Psalm Chapter 144

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 22

Psalm 144

Blessed be the Lord my strength which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight:

My goodness, and my fortress; my high tower, and my deliverer; my shield, and he in whom I trust; who subdueth my people under me.

Lord, what is man, that thou takest knowledge of him! or the son of man, that thou makest account of him!

Man is like to vanity: his days are as a shadow that passeth away.

Bow thy heavens, O Lord, and come down: touch the mountains, and they shall smoke.

Cast forth lightning, and scatter them: shoot out thine arrows, and destroy them.

Send thine hand from above; rid me, and deliver me out of great waters, from the hand of strange children;

Whose mouth speaketh vanity, and their right hand is a right hand of falsehood.

I will sing a new song unto thee, O God: upon a psaltery and an instrument of ten strings will I sing praises unto thee.

10 It is he that giveth salvation unto kings: who delivereth David his servant from the hurtful sword.

11 Rid me, and deliver me from the hand of strange children, whose mouth speaketh vanity, and their right hand is a right hand of falsehood:

12 That our sons may be as plants grown up in their youth; that our daughters may be as corner stones, polished after the similitude of a palace:

13 That our garners may be full, affording all manner of store: that our sheep may bring forth thousands and ten thousands in our streets:

14 That our oxen may be strong to labour; that there be no breaking in, nor going out; that there be no complaining in our streets.

15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

43 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 144

  1. 15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    When we serve the Lord and when we consume ourselves with the work of the Lord there is a excitement and joy that comes along with that privilege. Once as a middle school kid I had a fellow classmate ask me “whats wrong with you? are you in love with life?” because I was always smiling and seemed happy. I informed her that my happiness came from Jesus Christ and that he was “my joy and salvation!”

  2. 1 Blessed be the Lord my strength which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight:
    2 My goodness, and my fortress; my high tower, and my deliverer; my shield, and he in whom I trust; who subdueth my people under me.
    3 Lord, what is man, that thou takest knowledge of him! or the son of man, that thou makest account of him!

  3. 1 Blessed be the Eternal, my rock. He trains my hands for war, gives me the skills I need for battle. Voice

    God would never send you into battle if He didn’t know you already had the training and skills you needed to win; which in many cases is simply faith in Him.
    How often, after He sees that we are willing to fight, He steps in and wins the battle for us!

  4. 13 May our storehouses be full with abundant supplies of every crop, And may the flocks of our fields multiply into thousands and tens of thousands! Voice

    Genesis 47:27
    And Israel dwelt in the land of Egypt, in the country of Goshen; and they had possessions therein, and grew, and multiplied exceedingly. KJV

    I bless you in the Name of the Lord Jesus!

  5. 15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord

    We have no excuse to stay in our disparity, no reason valid enough to stay down, or emotions are normal and I believe it is ok to be sad but when we serve the Lord God, we have the choice to shorten the season of feeling that way. We have every reason to be happy and love with joy unspeakable! Because our God reigns

  6. 1 Blessed be the Lord my strength which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight:

    2 My goodness, and my fortress; my high tower, and my deliverer; my shield, and he in whom I trust; who subdueth my people under me.

    3 Lord, what is man, that thou takest knowledge of him! or the son of man, that thou makest account of him!

    When I was reading these verses they about flew out my comp screen, I had to stop and think who am I that the God of my life loves me? Its so confusing sometimes when I think about it, all the bad that i have done in my life and to people, he still chose to forgive me, he still chose me! I believe that everything we learn, we learn by example, or by being taught, how can we know to love if we never experienced love, how can we learn to forgive if we have never experienced someone forgiving us, Jesus is our greatest example of what forgiveness and love is. I believe that he forgives us as an example of how to forgive others, and an example of what true love is, so when the opportunity to forgive and to love is presented we cant say we dont know how, because we have already been taught!
    iblessyouinthenameoftheLordJesusChrist

  7. 12 That our sons may be as plants grown up in their youth; that our daughters may be as corner stones, polished after the similitude of a palace:
    13 That our garners may be full, affording all manner of store: that our sheep may bring forth thousands and ten thousands in our streets:
    14 That our oxen may be strong to labour; that there be no breaking in, nor going out; that there be no complaining in our streets.
    15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord .
    Psalms 144:12‭-‬15 KJV
    http://bible.com/1/psa.144.12-15.KJV

    Similitude: the quality or state of being similar to.

