Psalm Chapter 129

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs 7

Psalm 129

Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth, may Israel now say:

Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

The plowers plowed upon my back: they made long their furrows.

The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.

Let them all be confounded and turned back that hate Zion.

Let them be as the grass upon the housetops, which withereth afore it groweth up:

Wherewith the mower filleth not his hand; nor he that bindeth sheaves his bosom.

Neither do they which go by say, The blessing of the Lord be upon you: we bless you in the name of the Lord.

42 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 129

  1. 4 The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.

    Oooo the lords outlets do not grow with cords of the wicked, he cut everyone of them out. Jesus is mighty and holy in all is ways. Jesus’ cords floweth with righteousness and grace. He is perfectly great, so I will praise him! Thank you Jesus!

  2. This chapter is captioned in the CEV as “A Prayer for Protection”. Verse 2 CEV says “Since the time I was young, enemies have often attacked! But they have not defeated me,”. Your response will decide your outcome, you can either be defeated when attacked or come back fighting even harder. In the song “I Want It All Back” there is a part that says: “Devil if you only knew what I was gonna be after the storm , You wouldn’t have even bothered me”. Let’s come back as the song continues to say:

    But nowI ‘m) stronger
    (And I got more) power
    (I’m a little bit) wiser
    (And I got more) strength
    (I got thee) anointing
    (Got God’s) favor
    (And we’re still) standing

  3. Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth, yet they have not prevailed against me. If God is for us who can be against us.

  4. GO AND SAY

    8 Neither do they which go by say, The blessing of the Lord be upon you: we bless you in the name of the Lord.

    The scripture declares that those who afflicted did not say “The Blessing of the LORD be upon you: we BLESS you in the name of the LORD”. The revelation is the fact that if they who afflicted me did not say these things. Then those who are with me should say IT!

    The BLESSING of the LORD be upon YOU: I BLESS you in the name of JESUS!

    Today GO and SAY to those who you want GOD to BLESS. Speak these words,

    Text them
    Email them
    Speak them

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo

  5. 2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. Matthew 16:18

    Yesterday the blog was talking about the blessings of those that follow after Him today we understand that in those blessings Satan and his schemes will not prevail over us because we walk in the ways of the Lord!

    You may be thrown under the bus (plow) but it will not harm you it will strengthen you. So, be of good cheer if your walking in the ways of the Lord!

  6. 4 The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.

    Every word that is said against you, or every action that is suppose to affect your spirit. Pray for those people that are against you, we have something they don’t. We have someone to call to in times of trouble. We have someone that will answer every prayer. We know what we can stand next to and lean on as a crutch.
    Not everyone knows about Jesus, not everyone knows of this miraculous being that died for each of us and filled our spirits with his. Jesus was denied by the apostles, denied by many. The people chose a thief, a criminal over him. He still died for our sins. So I challenge each of us to show the love of Jesus, to let his spirit magnetize the lost. To pull each one closer to us so we spread the gospel.
    He’s moving
    And he’s alive!
    God bless you all

  7. 2 they have greatly oppressed me from my youth but they have not gain victory over me.

    Thank you Lord for your word today!

  8. 2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    No matter what the enemy throws at us and tries to hit us with, they will not prevail against us if we do not retreat. Don’t confuse affliction with the possibility of defeat, it’s barely a threat, God allows what he allows and that is the enemy is on a short leash for a short time…a yapping dog to a runaway freight train.

  9. 2. Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    They can afflict me, but they cannot prevail against me; for He is with me!

    Jeremiah 20:11
    But the Lord is with me as a mighty terrible one: therefore my persecutors shall stumble, and they shall not prevail: they shall be greatly ashamed; for they shall not prosper: their everlasting confusion shall never be forgotten.

  10. AMP 4 – The Lord is righteous; He has cut in two the [thick] cords of the wicked [which enslaved the people of Israel].

    The Lord cut the cords of the Israelites who were enslaved as a type and shadow to each of us that those things that enslave us, He will sever the cords as well.

    It is His desire that we all walk in liberty and freedom from bondage.

  11. From my earliest youth my enemies have persecuted me, but they have never defeated me.

    But the Lord is good; he has cut me free from the ropes of the ungodly.
    Psalms 129:2‭, ‬4 NLT
    My God, even in the wild days of my youth when I rejected You, You never gave up on me. You cut me from the bonds, You freed me!!! Thank You, Jesus!!!

  12. From my earliest youth my enemies have persecuted me. Let all Israel repeat this: From my earliest youth my enemies have persecuted me, but they have never defeated me. But the Lord is good; he has cut me free from the ropes of the ungodly.
    Psalms 129:1‭-‬2‭, ‬4 NLT
    My enemies try to bring me down but I am still standing
    My friends call me Holy roll and tell me you in church too much if you only love God the way I if you only see all that he done for me every chance you get you would want to be in his presence

  13. 2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    Offenses and trails will come against us, but not to harm us or brake us. Each storm of life strengthens us and elevates our faith and expectation of God. Being in the middle of a bad situation but declaring victory is how battles are won. Praising God in advance invites God to take the reigns. Though the enemy may be allowed to attack our lives he cannot prevail if we hold fast to Jesus. Trouble don’t last always that’s why we must endure til the end.

