Psalm Chapter 142

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 20

Psalm 142

I cried unto the Lord with my voice; with my voice unto the Lorddid I make my supplication.

I poured out my complaint before him; I shewed before him my trouble.

When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then thou knewest my path. In the way wherein I walked have they privily laid a snare for me.

I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul.

I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.

Attend unto my cry; for I am brought very low: deliver me from my persecutors; for they are stronger than I.

Bring my soul out of prison, that I may praise thy name: the righteous shall compass me about; for thou shalt deal bountifully with me.

45 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 142

  1. Where does my help come from Jesus
    I am a friend of God that means I can look to him and talk to him he will always protect me and be by my side I don’t have to fear of worry cuz I Know God is with me so God today I give you everything take me and use for you good I cry out to you and you hear me

  2. Verse 5 NLT “Then I pray to you, O Lord. I say, “You are my place of refuge. You are all I really want in life.” It’s just a matter of prayer, God is there; we just have to call upon His name and trust in Him. Who are you seeking and calling upon to be in your life?

    Psalm 46:1 NLT “God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble.”

    Psalm 91:2 NLT “This I declare about the Lord: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; he is my God, and I trust him.”

    Psalm 18:2 NLT “The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety.”

  3. 4 Look to the right and see! No one cares about me. I have nowhere to run; no one is concerned about my life.

    7 Free me from prison, that I may give thanks to your name. Because of me the godly will assemble, for you will vindicate me. NET

    Just when it looks like David has given up, we see that he still has total faith in God; there’s no doubt in his words: ‘the godly WILL assemble’ and ‘You WILL vindicate me’.
    What a great lesson for us when we think that no one cares (they do, but even if they didn’t), God still does and that’s all that matters.

  4. It’s time for a prison break! Break out of the same oh same! Stagnant life to his riches & glory! Be ready for a good change in Jesus name. “It is written, Now I know that the King of Glory shall save his anointed”.

    ” Be free”………

  5. Then I pray to you, O Lord. I say, “you are my place of refuge.
    You are all I really want in life. Psalms 142: 5 NLT

  6. 4 I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul.
    I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.
    6 Attend unto my cry; for I am brought very low: deliver me from my persecutors; for they are stronger than I.

    God cannot fail us, there is nothing in his nature that has the ability of failing or leaving us and I believe that’s why often times the Lord reveals to is this nature and sometimes by allowing others to fail us or the present thought of being alone to open our eyes from where our true help comes from.

  7. I look for someone to come and help me, but no one gives me a passing thought! No one will help me; no one cares a bit what happens to me.
    Psalms 142:4 NLT

    Why are we looking at eye level for help? Where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and Earth. People can deceive you. They can fail you, but our trust should be in the LORD.

  8. Psalm 142
    Refuge in the Lord, when you feel trapped ,lonely and under attack,call upon Jesus! He will be your refuge.
    Cry out to Jesus!

    142:5 I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.

    Zechariah 9:12 Turn you to the strong hold, ye prisoners of hope: even to day do I declare that I will render double unto thee;

    Psalm 46:1 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

    Psalm 9:9 The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.

  9. 1 I cry aloud to the Lord, I lift up my boys to the Lord for mercy.

    5 I cried to you ,O Lord; I say, “you are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.”
    6 listen to my cry, for I am in desperate need, rescue me from those who persue me, for they are too strong for me.
    7 Set me free from my prison , that I may praise your name. Then the righteous will gather about me because of your goodness to me.

  10. Psalms 142
    5 I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.

    6 Attend unto my cry; for I am brought very low: deliver me from my persecutors; for they are stronger than I.

    Thank you Lord for being my refuge in the mist toughest desolate times of my life.When I thought I was very low,confused and desperate. You were right there waiting for me to run right into your presence where Peace beyond human understanding overflowed into my soul.
    I’m not sure when Davud wrote this Psalms but he must have been hurting. He had been through many trying times some made by his own wring choices. He was needing deliversnce. Oh but to know the One we can run to. In the highs and the lows. What makes a melody so. beautiful. It’s the written notation of the composer. It’s the high notes ,the low notes that brings abut a beautiful harmonic symphony.
    Each note is important. So when the times of frustration come,the times of confusing remember God the composer is just putting together a beautiful Masterpiece of your life. Intertwined with the power of the Holy Ghost and each refreshing moment in His presence.
    Oh yes God is our present time of help in the midst of this world. In His presence there is peace.