    So God is calling us to be similar to the corner stone that holds up the foundation or like the tree by the river that continues to flourish and grow in a sea of iniquity. Here lately I feel as though I’m being pulled into a dry land. I have to stop and remember that even in my time not trusting God with my whole heart; He is still there leading me and filling me with His joy, love, Grace, and mercy. Help me FATHER to build a relationship with you and strengthen me to be the man you have called me to be. Root me like the tree by the river.

    Phil. 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengtheneth me.

  8. Without God we are nothing. Our strength comes from the Lord as do all of our help. When we think we have the power to do it on our own, the enemy is right there waiting on us. God deserves the praise and honor due to his name.

  9. 15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    Not depressed! Just another scripture to support pastors preaching on Wednesday. Thank You Jesus for being my God and causing me to be glad! 😀 I take joy in serving the Lord, in knowing I serve the only living God.

  10. What joy it is to see the people of God live right following his law and obey his word
    What to see God’s people get along and not fight but be Unity with each other
    What joy it is to see God people have love but for there self but for others
    What joy it’s to hear the people sever the great I am
    What joy it’s to see people of God get blessed
    Yes we serve a great and mighty God
    I will sing a new song to you, O God! I will sing your praises with a ten-stringed harp. Yes, joyful are those who live like this! Joyful indeed are those whose God is the Lord .
    Psalms 144:9‭, ‬15 NLT
    http://bible.com/116/psa.144.9-15.NLT

  11. GO BE HAPPY

    15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    GOD (JESUS) being my LORD (the ONE I Worship) is all that I need to GO BE HAPPY!

    I believe we could conclude that unhappy people are serving the wrong lord. This verse does not indicate that discouraging or sad things will not happen to people whose GOD is the LORD. It means that discouraging and sad things will not become LORD of their attitude and life. Therefore we are equipped to be HAPPY because of our love and faith in HIS grace and love to us.

    Happy is an attitude not a condition. I can be happy in bad conditions, because I know that JESUS is GOD and LORD of my life.

    GO BE HAPPY.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iGo
    iBlessYouInTheNameOfTheLordJESUS

  12. TLB – 12-15 Here is my description of a truly happy land where Jehovah is God:

    Sons vigorous and tall as growing plants.
    Daughters of graceful beauty like the pillars of a palace wall.
    Barns full to the brim with crops of every kind.
    Sheep by the thousands out in our fields.
    Oxen loaded down with produce.
    No enemy attacking the walls, but peace everywhere.
    No crime in our streets.
    Yes, happy are those whose God is Jehovah.

    I want God to be God over everything in my life so that His fingerprint is seen in everything I say and do.

  13. iLove to Go Blog
    7 Send thine hand from above; rid me, and deliver me out of great waters, from the hand of strange children;

    Once again we see the illustration of water attempting to destroy the man of God but the Lord brings deliverance.

    Isaiah 59:19 KJV  So shall they fear the name of the LORD from the west, and his glory from the rising of the sun. When the enemy shall come in like a flood, the Spirit of the LORD shall lift up a standard against him.

    The hand from above shall rescue me from the flood of the enemy. BOOM!

  14. Salmo-144:3-4 Señor, ¿qué es el mortal para que lo cuides?
    ¿Qué es el ser humano para que en él pienses?
    Todo mortal es como un suspiro;
    sus días son fugaces como una sombra.

  15. 15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    Jesus is all you need to be happy!!

  16. 15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    It’s his many blessings that cause his people to be happy! I bless you in the name of Jesus.

  17. 15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    Happy is those who knows Who God is, the ones that know who to serve and that the time to serve God is always happy are the ones that understand the Jesus is Lord, the ones that possess his spirit that want more and more of Jesus everyday. That overflowing joy we wanna share to the world is only a scripture away to millions. Go tell someone about the joy of the Lord
    I bless you in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ

  18. Psalm 144:15(English Amp) Happy and blessed are people who are in such a case; yes, happy ( blessed, fortunate; prosperous, to be envied) are the people whose God is the Lord! Happy is to be waiting for Lord to come back and take up to a beautiful ( Heaven). Happy is being bless to have life with Jesus. May the Lord blessings be upon you. I blessed you in the name of Jesus.

  19. 15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    We need to spread the word about God so that other people can feel the joy of the Lord!

  20. 1 Praise the LORD, who is my rock. He trains my hands for war and gives my fingers skill for battle.

    The things we can do with are hands is incredible. There is no other living thing can build like we can. We build roads, bridges, and sky scrapers. We protect our families with our hands. The most important use of our hands is to raise them up, and worship and praise God. Yet, this simple act is the the hardest thing to do for many individuals.

