Psalm Chapter 141

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 19

Psalm 141

Lord, I cry unto thee: make haste unto me; give ear unto my voice, when I cry unto thee.

Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.

Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

Incline not my heart to any evil thing, to practise wicked works with men that work iniquity: and let me not eat of their dainties.

Let the righteous smite me; it shall be a kindness: and let him reprove me; it shall be an excellent oil, which shall not break my head: for yet my prayer also shall be in their calamities.

When their judges are overthrown in stony places, they shall hear my words; for they are sweet.

Our bones are scattered at the grave’s mouth, as when one cutteth and cleaveth wood upon the earth.

But mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute.

Keep me from the snares which they have laid for me, and the gins of the workers of iniquity.

10 Let the wicked fall into their own nets, whilst that I withal escape.

45 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 141

  1. Verses 3-5 MSG “Post a guard at my mouth, God, set a watch at the door of my lips. Don’t let me so much as dream of evil or thoughtlessly fall into bad company. And these people who only do wrong—don’t let them lure me with their sweet talk! May the Just One set me straight, may the Kind One correct me, Don’t let sin anoint my head. I’m praying hard against their evil ways!” As Pastor said in his blog yesterday “Relationship” – Do we inquire of the Lord in everything that we do? Lord I pray that you be in the midst of it ALL…..every thought, every word, every step and every action that I take, let it be in you!

    Let my eyes be focused on you Lord as Hebrews 12:2 CEV says “We must keep our eyes on Jesus, who leads us and makes our faith complete. He endured the shame of being nailed to a cross, because he knew that later on he would be glad he did. Now he is seated at the right side[a] of God’s throne!”

  2. Let my prayer be set forth before the as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice. Praise God.

  3. Psalms 141:3-4
    3) Set a watch, O LORD, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.
    4) Incline (feel willing or a tendency to do something) not my heart to any evil thing, to practice wicked works with men that work iniquity: and let me not eat of their dainties.

    The scripture that came to mind as I read this was St. Luke 6:45, “A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good: and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth for that which is evil; for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.”

    This must be why David prayed “Set a watch before my mouth and keep the door of my lips and don’t let my heart have any willingness or tendencies to do any evil thing,” because he knew that whatever was in his heart came out of his mouth.

    Life and death are in the power of the tongue.
    Good treasures of the heart brings Life.
    Evil treasures of the heart brings Death.

  4. 1 Lord, I cry unto thee: make haste unto me; give ear unto my voice, when I cry unto thee.
    2 Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.
    3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    Despite whether we think our cries are heard everytime, we can take comfort knowing that God does hear us even during those times. In those times when it’s difficult to pray and lift our hands in surrender we can trust Know that God still honors our sacrifice of praise.

  5. SALMO 141:2-3-4 A ti clamo, Señor; ven pronto a mí.
    ¡Atiende a mi voz cuando a ti clamo!
    Que suba a tu presencia mi plegaria
    como una ofrenda de incienso;
    que hacia ti se eleven mis manos
    como un sacrificio vespertino.
    Señor, ponme en la boca un centinela;
    un guardia a la puerta de mis labios.
    No permitas que mi corazón se incline a la maldad,
    ni que sea yo cómplice de iniquidades;
    no me dejes participar de banquetes
    en compañía de malhechores.

  6. mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute.
    9 Keep me from the snares which they have laid for me, and the gins of the workers of iniquity.
    10 Let the wicked fall into their own nets, whilst that I withal escape.

    Psalm 91:1-16

    He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with his pinions, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness is a shield and buckler. You will not fear the terror of the night, nor the arrow that flies by day, …Amen

  7. Let the godly strike me!
    It will be a kindness!
    If they correct me , it is soothing medicene.
    Don’t let me refuse it.
    Spalms 141: 5 NLT

  8. iLove to Go Blog
    3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    4 Incline not my heart to any evil thing, to practise wicked works with men that work iniquity: and let me not eat of their dainties.

    5 Let the righteous smite me; it shall be a kindness: and let him reprove me; it shall be an excellent oil, which shall not break my head: for yet my prayer also shall be in their calamities.

    Wow, that is an awesome display of humility! King David expresses his desire to be holy before God. He even encourages the righteous to correct and reprove him.

