Psalm Chapter 124

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 2

Psalm 124

If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, now may Israel say;

If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:

Then they had swallowed us up quick, when their wrath was kindled against us:

Then the waters had overwhelmed us, the stream had gone over our soul:

Then the proud waters had gone over our soul.

Blessed be the Lord, who hath not given us as a prey to their teeth.

Our soul is escaped as a bird out of the snare of the fowlers: the snare is broken, and we are escaped.

Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

43 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 124

  1. iLove to Go Blog
    4 Then the waters had overwhelmed us, the stream had gone over our soul:

    5 Then the proud waters had gone over our soul.

    Wow, just this morning as I sit here meditating on this passage of scripture it seems like I finally put it all together….yep, check this out…

    “…When the enemy shall come in like a flood, the Spirit of the Lord shall lift up a standard against him.”
    ‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭59:19‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Wow, now the passages makes more sense when you read both together.

    The Lord will deliver us from the prideful waters 😀

  2. The Lord is covering us he’s protecting us from anyone or anything that stands against us. God has pulled me through the thick and thin, out of situations I would’ve never thought I’d get out of. When you’re living for Jesus and you’re giving it your all Gods gonna reward you every single day by protecting you and blessing you.

    “I don’t know what the world holds today, but I do know who holds the world.”-Pastor

    God bless you all!

  3. Verse 8 AMP “Our help is in the name of the Lord, Who made heaven and earth.” In CEV this chapter is captioned “Thanking the Lord for Victory”, as Pastor said last night…….why is it so hard for us sometimes to believe we are victorious rather than defeated? Just like the song that we sing says:

    No matter what the weapon is
    I want you to know that if
    I won’t doubt he’ll bring me out
    If I obey he’ll make a way
    If I believe I will receive Everything he promised me
    (I win) I win

  4. 2 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:
    3 Then they had swallowed us up quick, when their wrath was kindled against us:
    4 Then the waters had overwhelmed us, the stream had gone over our soul:
    5 Then the proud waters had gone over our soul.
    6 Blessed be the Lord, who hath not given us as a prey to their teeth.

    For the past few nights I have had these incredibly frightening dreams about being attacked and some physical spiritual mental or even legal way, but every time there’s been a protection around me and I did not have the fear I would normally have. God is not going to let us fall if we stay within his arms if we are obedient and staying as close to him as we can then the Lord will continue to preserve us and keep us safe

  5. 7 Our soul is escaped as a bird out of the snare of the fowlers: the snare is broken, and we are escaped.
    8 Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

    “He set me free, yes, He set me free. He broke the bonds of prison for me! I’m glory bound my Jesus to see; glory to God, He set me free!” Thank God for His protection and blessings, even for the times we may not have recognized. God is so good and He is the help I depend on!

  6. Our soul is escaped as a bird out of the snare of the fowlers: the snare is broken, and we are escaped.

    I am declaring that the snare is broken! That souls are now freed from the snares that have kept them bound , trapped, defeated! Let all of Israel declare we are free to GO in the Liberty of the Holy Ghost! There’s millions of people on their way to hell. God saved us for a purpose and it wasn’t to stay silent! Let us get up and GO!

  7. DECLARING OUR FREEDOM

    6 Blessed be the Lord, who hath not given us as a prey to their teeth.
    7 Our soul is escaped as a bird out of the snare of the fowlers: the snare is broken, and we are escaped.
    8 Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

    Recognizing the fact that our help, success and growth comes from the LORD is our first form of Worship to GOD. 1 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, now may Israel say;

    What of our lives if it had not been for the LORD? Where would we be? What would we become? How would we act? How would we live?

    Because of the LORD we can live in Freedom, Victory and Favor.

    MSG
    6 Oh, blessed be God!
    He didn’t go off and leave us.
    He didn’t abandon us defenseless,
    helpless as a rabbit in a pack of snarling dogs.
    7 We’ve flown free from their fangs,
    free of their traps, free as a bird.
    Their grip is broken;
    we’re free as a bird in flight.
    8 God’s strong name is our help,
    the same God who made heaven and earth.

    Thank you JESUS for FREEDOM!