  21. I Love To Worship The Lord
    David praises God for past victories and prays for his continued intervention. David is sure God will act and the land will over flow with blessings

  22. Josiah: 4 Man is like vanity: his days are as a shadow that passeth away.
    “as a shadow that passeth away.” This world is not our home we’re just a passing through. People are born and die every day. Our lives are like a breath in the air on a chilly fall day. It is there and then gone. However what we do in this short time on Earth decides our eternity. So, let us GO be a CITY SET ON A HILL! Let us have a fire burning for God. Let us serve the Lord with our whole heart. LET EVERYTHING THAT HATH BREATH PRAISE THE LORD. PRAISE TO THE LORD!

  23. BLESSED be the LORD…
    He is my Strength
    He is my Goodness
    He is my Fortress
    He is my High Tower
    He is my Deliverer
    He is my Shield
    HE is the ONE in whom I TRUST!

  24. Always interesting to see the reflections of David from the situations he had to face in his life. As he declares his desire to sing a new sing unto the Lord and give praises to the God who gives him victory, and mentions the hurtful sword in his life, the afflictions of Saul immediately come to mind. The man that should have been his king and whom drives him from Israel in his jealous rages. Yet even as he dwells among they Philistines, his declaration is: ‘Rid me, and deliver me from the hand of strange children, whose mouth speaketh vanity, and their right hand is a right hand of falsehood:’

    He may have been forced to dwell among them, but he didn’t want to become them. He didn’t want to rely upon their strength or their words of assurance. The shallowness of their trust was shown when they refused to allow him to join them in battle: albeit perhaps a wise decision even in its falseness. A good lesson here can be had even today as we live amidst a world that is so opposed to our existence. Yet notice the reason he gives for doing so: ‘That our sons may be as plants grown up in their youth; that our daughters may be as corner stones, polished after the similitude of a palace:’

    If we want our children to grow strong, if they are going to have the backbone and strength to be pillars in their generation, we are going to need the same mindset. A recognition that our trust is not in the world, that our desire is not in the world, that our passion is not engrossed in the things of this world. If God is not first in our life, if our hearts and minds are not made up for him, if our passion for the things of God does not drive us, how do we expect it to do more for our children? Let my first fruits always be given to him, let my songs of praise ascend unto him, let my children know that he is the God that I serve because of what they see as well as what they hear!

  25. 3 Lord, what is man, that thou takest knowledge of him! or the son of man, that thou makest account of him!

    JESUS, you are so merciful!!!
    YOU know everything about me even those things I try to hide from before your sight!!! Thank you for loving me……

  26. Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    Amen!! People that are full of hate, sorrow, pity, discouraged are people that need Jesus!!! Even though as Christians things are going to come our way, it’s okay because we have the joy of the Lord! I have the joy that I kno who to cry out to in the good and the bad. I have the joy because my Fayher is the creator of the universe, He’s the one that created me, He’s the one that knows my needs, He’s the one that is always by my side, Hea the one that protects me and guides me daily!!! Thank you Jesus for this Joy!!!

  27. Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    Amen!! People that are full of hate, sorrow, pity, discouraged are people that need Jesus!!! Even though as Christians things are going to come our way, it’s okay because we have the joy of the Lord! I have the joy that I kno who to cry out to in the good and the bad. I have the joy because my Fayher is the creator of the universe, He’s the one that created me, He’s the one that knows my needs, He’s the one that is always by my side, Hea the one that protects me and guides me daily!!! Thank you Jesus for this Joy!!!

  28. Blessed be the Lord my strength which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fiight:
    You have taught me, O LORD to to fight with my hands. By raising them in praise and worship or meeting together in prayer, you have fashioned me to be an instrument of prayer.

  29. 1 Blessed be the Lord my strength which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight:

    2 My goodness, and my fortress; my high tower, and my deliverer; my shield, and he in whom I trust; who subdueth my people under me.

    3 Lord, what is man, that thou takest knowledge of him! or the son of man, that thou makest account of him
    Thank you Jesus! You are my sheild and my protection! Your my rock and my fortress!

  30. Psalm 144

    1 Blessed be the Lord my strength which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight:

    The Lord is our strength. The Lord is great and greatly to be praised. He is my rest and in Him will I ever trust. Inwill bless the Lord ho has taught me from a child and now as a seasoned warrior. We must continually allow God to teach us and to continue in the fight. We war not against flesh and blood but spirits. Gid You are my strength and I can do anything through your Power in Jesus name!