    This should be our prayer church. We should give pastor the permission (like David did) to correct us. This correction is like excellent oil that shall not “break my head”. God is not trying to destroy us, but to protect our minds. 🙂

  9. Psalms 141
    3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    This takes a lot of practice in allowing God to keep.our mouths.
    The reason He chose the evidence of speaking in tongues was that no mam can tame their own tongue. So what a better a way than to take control of our tongue as the ennitial sign of His Spirit.
    Words are like the tube of toothpaste you can’t put the paste back into the tube.
    Words can wound and even destroy a relationship sometimes beyond repair unless both parties allow God to heal. Today even the written, texting has become the new language and so much easier to destroy someone. You can write it and feel ok ,and then not only has it wounded one person but a great chain reaction takes place. We Must Allow God To set a watch over our mouth,we must practice daily ,
    If we say something we shouldn’t say we can immediately say I’m sorry or I shouldnt have said that. As the recipient of what us being said we can except the apology ,we can agree they should not have said it or we can be sympathetic.
    Being sympathetic just is not the answer. We must build one another up in faith, we must be examples to one another. So this day Lord I pray that the words of my mouth will be acceptable unto You and You will guard my lips. Let me practice speaking about your love and not speaking the faults I may see in someone else help me to look inward and to lift up. Let me think before I speak. In Jesus Name.
    Easier said than done but with God all things are possible.
    His Strength is Perfect

  10. GO PRAY

    2 Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.
    3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    The psalmist petition to the LORD is clear and candid. In perilous times in our lives it is convenient to fall into complaint and poverty mentality even in our prayer. The petition from the psalmist is that his prayer would be incense before the LORD.

    Incense – a pleasing scent: pleasing attention : flattery

    The prayer of David was for his prayer time to be a time of worship to GOD and not a season of complaint about challenges or hardships. The desire of the psalmist is that he would be so protective of his prayer that he requested a “Guard” for his mouth and a “keeper” for his lips.

    May the LORD JESUS guide us in our prayers that we are committed to Kingdom Prayers and heartfelt worship in faith for our future and against our adversaries.

    We accomplish much more in prayer when we speak for GOD and HIS Kingdom rater than speak against satan and his kingdom.

    It is very tempting to slip into complaint mode and pity party attitude when we pray against the adversary, however it is natural to build and grow our FAITH in GOD when we pray for the favor and blessings of GOD on our lives and those we love.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo
    iBlessYouInTheNameOfTheLordJESUS

  11. …in thee is my trust…

    We cannot trust someone we don’t know, and that is the secret of trusting God. When someone says, “Trust me,” we have one of two reactions. Either we can say, “Yes, I’ll trust you,” or we can say, “Why should I?” We learn to trust God when we have a stronger relationship with him.

    Should we trust in ourselves? Should we trust in others? People are sinful, unpredictable and unreliable. We have limited wisdom, and frequently make bad decisions and are often persuaded by emotion. Or do we trust in the all-wise, all-knowing, all-powerful, gracious, merciful, loving God who has good intentions for us? The choice should be obvious, but we fail to trust God because we don’t know Him. We cannot hope to trust in someone who is a stranger to us.

    When life gets messy, it’s natural for us to get stressed. Or angry. Or bitter. Especially when life takes a turn we didn’t expect – a broken engagement, the loss of a spouse, the diagnosis of cancer, the death of a dream. The alternative to trust is stress. And stress kills, literally. Life consists of messes. They are not always because we have done something wrong. Sometimes they just happen. And often He allows it because He wants to draw us into a deeper relationship with Him and show us something new. Those are the things that make our messes meaningful – they draw us closer to our Savior. I love how James 1:2-3 tells us to “consider it all joy” when we encounter various trials, knowing the testing of our faith produces endurance. “And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing”

  12. 3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.
    4 Incline not my heart to any evil thing, to practise wicked works with men that work iniquity: and let me not eat of their dainties.
    Keeping our eyes away from the things of this world that will harm our soul takes more than just our human will. It takes a submission to God and a love for that which is of God. When we submit our will to Him and let him lead and guide our steps, guard our thoughts, our words, and our actions; we are letting Jesus keep us from the snares that can destroy our souls.