    His Strength is Perfect

  11. How do you “PRAY” in your “Cave” experience, when you feel alone and feel like no one cares?
    David was in his “Cave” experience, and he said, 1) I CRIED unto the LORD with my voice; with my voice unto the LORD did I make my supplication. 2) I poured out my complaint before him; I shewed before him my troubles.
    David CRIED out with his voice to the LORD and made his supplication (request/petition) to Him. He told Him his troubles.

    So, how will you “PRAY” in your “Cave” experience? Do like David did – CRY out, make your supplication (request/petition) known to God, and tell Him your troubles.
    Phil. 4:6-7 says, 6) Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by PRAYER and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7) And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

    Thank You JESUS that we can “PRAY & CRY” out to you, tell you about our troubles, and make our requests known unto you, and it’s Your PEACE that keeps our hearts and minds.

  12. Josiah: 5 I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said,  Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.
         “…O Lord: I said:, Thou art my refuge…” God is our Saviour the one who can give us strength so that we can get through. When we may be going through a trial God is still there. He is not there sometimes, or just on weekends, or at church. He is there at all times and when we need a little something or an answer we can ask Him. But, if we are, or are not going through a trial we should praise Him anyways for what He has and will do. So, let us GO PRAISE the LORD at ALL TIMES! LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD. PRAISE YE THE LORD!

  13. iblessyouinthenameoftheLord
    4 I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul.

    5 I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.

    How many times have I looked around and was by my self so it appeared, I always would look to friends and family to help me and to comfort me at the down points in my life, but God has been there, he never left, hes always my help in times of trouble, I would rely on people to do what only God can do! And when he steps in, he does it for good, and changes our lives for good, what God does it cant be undone, people can only give advice, and their help is temporary, God can do it all and it is permanent, its all up to us!

  14. I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul. I cried unto thee, O Lord : I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living. Attend unto my cry; for I am brought very low: deliver me from my persecutors; for they are stronger than I.
    Psalms 142:4‭-‬6 KJV
    http://bible.com/1/psa.142.4-6.KJV

    It took me a moment to let this one sink in. To think that nobody would care enough to help guide my soul to heaven. Man what a strong chapter; got me to thinking about my salvation and who if anyone is standing in a gap for me. Then I began to think: I have the ultimate inercessor in Jesus. He has delivered me from my persecutors and guarded me from those that would try to steal my soul. Yes Jesus is my refuge and will always be that hand which sets me upon the straight path. Thank you Jesus.

  15. You are my refuge! The lieing devil is in our heads tormenting trying to tell us lies! You cleanse our minds and we have liberty in your name. I rebuke the devil in the name of Jesus. Fear is not of the lord, for he wants us to have joy! Thank you Jesus!

  16. 3 When I am overwhelmed, you alone know the way I should turn. Wherever I go, my enemies have set traps for me. (NLT)

    I trust the plan and path You have set before me Lord, I trust you will lead me and show me the way I should turn. Being in Your will is the safest place I can be.

  17. 4-5 I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul. I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.

    The right hand is supposed to be a place of honor. Should we expect people that we hold in a place of honor to be on our side and be there in our time of need? David is revealing that no one was there. Does that mean we cannot trust people and we should only trust God? People continue to let us down. Not only people in general but people that we hold in high regard; maybe our parents, spouse, children, church members or church leaders.