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo

  8. 6. Oh, blessed be God ! He didn’t go off and leave us. He didn’t abandon us defenseless, helpless as a rabbit in a pack of snarling dogs. MSG

    Hebrews 13:5-6
    “…for He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.” KJV

    Matthew 28:20
    Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen. KJV

  9. Psalms 124:1. “IF it had not been the LORD who was on our side, now may Israel say;”
    “IF it had not been the LORD who was on our side,” I think we can all say this.
    Where would any of us be if the LORD hadn’t been on our side? HE is our HELPER, PROTECTOR, DEFENDER, DELIVERER, etc…

    HE Is The GOD Of Our BATTLES!

  10. Psalms 124
    8 Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

    SOS
    A cry for help. There are multitudes of people surrounding us seeking for help.
    They are searching for it in everything the world has to offer. We know the One who can be their help. Are we willing to hear with the ears of God or are we too consumed with our own issues to even hear their SOS. We cannot ignore the cries. We cannot go a day without trying to reach them. We must win the liost at any cost. We will have to make sacrifices to do this. Yet God gave the greatest sacrifice. Yes God has been my help, my refuge now what will I be willing to give back. Souls are dying men are crying will we be willing to lead them to the One who has the answer to their SOS?

    His Strength is Perfect

  11. Let’s GO have Church on this beautiful Sunday morning and celebrating 10 years of coming to the Pentecostals of Fort Worth in Jesus name!

  12. In reading this chapter; it reminded me of a time when I was a wolf among the rabbits. I wasn’t always a nice Person, but I thank God every day for pulling me out of my foolishness. At one point I couldn’t say yes I’m protected from the weapons formed against me: now I can proudly say: No weapon formed against me shall prosper. God has me covered and made me His sheep to go out and transform the mind of the wolves. Thank you Jesus!!!

    Phil. 3:14 I can do all things through him who gives me strength.

  13. 1 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, now may Israel say;

    2 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:

    Hallelujah, I’ve heard this a lot, ” If it had not been for the Lord who was on our side” but I always heard; ” where would I be ” I always thought that, that was the last part of the scripture, It makes sense, If it had not been for the Lord who was on our side, now may israel say, they would have been starved in the wilderness, and probably would have never made it out of Egypt, If it had not been for the Lord who was on our side, when men rose against us: They would be dead. If it had not been for the Lord who was on MY side; Now may Nora say; I would be lost and confused, no hope and no direction, and no desire to live! And I would be a basket case!
    BUT JESUS!

  14. “Praise the Lord, who did not let their teeth tear us apart! We escaped like a bird from a hunter’s trap. The trap is broken, and we are free! Our help is from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭124:6-8‬ ‭NLT‬‬

  15. 1 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, now may Israel say;

    2 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:

    You are not alone, you never were and you never will be!

  16. 7 Our soul is escaped as a bird out of the snare of the fowlers: the snare is broken, and we are escaped.

    We really don’t know everything that God “saves” us from. If we could see our lives for a space of a week and see what God has protected our families from we would be amazed. Too many people don’t recognize the blessings of the Lord, unless they come in monetary form.

    We must begin to recognize each day, all of the blessings of the Lord, be it food on our table, our employment, our health, our wealth, our family, etc. God is good to His children.

  17. We escaped like bird from a hunter’s trap. The trap is broken, and we are free!
    Our help is from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.
    Psalms 124: 7, 8 NLT

    I’m FREE! The Lord has set me free.

  18. This Psalm reminds me of the song, “Jesus I’ll never forget, what you’ve done for me, Jesus I’ll never forget how you set me free”

    A preacher said, “The size of our praise is directly proportional to the magnitude of hell that God took you out of”

    That is why we see David exhort, preach, Praise ye the Lord! Praise Him because of who he is, Praise his for what he has done, Praise him with a shout, Praise him!

  19. 7 Our soul is escaped as a bird out of the snare of the fowlers: the snare is broken, and we are escaped.