  14. Psalms 129:1-2 & 4 (NLT)
    1) From my earliest youth my enemies have persecuted me. Let all Israel repeat this;
    2) From my earliest youth my enemies have persecuted me, but they have never defeated me.
    4) But the LORD is good; he has cut me free from the ropes of the ungodly.

    How true this is. Israel has been hated, afflicted, persecuted, tortured, and murdered by their enemies, YET They Are STILL STANDING, because of the Goodness of God. He has cut them FREE from their enemies.
    We too, as a child of God, will suffer persecution. “Yea, and all that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution.” (2 Tim. 3:12), but we like Paul can say, “But out of them all the Lord delivered me.” (2 Tim. 3:11b.) We’re STILL STANDING!! Because of God’s Goodness to us, and He has Cut and Set Us FREE from our enemies.

    Thank You JESUS that I can say…
    I’m Still Standing!
    I Am Mighty!
    I Am Victorious!

  15. iLove to Go Blog
    “And may those who pass by refuse to give them this blessing: “The Lord bless you; we bless you in the Lord’s name.””
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭129:8‬ ‭NLT‬‬
    This verse sales me that we shouldn’t bless everybody in the name of the Lord. We should reserve the blessings of the Lord for those walking in the will of God. Wow

  16. 2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    3 The plowers plowed upon my back: they made long their furrows.

    4 The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.

    Alot of times in our youth we have been hurt by the ones that we thought were suppose to protect us! In verse three, I understand it this way, When Jesus Died and we repented and got baptized, and received the Holy Ghost, the cords to the sin we lived in have been cut, severed, destroyed, but until we realize it we are still attached to that life that we were in, and are living in, the sad part is sometimes we are not living in the sin, but our selfesteem, our mind, and even our habits are still connected, I love how Sister Watts said it is not Gods desire for any of us to live in bondage, We have to LET IT GO AND BE FREE! I HAVE TO LET IT GO AND BE FREE.

    HE KEEPS ON DOING GREAT THINGS FOR ME!

  17. 2 From my earliest youth my enemies have persecuted me, but they have never defeated me. (NLT)

    Nice try devil, trying to trap the impressionable mind of my youth. The devil failed trying to get me, and I know he’ll fail again. Hang in there youth, the enemy may try to attack but you’re so much stronger and smarter and on top of all that, you have God! Don’t forget verse 4 even though you feel like you’re under persecution: “The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.”

  18. Psalm 129International Children’s Bible (ICB)

    A Prayer Against the Enemies
    A song for going up to worship.

    129 They have treated me badly all my life.
    (Let Israel repeat this.)
    2 They have treated me badly all my life.
    But they have not defeated me.
    3 Like farmers plowing, they plowed over my back,
    making long wounds.
    4 But the Lord does what is right.
    He has set me free from those wicked people.
    5 Let those who hate Jerusalem
    be turned back in shame.
    6 Let them be like the grass on the roof.
    It dries up before it has grown.
    7 There is not enough of it to fill a man’s hand
    or to make into a bundle to fill his arms.
    8 Let those who pass by them not say,
    “May the Lord bless you.
    We bless you by the power of the Lord.”

    GOD IS ALWAYS THERE

    In the midst of adversity, hurts and even being knocked down we have to get back up. God had Israel’s back in other words. He has our backs also. We may get knocked down from time to time but we have to get right back up and know that God is on our side. The opponent is already defeated. We can sing a song of worship each day in praises to God for what He is doing!
    God is always right there with us!

    His Strength is Perfect!

  19. 3 The plowers plowed upon my back: they made long their furrows.
    4 The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.
    5 Let them all be confounded and turned back that hate Zion.

    God turns every weapon formed against us around so that it will not destroy us. He is our strong tower to run into, our shelter from the storms. I speak blessings of salvation and peace upon my sons, that the enemy would not overcome them with affliction, that these men would turn to the compassionate, restoring and mighty God!

  20. Josiah: 2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.
    The righteous prevail. We may GO through trials and there may be persecutions. However Proverbs 12:7 says “The wicked are overthrown, and are not: but the house of the righteous shall stand.” 2 Corinthians 4:9 says we are “Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down; but not destroyed;” We are going to GO through trials, which can get us closer to God, but the righteous prevail. So, let us GO FEARLESSLY and FAITHFULLY through trials and life. LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD. PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  21. 2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    3 The plowers plowed upon my back: they made long their furrows.

