traveled but not well populated portion of the road going into a lower portion of the street. If there was incoming traffic, they would not have seen me until it was too late. If there was someone behind me, they would have have seen me until it was too late either. As my truck rested in the ditch of that road, my heart pounding, my hands gripping the wheel, all I could do was thank Jesus. His mercy had saved my life. There were no cars coming in either direction. There were no houses around. There was no cell service to call anyone. I jumped out of the truck to check for damage. After spinning in circles in get middle of he street, going into my ditch, going in the opposite ditch, the going back into my ditch there were only weeds stuck to my truck. I stood in the ditch praise God and a car drove by. I knew that my parents would worry if I was late so I got back into the truck and drove home with no further incidents.

    God is good and his mercies are everlasting.

  39. “his mercy endureth for ever.”

    “The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?”

    The Lord, He is good! Standing on God’s side there is nothing that we can’t face! For when we are on God’s side we don’t have to worry because He holds all power and all strength and all mercy in His hands. Truly we don’t have to fear any situation in life or circumstances we may face when we know we are on God’s side! He loves us and continually shows forth His mercy upon His children! With God ALL things are possible!! Praise the Lord!!

  40. 21 I will praise thee: for thou hast heard me, and art become my salvation.

    22 The stone which the builders refused is become the head stone of the corner.

    23 This is the Lord‘s doing; it is marvellous in our eyes.

    24 This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

    25 Save now, I beseech thee, O Lord: O Lord, I beseech thee, send now prosperity.

    26 Blessed be he that cometh in the name of the Lord: we have blessed you out of the house of the Lord.

    27 God is the Lord, which hath shewed us light: bind the sacrifice with cords, even unto the horns of the altar.

    28 Thou art my God, and I will praise thee: thou art my God, I will exalt thee.

    29 O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.

    Enough said. Thank You Jesus.

  41. 18. God tested me, he pushed me hard, but he didn’t hand me over to death.

    Testing and proving oneself is not always easy or fun. Recently I was tested. It was way out of my knowledge base and comfort zone. I decided that I could do it. I studied and prepared and still could not get things right. I had forgotten the most important part of everything I do – put God first. I repented, asked God to go with me on this journey and started my process over again. This time, with the help of God, everything went smoothly.

    Why does it get so easy to forget the process to success? How many times have I heard, read and studied the concept of keeping His kingdom first? Why do I continue to forget this most crucial step in life? God help me to keep a clearer image of you in my life. All credit is yours – I know this, I just forget to acknowledge it at times.

Leave a Reply