    8 Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

    Let’s celebrate because the Lord didn’t just lose the snare so we may be free but BROKE IT, DESTROYED IT!!! Which means it should never be sued again so why do we think we are falling for the same snare NO ITS DESTROYED SO WE ARE FREE!!!! THERE IS ONLY ONE NAME WE NEED TO CALL IN THE MOMENT OF HELP AND THAT IS JESUS CHRIST OUR LORD AND SAVIOR

  20. IF it HADN’T been the LORD where would you be
    If had not been the LORD I would have been a kid on the street doing drugs
    If had not been the LORD I would have been a dropout out of high school just like my other friends
    Oh God if hadn’t been the LORD I would have died for years ago thyroid problems
    If had not been the LORD
    But it was the Lord that I stand living for God in the church for 8years
    It was the Lord you will teach a Bible study and graduate high school and soon college to become a Certified interpreter when I get my new hearing aids
    It was the Lord the the doctor said you have only 2 week s GoD said yes I have a plan for you it’s not over
    It’s God it’s still Good it will always be God he will never change he is I AM alpha omega beginning and the end he is the was I and to come healer protector

  21. 7 Our soul is escaped as a bird out of the snare of the fowlers: the snare is broken, and we are escaped.

    We are free from sin! We already won the battle that is set ahead of us. The enemy is so Ignorant to think he even has a chance! I will declare the lords goodness and victory in the name of Jesus! We fly with the Holy Ghost and power and authority. Thank you Jesus!

  22. Josiah: 8 Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.
    Psalms 33:20 says “Our soul waiteth for the Lord: he is our help and our shield.” God alone is able to save us. He alone is God. For, “Who is like unto the Lord our God, who dwelleth on high,” When we have problems, God is our help. Yet, we should not just seek Him when we have problems. Psalms 34:1 says “I will bless the Lord at ALL times: His praise shall CONTINUALLY be in my mouth.” So, let us GO REJOICE IN, and PRAISE the LORD ALWAYS! LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD! PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  23. I love to worship the Lord
    God suffers the enemies of his people sometimes to prevail very far against them that the power may be seen the more in there deliverance. Happy are the people whose God is Jehovah a God all-sufficient

  24. Proverbs 2 King James Version (KJV)
    1 My son, if thou wilt receive my words, and hide my commandments with thee;
    2 So that thou incline thine ear unto wisdom, and apply thine heart to understanding;
    3 Yea, if thou criest after knowledge, and liftest up thy voice for understanding;
    4 If thou seekest her as silver, and searchest for her as for hid treasures;
    5 Then shalt thou understand the fear of the Lord, and find the knowledge of God.
    6 For the Lord giveth wisdom: out of his mouth cometh knowledge and understanding.
    7 He layeth up sound wisdom for the righteous: he is a buckler to them that walk uprightly.
    8 He keepeth the paths of judgment, and preserveth the way of his saints.
    9 Then shalt thou understand righteousness, and judgment, and equity; yea, every good path.
    10 When wisdom entereth into thine heart, and knowledge is pleasant unto thy soul;
    11 Discretion shall preserve thee, understanding shall keep thee:

    I was so confused earlier and I prayed to God to direct me on the right path. It is amazing when you read the word and it speaks directly to you. You can become confused by people but the truth is in the word. I must listen to God: I can hear him. Sometimes I am confused about whether it is HIm but other times I KNOW it is HIm. I have to pray and listen for understanding. I must continue to seek Him. Part of understanding HIm is understanding what it means to fear the Lord. The Holy Spirit fills your heart and you understand what is right and what is wrong. God will protect you if you are faithful and help you to understand the right way to go.

  25. 1 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, now may Israel say;

    Were would we be without the Lord! Not only that but who would we be without the Lord! Our lives would be in shambles our futures uncertain but by the grace of God he has made us a new creation and gave us a future to look forward to hallelujah!

  26. How many testimonies that we share begin with these same words: ‘If it had not been the Lord who was on our side…’ We should always be willing to give God the praise that is due his name. He intercedes so often, we perhaps lose track, and his strength is always there and available for us to rely upon independent of the need that lies before us. God is there! Where would we be without his strength, without his wisdom, without his guidance and direction upon our life.