    His Strength is Perfect

  31. 15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    In a drive through immediate gratification kind of society that we live in, we find that people are still unhappy and empty. Those life’s sugar highs do not compare to happiness found from getting through joy. You cant have true joy with out the Spirit of God. People seek possession, relationships, positions, to name a few, to seek something that God can only fulfil. There is no greater feeling than to know you are in the will of 11thGod. That he has your back and you can trust Him.

  32. 12 That our sons may be as plants grown up in their youth; that our daughters may be as corner stones, polished after the similitude of a palace:

    13 That our garners may be full, affording all manner of store: that our sheep may bring forth thousands and ten thousands in our streets:

    14 That our oxen may be strong to labour; that there be no breaking in, nor going out; that there be no complaining in our streets.

    15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

  33. David lives in a time where the surrounding nations are blood thirsty for God’s people. Israel’s enemies are constantly threatening to conquer and ransack the country. David as king and commander of Israel’s army, is dependent on the divine warrior for victory (Ps 60:12). Part of God’s strategy for protecting his people and glorifying his name is to make his warriors victorious in battle. If we are in line with God and go in his name it’s God’s reputation on the line. So he equips them with the resources they need to defend themselves and demonstrate the Lord’s superiority over all pagan gods. Today our battle in Jesus name are not with flesh and blood, but with the spiritual forces of evil. We are just as dependent of the armor of God to stand firm against our enemies (Eph 6:10-17) as the Isrealites were. The weapons that we fight with are not “of this world”, but spiritual weapons that “have divine power to demolish strongholds” (2Co 10:4).

  34. Happiness defined

    14 That our oxen may be strong to labour; that there be no breaking in, nor going out; that there be no complaining in our streets.

    15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    I find it awesome that no complaining is biblcaly part of being happy. It seems that some people are not happy unless they are complaining. this should be a bumper sticker. Happy people don’t complain, be happy!

  35. 15 Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord.

    My God is Jesus! 🙂 easy enough. The lord is our God, and that’s all we need to be in a joyful mood with the Holy Ghost power living inside of us! Spiritual warfare is at hand and we are taking the devil by storm! Lighting up the kingdom that can not be shaken! In the name of Jesus! Enemies defeated! My God has all power and authority! Thank you Jesus!

  36. Master Teacher

    1 Blessed be the Lord my strength which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight:

    2 My goodness, and my fortress; my high tower, and my deliverer; my shield, and he in whom I trust; who subdueth my people under me.

    I’m thankful that God will help me and teach me. The value of the lessons we learn often goes up to priceless in the moments we need them. We are often thankful that He taught us to fight when it’s needed

  37. 1 Blessed be the Lord my strength, which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight: 
    2 My goodness, and my fortress; my high tower, and my deliverer; my shield, and he in whom I trust; who subdueth my people under me.
    3 Lord , what is man, that thou takest knowledge of him! or the son of man, that thou makest account of him!
    4 Man is like to vanity: his days are as a shadow that passeth away.

    Life on this earth is so very short. Truly, even though this life is so short compared to eternity, God still is there for us. Even though this time here is just as an eyeblink in comparison to eternity, God still makes sure that we are taken care of in that eyeblink. He is always there for us to look to for strength, encouragement, and guidance! Truly God is amazing and there is none like Him! HE cares so much for us; the things He does for us is beyond my knowledge and understanding. Yet, I can continually praise and glorify His name and thank Him for all He does!

  38. 9 I will sing a new song unto thee, O God: upon a psaltery and an instrument of ten strings will I sing praises unto thee.

    10 It is he that giveth salvation unto kings: who delivereth David his servant from the hurtful sword.

    Even David remembers where God brought him from. We too wound be wise to remember where we once were, when Jesus bright is out…

  39. “Blessed be the Lord, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle; he is my steadfast love and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield and he in whom I take refuge, who subdues peoples under me.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭144:1-2‬ ‭ESV‬‬

    God is so many wonderful things to David because David understands that God is God. Too frequently we end up putting God in some restrictive place where we limit what he can do. David knew better! It’s time that we remove the restrictions from God and allow him to be God and do mighty thugs in our lives.

  40. This chapter is captioned in the CEV “A Prayer for the Nation” and how well this is needed today in this day and hour. “In God we Trust” is what this country was founded on…..verse 15 NLT says “Yes, joyful are those who live like this! Joyful indeed are those whose God is the Lord.”

  41. Psalm 144

    Blessed be the Lord my strength, which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight:

    Blessed is God who teaches me to fight for him. May he continue to teach and train me so I can be a blessing for him.

Leave a Reply

