Psalm Chapter 137

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 15

Psalm 137

By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion.

We hanged our harps upon the willows in the midst thereof.

For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion.

How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

If I forget thee, O Jerusalem, let my right hand forget her cunning.

If I do not remember thee, let my tongue cleave to the roof of my mouth; if I prefer not Jerusalem above my chief joy.

Remember, O Lord, the children of Edom in the day of Jerusalem; who said, Rase it, rase it, even to the foundation thereof.

O daughter of Babylon, who art to be destroyed; happy shall he be, that rewardeth thee as thou hast served us.

Happy shall he be, that taketh and dasheth thy little ones against the stones.

38 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 137

  1. Psalms 137:4 (AMP)
    “How can we sing the LORD’s song in a strange and foreign land?”

    Sometimes the cares of life weigh people so down that they loose their song. But no matter what we are going through or how we feel, we just have to do as David did and encourage ourselves in the LORD.
    Eph. 5:19-20 says… 19) Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the LORD; 20) Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    Singing always makes you feel better.
    GO Sing

  2. 5 If I forget thee, O Jerusalem, let my right hand forget her cunning.

    These words remind me of a song “never, never forget! ” we refuse to forget what God has done for us! “He’s done so much for me, I cannot tell it all.” Thank God for his marvelous works in our lives.

  3. Verses 4-6 NKJV “How shall we sing the Lord’s song In a foreign land? If I forget you, O Jerusalem, Let my right hand forget its skill! If I do not remember you, Let my tongue cling to the roof of my mouth—If I do not exalt Jerusalem Above my chief joy.” Let us never forget what the Lord has done for us as one of the songs that we sing in church says:

    Jesus I’ll never forget, what you’ve done for me
    Jesus I’ll never forget, how you set me free
    Jesus I’ll never forget, how you brought me out
    Jesus I’ll never forget, nooo nev-er

    So many things, circumstances, or issues may arise that can bring us down, both physically and spiritually; but, we cannot allow these things to let us forget all of the positives……for this is how we GO and GROW.

  4. Josiah: 8 O daughter of Babylon, who art to be destroyed; happy shall he be, that rewardeth thee as thou hast served us.
    “rewardeth thee as thou hast served us.” We reap what we sow. Even if people turn their backs on God and the world starts to take over their life God can still save them. However God may still let us go through the trial so that we can be molded some. But, if we stay faithful to God we can continue reaping what we sow and be blessed. Psalms 119:1 says “Blessed are the undefiled in the way, who walk in the law of the Lord.” So let us GO FAITHFULLY and continue to GrOw in the Lord! Let’s reap what we sow. LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD. PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  5. Salmo-137:1 al 3 Junto a los ríos de Babilonia, Allí nos sentábamos, y aún llorábamos , Acordándos de Sion. 2 Sobre los sauces en medio de ella Colgamos nuestras arpas. 3 Y los que nos habían llevado cautivos nos pedían que cantasemos , Y los que habían desolado nos pedían alegría , diciendo: Cantadnos algunos de los cánticos de Sion.

  6. 4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    I’ve heard it said and even experienced it myself: when I don’t feel like praising that’s when I should make the most effort to because that’s when I most need to. As someone once said, “Faith it til you make it!” Just remember that every praise belongs to God so even when you’re faithin’ it, make sure it’s all to the glory of the Lord.

  7. iLove to Go Blog
    Psalms 137:7-9 KJV Remember, O LORD, the children of Edom in the day of Jerusalem; who said, Rase it, rase it, even to the foundation thereof. (8) O daughter of Babylon, who art to be destroyed; happy shall he be, that rewardeth thee as thou hast served us. (9) Happy shall he be, that taketh and dasheth thy little ones against the stones.

    We must be careful how we talk about the church. The Jerusalem of the Old Testament is the Church of the New Testament. Those who try to destroy the Church may as well be destroying their own children. Let’s build up the Church thereby we will build up our children.

  8. 3 For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion.

    4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    Why didn’t they sing? Praise the Lord when you get Goshen, praise the Lord when you get a flat tire. Isn’t that how it goes? It’s about pushing through and getting to the next level. We need to see ourselves going one direction with God and that’s advancing! We’re gonna be placed in situations where we feel like we’re losing or have lost it all, these are test from the Lord. Remember when our flesh is battling against our Spirit it’s a good thing because our spirit is trying to GrOw. So when the comes to you and you don’t feel like singing one of those happy songs of the Lords….do it anyway because God loves you! And Hod is gonna bless you! Now GO in Jesus name and have a bless day.
    I bless you in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ!

  9. 6 If I do not remember thee, let my tongue cleave to the roof of my mouth; if I prefer not Jerusalem above my chief joy.
    7 Remember, O Lord, the children of Edom in the day of Jerusalem; who said, Rase it, rase it, even to the foundation thereof

    Let us never forget the Miry clay that we were built from, the hell that we were on our way to that God pulled us out from. Let us never forget how enslaved we were by sin. Lettuce always keep in mind the things that God delivered us from and how grateful we should be. in the book of Galatians Paul addresses the church for being arrogant because they started off in the spirit and we’re fooled into believing that they would be perfected by the flesh. There is NO righteousness in us…only in the God we serve. It’s easy to build up our pride with self righteous when we forget where we came from.