    When the enemy lies in wait with his snares to catch us unawares, and that moment comes when he thinks he’s finally caught us alone ands unawares, let us remember these words: ‘Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.’ It is always appropriate to call out in Jesus name! When things are just happening too fast, when the enemy is rushing in and we don’t have time to think it through, just call out on Jesus name! His is a name that is above every other name and there is none beside him… so when you call out in Jesus name, there is no confusion as to who you’re calling. And when we call out to him in need, he is always there to supply! He is a great and mighty God!

  27. Psalm 124:1 (ENGLISH Amp) If it had not been the Lord Who wss on our side , Now may Israel say.I think we all would say Thank you Lord for your grace and mercy for saving us.For protecting us, His deliverance, Defender etc…. God will always be by our side fighting our battles for us. We can’t fight our own without God. It a blessing everyday whether it be food in our house , Blessings for family , Getting a raise on your job, Your health . God has got so much love for every family. We have a lot to thankful for. Thank you Lord for saving me,Without you JESUS in my life I would still be so lost . We all need you Jesus.

  28. Psalm 124

    1 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, now may Israel say;

    2 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:

  29. 2 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:
    3 Then they had swallowed us up quick, when their wrath was kindled against us:

    Where would I be without God? Wow. What a question I don’t want to hsve yo answer. And I don’t because he is with me.

    Young people I have said it many times. Domy leave God. He will never leave or forsake you. You must trust and follow him. As long as you are on the Lord’s side we win. #GODOSOMETHING

  30. Our help is in the name of the Lord , who made heaven and earth.(Psalms 124:8 KJV)

    Our help comes from the lord hes our strength and fortress our strong tower we can count on him to be there for us and deliver us from our enemies. Hes the creator of heaven and earth the king of kings and the Lord of Lords.

  31. Our help

    8 Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

    Situations are sure to come in our lives but when they do where do we look for our help or comfort? The same one that made the heavens and the earth is right by our side, closer than a brother, a help in the time of need. We can’t overlook the only help that has never been defeated. Our help is sure to come because he is always with us.

  32. 2 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:
    3 Then they had swallowed us up quick, when their wrath was kindled against us:

    How true is this, how many times would Israel been defeated if it had not been for the Lord, even from when they took the Land. Where would I be if it was not for the Lord. I praise for all he has done for me and I do not know it all.

  33. 1 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, now may Israel say;

    2 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:

    3 Then they had swallowed us up quick, when their wrath was kindled against us:

    4 Then the waters had overwhelmed us, the stream had gone over our soul:

    5 Then the proud waters had gone over our soul.

    6 Blessed be the Lord, who hath not given us as a prey to their teeth.

    We’re all in the safety of the Lord. There’s no reason to live in fear. We may have to go through some crazy storms, but in the end we have victory.

  34. “If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, ”

    8 Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

    This first verse is a phrase that I have heard so many times in my life. Sometimes this phrase has been associated with hard times that God has brought people through. Or sometimes blessings that He has bestowed upon them. Always the Lord will provide! He is someone to look too and remember that He is our provider! He made all of the heavens and the Earth, that is proof enough that nothing is impossible for God! There is nothing too small and nothing too big for God! All praise and glory be to God!! The one who made heaven and Earth, with Him on our side, we can trust that He will bring us through! Even if it seems impossible for us, with God it is an opportunity to share the goodness and power of God working in our lives!

  35. “If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭124:2‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Many bad things can happen to people because man chooses to rise up against man. When the Lord is on your side it doesn’t matter what the natural odds are that something will occur. God can make a way when there is no way. He can be our guidance. If he is beside us it doesn’t matter what others do or say.

  36. 8 Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

    There is only one name that has all power in heaven and earth. The name of Jesus. Lift up his name let your enemies tremble at his name

  37. 7 Our soul is escaped as a bird out of the snare of the fowlers: the snare is broken, and we are escaped.
    8 Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

    He is our rock and fortress and is our hiding place when we need peace and calm in this world. He never changes-he is the same today.

  38. 1 If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, now may Israel say.

    If it wasn’t for the Lord on out side we would be lost. With Him we are more than conquerors through Christ who loved us (Romans 8:37). Through him is the victory if we didn’t have him we would still be broke busted and disgusted. That is not his will for his children and without him we would be nowhere and have nothing.

Leave a Reply