    Faith is more than positive thinking. Positive thinking will NOT produce faith. Faith is trust in God, and the only way to develop faith is to learn to know God. Since He is trustworthy, as we learn to know Him, we spontaneously learn to trust Him. Faith is trusting God when things don’t turn out the way we expect. We can’t work on our righteousness – nor can we work on our faith. Both are gifts. Both are fruit. Both come as a result of knowing Jesus. And knowing Jesus comes as a result of spending time with Him.

    While we can place trust in our fellow humans we must keep in mind they are humans and as humans we make mistakes. We over promise and under deliver. We as individuals have our own personal goals in life and likely those we hold in high regard have different goals in life. These differences can create times when we need someone and they are not there for us.

  18. iLove to Go Blog
    David felt all alone and felt as if he was in prison. He thought everyone had left him and everyone had forsaken him. He was going through a major pity party and no one was there to help him. Each one of us have been here at this point but not all of us have escaped the pit like David did. David knew what to do…he knew that prayer to God was the only way to escape the thoughts that were coming against him. David was a man after God’s own heart and it shows during this time of persecution. We must all turn to God in prayer in the good times and in the challenging times.

  19. 1 I cried unto the Lord with my voice; with my voice unto the Lorddid I make my supplication.
    2 I poured out my complaint before him; I shewed before him my trouble.
    3 When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then thou knewest my path. In the way wherein I walked have they privily laid a snare for me.

    When we pour out our troubles before the Lord, we must listen to the Lord for him to lead us through it, as Pastor taught last night. When He gives us direction, He navigates us through the ‘mine field’. We then come out of the storm on the path he had for us all along and we can be victorious through it all. I bless you all in Jesus name with victory in the storms of life.

  20. 5 I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.

    David’s distress before the Lord has been evident in the past few chapters. He is feeling the pressure of those that rose up against him, and it’s evident that he desires to see and feel the protection of the Lord around Him to not only comfort him but to give him assurance that God is hearing his prayer.

    How many have been in those situations as well? I believe we all have had times when we felt like our prayers were hitting the ceiling and bouncing back in our laps. There are times that God is silent, not to punish us but for us to learn TRUST. He does know what is best, and He is working all things out for our good, even when we can’t see. One of our greatest challenges is to let Him be God in these times and not take things in our own hands and try to work them out. We can take refuge and comfort in Him, and daily find our strength in Him until we feel we have overcome the test we are in.

  21. GO PRAY YOURSELF OUT

    7 Bring my soul out of prison, that I may praise thy name: the righteous shall compass me about; for thou shalt deal bountifully with me.

    Praise is so valuable to the believer, we find Prayer and Praise united in powerful demonstrations throughout the WORD of GOD. The psalmist recognized the fact that the absence of PRAISE means the presence of prison.

    PRAYER is the vehicle that will bring us out of a Praiseless prison. We witness this principal demonstrated in the book of Acts with Paul and Silas.

    Acts 16:25 And at midnight Paul and Silas prayed, and sang praises unto God: and the prisoners heard them.
    26 And suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken: and immediately all the doors were opened, and every one’s bands were loosed.
    27 And the keeper of the prison awaking out of his sleep, and seeing the prison doors open, he drew out his sword, and would have killed himself, supposing that the prisoners had been fled.

    Notice PRAYER preceded PRAISE. If we attempt to PRAISE JESUS prior to PRAY to JESUS we may find ourselves powerless or less effective in our Spiritual efforts. Paul and Silas practiced what David declared and their soul was brought out of prison. You and I possess the same privilege in Christ JESUS when we PRAY First then PRAISE JESUS for the provision.

    I have preached for years that we can PRAISE our way out of anything, and I still believe this. However, we must also understand that the most effective PRAISE we offer is the one that follows PRAYER.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo
    iBlessYouInTheNameOfTheLordJESUS

  22. 3 When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then thou knewest my path. In the way wherein I walked have they privily laid a snare for me.

    When feeling overwhelmed, just look to Him! When you don’t know where to turn put your trust in Him! He only desires the best for us!