  10. KEEP GOING

    1 By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion.
    2 We hanged our harps upon the willows in the midst thereof.
    3 For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion.
    4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    Discouragement is a Kingdom reality and an endtime challenge. However, I encourage each of us to prayerfully consider the condition and regret of those that Quit their Quest, Dropped out of their Destiny, Stopped on their Street.

    They just stopped, sat down, stopped caring, quit sacrificing, no more giving, silenced their song and squelched their praise.

    Then.

    They were carried away captive. If you woke up today and are discouraged, disappointed or disengaged, I BLESS you in the name of the LORD JESUS with this WORD from GOD.

    KEEP GOING

    If you quit now, you will be captive to Babylon (the world) and they will expect your talents but only to use you. KEEP GOING in JESUS where the BLESSINGS of GOD flow, even in discouraging and disappointing times. Keep singing, keep dancing, keep giving, keep praying, keep praising, keep reaching, KEEP GOING for JESUS.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo
    iBlessYouInTheNameofTheLordJESUS

    • Thank you for that. 🙂 It’s a beautiful Pslam and I nearly missed this important message. My mind became closed when I read the last line in the Pslam. I’m still not exactly sure what it means but it doesn’t really matter. When I open my mind and seek the truth, God allows me to hear His voice.

  11. The song Jesus I’ll Never Forget What You’ve Done for Me comes to mind. He’s done so much for me I cannot tell it all. We serve an amazing God and he died for our sins so that we can have eternal life.

  12. 3 For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion.

    4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

  13. 4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?
    5 If I forget thee, O Jerusalem, let my right hand forget her cunning.

    This is when we must do as David did, and encourage ourselves in the Lord. Count our many blessings and realize that he has an expected end for each of us:
    Jeremiah 29:11 (KJV)
    11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

  14. 4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?
    Every praise belong to God something we get this image that some people don’t deserve to be blessed and that pretty much what I see in this chapter but if we want the Harvest we have to plant the seed we have to go out and find the seed plant it and keep it in care because if we leave that plant uncared it will deid that just like us we are the plant we need to be refilled with the Holy Ghost every single day all the time because if we don’t we are just a plant waiting to died
    Let go share God Gospel

  15. A tragic example of loss we don’t have to experience ourselves. God gave Israel so many opportunities to repent and yet they continued to pursue after their own desires, which often correlated with the world around them rather the set apart vessel God desired. It wasn’t until they had lost the blessings of Zion that they truly appreciated what God had provided for them and by then it was just too late… for the Bible clearly declares there is an end even to the patience of God and they passed that point as a nation. We don’t ever want to reach that point ourselves when the blessings of God are beyond our reach.

    We need to allow our first love to remain focused on God! It is of the mercies of God that we are not consumed, but his patience is not something that needs testing. Pharaoh hardened his heart one too many times before God made the decision for him… those final plagues came as God hardened his heart for him. We don’t want God to give us over to our own deceptions, we want his hand to gently change our heart from within so our desires are in line with his… to gradually become more and more like him. When he remains our first love, when his will remains foremost in our daily walk, we will reach that point one day when he says, enter in thou good and faithful servant… and heaven will finally be our home!

  16. 1 By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion.
    2 We hanged our harps upon the willows in the midst thereof.
    3 For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion.
    4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    Rejoice not oh my enemies.
    Young people we must remember what the Lord has done for us. We cannot forget it. Even when we think that all hope is lost. GOD is always with us. Trust in him and he will direct your path.
    #GODOSOMETHING

  17. Psalm 137:4(English Amp) How shall we sing the Lord’s song in a strange land? This reminds me a song , Jesus I never forget what you done for me JESUS I never forget how you set free, No never. Thank you Jesus .

  18. I Love To Worship The Lord
    Grief Untold
    This Psalm communicates sense of anguish o deep hat it cannot be expressed even I the familiar musical lament. The psalmist tells of exiles tears and of their poignant memories of Jerusalem. The psalm ends with an appeal to God to repay those responsible for Zions fall.

  19. By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion. We hanged our harps upon the willows in the midst thereof. For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion. How shall we sing the Lord’s song in a strange land?
    Psalms 137:1‭-‬4 KJV

    Oh how to sing in a strange land; for me that would be the world. I don’t care what the world thinks. When God puts a song in my heart: I will sing it to praise Him. I’m not here to please the world, but to bring God to those who seek Him and what better way to reach them; I’d not through a song.God is good all the time and He is awesome.