  13. 8 But mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute.

    9 Keep me from the snares which they have laid for me, and the gins of the workers of iniquity.

    10 Let the wicked fall into their own nets, whilst that I withal escape.

    If we keep our eyes upon God and trust him with EVERYTHING, he will help us, he will lead us to victory, we wont fall for the snares that the enemy has laid out for us because we will have God guiding our every foot step! God loves us and he dont want us to fall, he is always helping us, but we need to trust him, we need to reach out and grab a hold of his hand and hold on, because when God is in charge we will make it!
    iblessyouinthenameoftheLord
    im copying after my Pastor!

  14. O Lord , I am calling to you. Please hurry! Listen when I cry to you for help! Accept my prayer as incense offered to you, and my upraised hands as an evening offering. Don’t let me drift toward evil or take part in acts of wickedness. Don’t let me share in the delicacies of those who do wrong.
    Psalms 141:1‭-‬2‭, ‬4 NLT
    http://bible.com/116/psa.141.1-4.NLT

    As I read this chapter; it reminded me of a time when I sat at the enemies table every night. I would consume all that was put before me. Now I’d rather starve than touch one piece of what the advasery has to offer. Lord guard my mind and heart from that of the world. Guard my lips and set a watch before my heart.

    And when he had taken the book, the four beasts and four and twenty elders fell down before the Lamb, having every one of them harps, and golden vials full of odours, which are the prayers of saints.
    Revelation 5:8 KJV
    http://bible.com/1/rev.5.8.KJV

    And another angel came and stood at the altar, having a golden censer; and there was given unto him much incense, that he should offer it with the prayers of all saints upon the golden altar which was before the throne. And the smoke of the incense, which came with the prayers of the saints, ascended up before God out of the angel’s hand.
    Revelation 8:3‭-‬4 KJV
    http://bible.com/1/rev.8.3-4.KJV

    He that keepeth his mouth keepeth his life: but he that openeth wide his lips shall have destruction.
    Proverbs 13:3 KJV
    http://bible.com/1/pro.13.3.KJV

    Whoso keepeth his mouth and his tongue keepeth his soul from troubles.
    Proverbs 21:23 KJV
    http://bible.com/1/pro.21.23.KJV

  15. Dios escucha nuestras oraciones y nos libra de nuestros enemigos que quieren cautivar nuestras almas clamemos al señor en Orasion y el extenderá su mano de justicia y bueno es escuchar la represion del justo

  16. 3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    4 Incline not my heart to any evil thing, to practise wicked works with men that work iniquity: and let me not eat of their dainties.

    Have you ever someone pray, “have your way with me Lord” or “allow me to see with your eyes, speak with your lips, hear with your ears.”
    I believe this is where it comes into play davids asking for the same thing, to this day we still ask just like David. We’re asking for the blood of Jesus to be over us and for his presence to be revealed through us. I love it when I hear people pray this cause I know God answers prayers and I’m about to get front row seats with the man himself. Like pastor I too don’t wanna miss church because I can’t wait to see what Gods gonna do that day.

    I bless you in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ

  17. 3 Take control of what I say, O Lord, and guard my lips.
    4 Don’t let me drift toward evil or take part in acts of wickedness. Don’t let me share in the delicacies of those who do wrong.
    5 Let the godly strike me! It will be a kindness! If they correct me, it is soothing medicine. Don’t let me refuse it. But I pray constantly against the wicked and their deeds. (NLT)

    Not many would pray God take control and let Your people correct me, but we should. Correction isn’t to hurt and delay but to restore and guide us closer to God. I’d say it has to do with pride; as humans we want to put our hands on everything and show that we’ve done it on our own. Really though, we need, as this chapter says, for God to control our words, as well as, the leaders and authorities in our lives to correct us and guide us.

  18. 3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    The power of life and death are in the tongue. We will give an account for every thing we say and do and that great day of judgement. We must learn to bridle our tongue, so that what we say doesn’t lead us in a negative, wrong direction.

    Guarding our thoughts is the first step in guarding our mouth. If we don’t allow negative thoughts to have a place in our minds, then they can never come out our mouth.

    Whatsoever things are true, just and of good report…..think on these things.