    “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”
    ‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”
    ‭‭Romans‬ ‭8:28‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  23. 1 I cried unto the Lord with my voice; with my voice unto the Lorddid I make my supplication.

    2 I poured out my complaint before him; I shewed before him my trouble.

    Jesus is the one who can get me out of my troubles, he’s the one that I can cry out to and feel renewed and strengthened. I can’t let the things of this world affect my praise!!
    Jesus I need you! I am an overcomer because of you Lord. Thank you for always helping me and keeping me strong Lord!!!!

  24. Dios es nuestro aparo y refugio en medio de la prueba y la tribulación él siempre está atento a escuchar nuestro clamor en nuestras dificultades el. NOs socorre por su grande amor y misericordia

  25. 1 I cried unto the Lord with my voice; with my voice unto the Lorddid I make my supplication.

    2 I poured out my complaint before him; I shewed before him my trouble.

    I’m so thankful for a God who is open and receptive to hearing our cry and complaints and meeting our needs. I’m thankful for a God who the bible says “borne our griefs and carried our sorrows ”
    When we don’t have anyone to turn to we can turn t to him, when we have no one to talk to we can talk to him. God is so good!

  26. Significant that the psalmist always refers to prayer as a crying out unto the Lord. Prayer is not meant to be silent any more than our praise… both are actions that can be heard! Just in case there is any confusion, he reiterates that his supplication was made with his mouth. He was speaking to God in his prayers and wasn’t afraid to let God know his troubles. God is after all often the only one who can make a difference in the situation.

    When we’re overwhelmed, notice he didn’t say if we’re overwhelmed, and there isn’t any one else to go to, God is always there. He is not only there but he listens when we pray. That word attend implies he is paying attention to what we say… he wants to be an intimate part of our life! We have to make the choice and habit of bringing ourselves before him in prayer for that to actually happen though. So take the time to pray every day without ceasing!

  27. Hannah: 1″I cried until the Lord with my voice; with my voice unto the Lord did I make my supplication.” He is the one I run to in my times of trouble and in my times of joy. He is my redeemer and he is my comforter. In him will I go and in him can I place my whole trust. He is my rock and my salvation. No matter what is thrown at me, he is the one who will stand by my side. In times of trouble and in times of joy my God is always there to lead and guide me on that narrow, straight path. Trust in the Lord and follow him at all times. Rejoice in him and praise him wherever you go. He is always there by your side and he will not desert you.

  28. 4 I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul.
    5 I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.

    God is my refuge. He is the one that we must turn too. Man will fail you in this life, but God will always be with you.

    In this life we think that there are many constants. The coolness of an ice cube, the warmth of a fire, the cry of a baby, the beauty of a flower. Yet, the ice melts, the fire goes out, the baby grows, and the flower dies. All these things and more that we think are constants, will change eventually. But God is the only constant in this universe. He is the Jehovah in any situation you have,” Of peace, providence, healing, ect.” He is the only constant in the universe of variables.

    Young People- I have said it many times, and I will still say it. God is the only one that you need,and the only thing that you truly have in this life. Don’t turn away from him, He will direct your path. You just have to follow Him.
    #GODOSOMETHING by following God.

  29. 3 When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then thou knewest my path. In the way wherein I walked have they privily laid a snare for me.

    God knows the path your taking,where it will take you,what direction your going, and what will happen along the way. Pray for guidance on which path you should take,because if you don’t you probably won’t like where you end up.

  30. 4 I look for someone to come and help me, but no one gives me a passing thought! No one will help me; no one cares a bit what happens to me.

    During times of desperation, we all look for help. We turn to friends, coworkers or family members. Yes, each will provide temporary help, whether through monies, recommendations or advice. But only through prayer, can we get a permanent answer, and comfort. Only God can provide this.

  31. 3 When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then thou knewest my path. In the way wherein I walked have they privily laid a snare for me.

    4 I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul.

  32. 1 I cried unto the Lord with my voice; with my voice unto the Lord did I make my supplication.