    4 The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.

  22. 2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    Though the enemy will come against you and persecute you, with God on your side he cannot have victory over you! I am Victorious!!

  23. 1 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth, may Israel now say:

    2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    The enemy will always attempt to afflict the people of God and destroy us but the enemy will not prevail. We are strong enough to withstand the fiery darts of the wicked “for the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but are mighty through God to the pulling down of strongholds.”

  24. 2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    This is so true; the enemy keeps attacking, but God has done so much for me that I know He is my shield. Why then am I afraid to step out in faith and trust that God knows what He’s doing in my life. If God is for me then who can stand against me. Help me today Jesus to become a better man. To stand for you and your truth. Thank you Jesus!!!!

  25. Well all i can say today is God’s still on His throne. What a mighty God we have and His name Jesus endures w me forever and ever.

  26. 4But the LORD is good; he has cut me free from the ropes of the ungodly.

    While living in the world, we are tied by ropes, chains and even guilt. But we come to know God, you’ll feel the freedom of not being tied down by sin any more. The weight of sin drags you down. But repentance will set you free.

  27. Psalm 129:8 (English Amp) While those who go by do not say, The blessing of the Lord be upon you ! We blessed you in the name of the Lord ! Call them , text theme, Tell your co workers, Your family, Your neighbor’s, Your friend’s, etc. Tell them there blessed in the name of Jesus, With a smile on your face .

  28. Imagine the lowliness of your state in life if ‘Neither do they which go by say, The blessing of the Lord be upon you: we bless you in the name of the Lord.’ To be so opposed to things and people of God that they don’t even bless you as they walk by. It’s almost hard to imagine people being so far opposed to God’s people that our response would reach that point, yet as harsh as that appears, there will come a day when those people will have to stand before the Lord and answer for their actions. Unless they’ve repented before that day, he will not be all that forgiving of their actions to those he has called.

    When I think upon my younger days, it is easy to recall ‘Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.’ It didn’t seem fun at the time to be isolated and even made fun of, yet none of those involved ultimately prevailed against me. I’ve even had the opportunity to bump into some of them in later years and the continued walk with God made an even greater impression.. particularly from someone who was supposed to be ‘smart’ and apparently expected to grow out of such ‘childish’ beliefs. I thank God the heart of a child has not left me, and my prayer for those that may have been part of my trials in younger days is still that they might also need saved! In Jesus name!

  29. 4. The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.
    5 Let them all be confounded and turned back that hate Zion.
    6 Let them be as the grass upon the housetops, which withereth afore it groweth We cannot fear those that that vehemently oppose this truth and will do their best to prevent the spreading of the gospel. Our God has and will always ensure that the wicked do not prevail. We are to take this truth to all that will hear and let God order our steps. He protects us , disrupts the enemy and fights our battles.All for His Glory and His Honour!!!!

  30. Salmo 129:1 Mucho me han angustiado desde mi juventud ,puede decir ahora Israel; 2 Mucho me han angustiado desde mi juventud; más no prevalecieron contra mi.

  31. 8 Neither do they which go by say, The blessing of the Lord be upon you: we bless you in the name of the Lord.

    People against God neither say note receive the blessings of God. But we are blessed to receive the blessings of the Lord every day. And to bless each in his name every service. I am thankful for his blessings we are able to give and receive.

  32. 8 Neither do they which go by say, The blessing of the Lord be upon you: we bless you in the name of the Lord.

    The blessings of the Lord be upon you! We bless you in the name of the Lord!

    Let blessings be in your mouth. Those that cannot bless can only curse. Those that are not blessed are cursed. So everyday our tongue builds someone’s future. Our tongues either take the situation out of the hands of God or put it in his hands. Be careful what you speak that it is always blessings. You will have what you speak.

  33. Salmo 129 Dios no deja que el enemigo cresca encontra de sus hijos y su protección llega a tiempo el es fiel el pelea por nosotros

  34. 2 Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.

    Young people. Give it to God. He is the only constant in this life.
    #GODOSOMETHING

  35. The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.

    God is a righteous God therefore i will be righteous and holy!

  36. Psalm 129:8 Neither do they which go by say, The blessing of the Lord be upon you: we bless you in the name of the Lord.

    Ruth 2:4 And behold, Boaz came from Beth-lehem, and said unto the reapers, The Lord be with you. And they answered him, The Lord bless thee.

  37. 4 The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.

    Praise be to God that fights our battles and provides protection from the enemy.

  38. “Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭129:2‬ ‭KJV

    It is he grace of God that has kept us all. His grace exceeds our thinking and is MORE than enough.

  39. The Lord is righteous: he hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.

    Cleaning out the wicked!

  40. Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me.(Psalms 129:2 KJV)

    God will preserve and protect us who are his children .He watches over us and he sees the attacks of the enemy. With God on our side they will never prevail. He is our source and our strength.

Leave a Reply