  19. Don’t let me drift toward evil or take part in acts of wickedness. Don’t let me share in the delicacies of those who do wrong.
    Psalms 141:4 NLT

    Not my words but your words let me speak life and not dark let me speak good and not bad let me say what you want me to say

  20. 8 But mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute.

    We look unto the hills from whence cometh our help, our help cometh from the Lord. Whoever puts their trust in God will not be ashamed and God will not let them down or leave them destitute.

  21. 3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    Oh God I need you! I want my words and actions to praise you! Your are the guard to my mind and lips. I want your spirit to guide me in all things. Lord my mind is attacked, but you I need daily. The enemy will flee when he finds out what I’m gonna be after this storm! Thank you Jesus!

  22. 3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    Oh God I need you! I want my words and actions to praise you! Your are the guard to my mind and lips. I want your spirit to guide me in all things. Lord my mind is attacked, but you I need daily. The enemy will flee when he finds out what I’m gonna be after this storm! Amen

  23. 3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    Lord help me keep my tongue in anger and in humor, help me to say things that please you instead of blurting out whatever comes to mind.

    Whatch your mouth and think of the consequences before you say something. Even if your trying to be funny, but especially if your angry, because more times than not ,if you don’t ,you’ll find your self in a bad place with that person and with God.

  24. 8 But mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute. The first part “But mine eyes are unto thee” I think means that he is focused on god .And as the verse goes on he said he put his trust in God and so at the end he asks to not leave him poor with God.

  25. 2 Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.

    Prayer And Praise

    Can prayer become a praise? If we read here yes it can. Burning incense was a type of praise to God in the Old Testament. So when we ask that our prayers become an incense to God. We are asking them to become a praise. When we praise we speak. And when we pray we speak. So it just makes sense that our prayers should be apart of our Praise to the Most High.
    Young People. Having a prayer life is one of the biggest keys to our walk with God. It’s not the only thing, but it is a big part of it. Praise is also A big Part as well. So we must make sure that we have communication with the Heavenly Father. #GODOSOMETHING by praying and praising God.

  26. 8 But mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute.

    If you keep your focus on God and put your trust in Him, then he will provide everything you need!!

  27. Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    Jesus keep the door of my lips, close my mouth of things I shouldn’t say and let me bless bless and bless. I need you daily Lord, I need your glory! I want to talk how you talk and always be a blessing to others Lord!!!

  28. 2 Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.

    3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    4 Incline not my heart to any evil thing, to practise wicked works with men that work iniquity: and let me not eat of their dainties.

    An honest prayer to guard your walk with God. Pray the word and utilize some scripture. The psalmist is sincere and truthful. Ask God to guide your going and to keep you from evil ways and companies. Pray using the word

  29. Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    Your mouth can get you in a lot of trouble. Bridling your own tongue is one thing but when God has control over it is totally different. This is why the Bible calls your tongue the unruly member and it is the same reason Hod chose the tongue to display his Spirit. If God has control over your tongue, the rest of you will fallow. Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. This is why we ought to say Jesus more than any other word in our vocabulary. If he’s in our heart, He will come out.

  30. 2 Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.

    Guide my prayers, LORD. As I GO PRAY, help me to keep watch for those you have placed in my life and the souls of this region. I bless Your Holy Name.

  31. 1 Lord, I cry unto thee: make haste unto me; give ear unto my voice, when I cry unto thee.

    2 Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.

    3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

  32. 3 Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    It’s so easy to read this verse and think yes I should pray for this. Yes, this type of prayer comes with the high price also known as accountability.

    In order for God to keep the door of our lips that means He will hold us accountable.

  33. 9 Keep me from the snares which they have laid for me, and the gins of the workers of iniquity.

    Praying against my enemy

    We pray for help to ease suffering or to receive pain, but we never pray against the devil himself. Everything from sickness to emotional distress is the oppressive attack of the enemy.

    We need to war against the enemy of our lives. And take the authority we have in Christ to make the enemy flee.

  34. 4. Incline not my heart to any evil thing, to practise wicked works with men that work iniquity: and let me not eat of their dainties.

    Lord let me not buy into the things that people say when they are saying things that we should not hear. Lord help me to not devour the bad things that tickle my ears.