    2 I poured out my complaint before him; I shewed before him my trouble.

    He’s gonna get to you next!
    Just last night we was all given some wisdom on prayer and listening and communicating with the Lord. We were asked if we know his voice and if he knows ours. Times like this when we cry out to God we need to physically CRY out to God so he can hear us when we cry out not only does God hear but the devil is shaken and we are allow God to Come into our problems. When we allow God to step in, the devil steps out! That’ll preach! We’re allowing ourselves to be vulnerable to the spirit of God, allowing him to fully flow through us like he should. Let Jesus step in for a round.
    I bless you in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ!

  33. 1 I cried unto the Lord with my voice; with my voice unto the Lorddid I make my supplication.

    Praying silently to yourself doesn’t work. We were at a wedding one time and the preacher asked the congregation to pray silently to their selves. I asked Nicole if that meant they would have to answer their own prayers? If you want something from God he expects you to speak it out. He gave the example in the beginning. God said let there be light and it was so. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much. I don’t se silent as being fervent or effectual. Let your prayer be heard. Let your voice cry aloud. God will answer when our whole heart is in it and we speak it out.

  34. 2 I poured out my complaint before him; I shewed before him my trouble.

    It’s ok to tell God everything that is upsetting me. I can pour it all out before him because I know he has all the answers I need. I know he will tell me what I need to know. I know he relieves the pressure of me not knowing. I can tell him all my concerns with the certainty that he will listen and respond, even if I don’t like the response.

  35. Psalm 142:7 Set me free from my prison, that I may praise your name. Then the righteous will gather about me because of your goodness to me.

    So why are we not free to praise God. Why do we hold on to our seats during praise and worship at church? Why can’t we lift our hands when we pray? There is prison that we need to be set free from!

    Why does Satan hinder our praise? The Bible says that he inhabits the praises of Hos people. When we learn to respond to our problems with praise, we are inviting God to inhabit our problem and situation.

    And when God sets you free, you are free indeed!

  36. 5 I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living

    The Lord will not let you down. He is faithful and his mercy is new every morning. He will answer your cry unto him. Blessed be the Lord and his name be praised! Thank you Jesus that you save us from all trouble

  37. “Then I pray to you, O Lord. I say, “You are my place of refuge. You are all I really want in life.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭142:5‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    He is truly all I really want! He also knows our hearts, and what is hindering us from a closer walk with Him. As we learned last night, we must listen to Him and removing the hinderence.

  38. 7 Bring my soul out of prison, that I may praise thy name: the righteous shall compass me about; for thou shalt deal bountifully with me.

    Many times YOU in your GEAR MERCY have delivered me and I THANK YOU DADDY!!!

  39. When we are feeling overwhelmed, frightened, uncertain of which way to turn, David’s words assure us God is in control of our journey. Even if there are hidden obstacles along the way, we need not stay paralyzed with fear. While we can see only the next step in front of us, God sees the whole path. He knows what’s up ahead, and he will be a faithful guide til the end of our days (Ps 48:14). Just as he led the Israelites through the desert by pillars of both cloud and fire, in his compassion he will shine his light on the way we are to take (Ne 9:19). We will never be abandoned in our times of desperate need.

  40. Psalm 142:7 (English Amp) Bring my life out of prison, that I may confess, , and give thanks to Your name; the righteous will surround me and crown themselves because of me, for You will deal bountifully with me. God wants us to talk him about our needs . He already knows what we need in our lives. What we need is more of him. Just keep on believing and trusting in Jesus , Dont give up and thrown in the towel. Come to church with me. And see what does for you. I bless you in the of Jesus Christ.

  41. Psalm 142

    When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then thou knewest my path. In the way wherein I walked have they privily laid a snare for me. I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul.

    When I was overwhelmed he knew my path and where to send me to safety. And when I felt like no one cared for my soul he sent me again to those that do. Thank you Lord for my family and all the Men of God in my life that have cared for my soul. And kept my feet on the path.

Leave a Reply