  20. Keep on Singing

    Psalms 137
    4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land

    We have to keep on singing no matter where we find ourself.
    We have to keep take up our hearts and nit hang them in the willow trees.
    We must continue to praise,pray,percerfere in the midst of adversity and the challenges of this world. Strange land,strange situations our God must be exalted.
    We shall sing with exburence and with love that’s how we will sing in the strange land!

    His Strength is Perfect

  21. Psalm 137:4 msg
    Oh, how could we ever sing God’s song in this wasteland? Jerusalem, let my fingers wither and fall off like leaves. Let my tongue swell and turn black if I fail to remember you, if I fail , O dear Jerusalem, to honor you as my greatest

    Psalm 59:16 But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.

  22. 4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    I will sing his praises wherever I go, in front of everyone and when I’m alone at my house, because I’m not singing for other people, I’m singing for God, the one who deserves all of my praises!

  23. 1 By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion.

    2 We hanged our harps upon the willows in the midst thereof.

    3 For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion.

    4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    No matter what the circumstances may be don’t give up you praise and don’t hang up your instrument of praise and worship unto God. Don’t let.anything from this world take your praise. Keep praising in the midst of trials in the midst of trouble and pain keep praising. Praise your way through and allow God to move in your behalf.

  24. No matter what happens, we can always remember those good times, those times of praise and spiritual blessings in our lives. David says, “how can we sing the Lord’s song in a strange land?” Although, there may come a time when we can not freely worship as we can now, we can always look back and remember these times. Even  now we can always look back and remember what God has done for us! How much He has brought us through! And remember that His hand is always there right beside us, to guide us and lead us through the tough times and through the good times. We can always praise God no matter what!! We can always sing unto God and bless His Name! Praise the Lord for His goodness! Praise the Lord for His mercy endureth forever!

    The Lord Jesus bless you!

  25. 4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    Your testimony is for two things, the first is mixed with the blood of Jesus it defeats the enemy.
    The second is to win the lost. The lost most of the time live in a different atmosphere and lifestyle than we do. When we give our testimony or song in the world it does both things it was designed to do. Our song is more important in the strange land than it is in the sanctuary.

  26. 4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    When things come against us, we might think that we are in a strange land and not be able to praise the Lord the same but no matter what comes we are HIS CHILD!!! We have to be strong and keep praising, worshiping, keep fighting, keep pushing, and keep singing. The Lord is my strength and my rock! I will not let the things of this world consume me!!!

  27. 5 If I forget thee, O Jerusalem, let my right hand forget her cunning.p
    6 If I do not remember thee, let my tongue cleave to the roof of my mouth; if I prefer not Jerusalem above my chief joy.

    It’s one thing to sing “Jesus I’ll never forget…” yet it’s often a challenge for some to live out the song. We must do more than not for get what He’s done but we must allow the memory to drive us to service for Him. Drive us to prayers if intersession and to action

  28. 8 O daughter of Babylon, who art to be destroyed; happy shall he be, that rewardeth thee as thou hast served us.

    The Lord is our avenger, we are victorious. Rest assured that the enemy has been defeated. God has our back Trust in him no matter the situation.

  29. 1 By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion.

    Let’s obey the voice of God and let’s listen the first time He speaks to us. If we choose to disobey and continue to disobey, our punishment for our sin will not only affect us but everyone around us.

  30. “If I forget thee, O Jerusalem, let my right hand forget her cunning. If I do not remember thee, let my tongue cleave to the roof of my mouth; if I prefer not Jerusalem above my chief joy.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭137:5-6‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    If I don’t remember the goodness of God and all he has done for me, let me have a full wake up call. It is everytting that is within me that God has done for me. He is everything. If I can’t remember him and all he has done, I have lost everything.

  31. This whole scripted was a prophetic word to me. Back in high school. Which most of y’all don’t even know. I still remember your words God. And I still remember your promises. They keep me going.

    I will preach this one day.

  32. 4 How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    Where ever. When ever. In the hood or in Africa Jesus our God is the same! His song is worthy to be sung where ever no matter what. His protection reigns over us with power and authority. Fear is not of The Lord. Thank you Jesus!

  33. How shall we sing the Lord‘s song in a strange land?

    When we go thru things we must remember to always keep a song in your heart. Ask God for peace that passeth all understanding and wisdom too keep holding unto to God word no matter who we we are , where we are God will bring us out.

  34. 8 O daughter of Babylon, who art to be destroyed; happy shall he be, that rewardeth thee as thou hast served us.

    The Lord is our vengeance. When he allows judgment on his people for their sins he also punishes those whom are harsh to them. He will avenge the Israelites. He will also avenge us of our enemies.

  35. PsaIm 137

    1 By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion.
    3 For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion.

    Seeing this I am reminded of a book I read where it said by faith the men of faith saw into the future. Here is proof of it for David was not alive when Israel was carried into Babylon, but here he is singing PsaIms of the pain they will go through. God is great, and i thank him for opening my eyes to this part of David’s life I did not see before.

Leave a Reply