  35. You know being an Officer, it is good having the Almighty God as your backup! He’s our refuge and our safe harbor from the storm and he hates evil. So, cry unto to him and watch and pray!

    “Pray”…………

  36. Josiah: 8 But mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute.
    “But mine eyes are unto thee…” When our eyes are on the Lord, we do not need to worry. For with God all things are possible. When we put all our trust in the Lord physical limits do not apply. When keep are eyes on the Lord we could spiritually, and physically, GO places and do things we could not do in our own. Peter was able to walk on water when he stayed focused on God. However when he looked away he started sinking.So let us GO FOCUSED with our eyes on the Lord. LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD! PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  37. 3 Set a watch, O Lord , before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    8 But mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute.

    Thank you Lord for always being there for me! For always being there to look to for guidance, for direction in this life. As David in this psalm I want to be sure that I am always looking to God for everything. As Pastor Watts said tonight, I should be praying before everything I do, before what I say, so that I can GO and know that He is directing my steps! If God is before everything I do, and I listen to what He would have me to do, then He can mold and shape me and use me according to His will! I can trust that He will direct me not only in the big steps but in the small steps as well. Praise the Lord for His mercy endures forever!

  38. 8 But mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute.
    9 Keep me from the snares which they have laid for me, and the gins of the workers of iniquity.
    10 Let the wicked fall into their own nets, whilst that I withal escape.

    We may feel like the enemy is far more than the righteous, but I believe it’s their voices that we hear in greater numbers in this world today. The righteous ask God to guard their lips, the words that come out of their mouth, but no so with the wicked. They blast out their opinions as if it was fact. We must hold our ground and ask and let God fight our battles.

  39. Always a good reminder that our prayers are something that continue without ceasing. The evening sacrifice that the psalmist uses as his example for consistency in prayer is something that occurred every day without fail. It was the covering of the sins of Israel and was offered every morning and every evening. They began and ended their day with sacrifice to remain pleasing unto the Lord. Paul encourages the same consistency when he declares that we should die daily before the Lord to allow his spirit to truly reign in our life.

    My heart will not be attracted to the works of iniquity nor will I choose to partake of the fruit of their sins. My eyes are set upon him! When I’m chastised I’ll not rise up against those who care for my soul, I’ll cherish the love that is shown and look closer to the God I serve. ‘Mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord: in thee is my trust’! I don’t want to wake up one day destitute in sin or trapped in the shares of the enemy to discover my efforts have been in vain. My trust is in the Lord and early will I seek him while he may be found!

  40. Sometimes their are words we would like to take back, words better left unsaid or even unthought. We’ve all experienced the discomfort, embarrassment and repercussions of speaking when we should keep our mouths shut. Sometimes our words have stung others with their poison, causing pain and destruction we later regret. James calls the tounge “a restless evil, full of deadly poison” (Jas 3:8). He says our religion is “worthless” if we fail to keep our tounge under control (Jas 1:26). Since we never know when a foolish thought or word will try and rush to the door of our lips, we need a divine sentry to keep constant watch. James agrees with the psalmist that we cannot take our tounges (Jas 3:8); therefore, we must rely on God to guard our mouths.

  41. Psalm 141:3 ( English Amp) Set a guard, O Lord , before my mouth; keep watch at the door of my lips. Lord keep my thoughts clean, Keep my heart clean and pure, Because your tongue is dangerous. If God dont control it you might hurt someone, Your not the judge God is. Your mouth could get you in trouble with God ! WHAT so lovely ,What so pure let us think on these things . Tell them there blessed in Jesus Christ. Tell them about Jesus.

  42. Psalm 141

    3 Set a watch, O Lord , before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    How great a matter a little fire kindleth, Lord watch my lips and guard my tongue.

    Incline not my heart to any evil thing, to practise wicked works with men that work iniquity: and let me not eat of their dainties.

    Amen

    Let the righteous smite me; it shall be a kindness: and let him reprove me; it shall be an excellent oil, which shall not break my head: for yet my prayer also shall be in their calamities.

    The wise man will love them that reproof and the fool hate. Lord make me wise so I can receive reproof and correction.

Leave a Reply

