Genesis Chapter 12

Read Psalm 100:1 – 5 Day and Night

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 23

Genesis 12

1 Now the Lord had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee:

2 And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:

3 And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed.

4 So Abram departed, as the Lord had spoken unto him; and Lot went with him: and Abram was seventy and five years old when he departed out of Haran.

5 And Abram took Sarai his wife, and Lot his brother’s son, and all their substance that they had gathered, and the souls that they had gotten in Haran; and they went forth to go into the land of Canaan; and into the land of Canaan they came.

6 And Abram passed through the land unto the place of Sichem, unto the plain of Moreh. And the Canaanite was then in the land.

7 And the Lord appeared unto Abram, and said, Unto thy seed will I give this land: and there builded he an altar unto the Lord, who appeared unto him.

8 And he removed from thence unto a mountain on the east of Bethel, and pitched his tent, having Bethel on the west, and Hai on the east: and there he builded an altar unto the Lord, and called upon the name of the Lord.

9 And Abram journeyed, going on still toward the south.

10 And there was a famine in the land: and Abram went down into Egypt to sojourn there; for the famine was grievous in the land.

11 And it came to pass, when he was come near to enter into Egypt, that he said unto Sarai his wife, Behold now, I know that thou art a fair woman to look upon:

12 Therefore it shall come to pass, when the Egyptians shall see thee, that they shall say, This is his wife: and they will kill me, but they will save thee alive.

13 Say, I pray thee, thou art my sister: that it may be well with me for thy sake; and my soul shall live because of thee.

14 And it came to pass, that, when Abram was come into Egypt, the Egyptians beheld the woman that she was very fair.

15 The princes also of Pharaoh saw her, and commended her before Pharaoh: and the woman was taken into Pharaoh’s house.

16 And he entreated Abram well for her sake: and he had sheep, and oxen, and he asses, and menservants, and maidservants, and she asses, and camels.

17 And the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house with great plagues because of Sarai Abram’s wife.

18 And Pharaoh called Abram and said, What is this that thou hast done unto me? why didst thou not tell me that she was thy wife?

19 Why saidst thou, She is my sister? so I might have taken her to me to wife: now therefore behold thy wife, take her, and go thy way.

20 And Pharaoh commanded his men concerning him: and they sent him away, and his wife, and all that he had.

39 thoughts on “Genesis Chapter 12

  1. 1. Now the Lord had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy fathers house, unto a land that I will show thee:
    2. And I will make thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:
    3. And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse them that curseth thee: and in thee shall all thee families of the earth be blessed.

    OBEDIENCE

    When God asks something of you, there is no telling how long that blessing will last. God blesses obedience above all things. How many generations, or nations of people are going to be blessed when we stand up and do what God has called us to do, SERVING HIM WITH GLADNESS.

  2. 2. And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:

    What an awesome promise from God! I believe that is the prayer of many joyful servants…not just to be blessed, but to be a blessing.

  3. At that time a severe famine struck the land of Canaan, forcing Abram to go down to Egypt, where he lived as a foreigner. As he was approaching the border of Egypt, Abram said to his wife, Sarai, “Look, you are a very beautiful woman. When the Egyptians see you, they will say, ‘This is his wife. Let’s kill him; then we can have her!’ So please tell them you are my sister. Then they will spare my life and treat me well because of their interest in you.” (‭Genesis‬ ‭12‬:‭10-13‬ NLT)

    Trouble is ahead, when we take matters into our own hands. We need to trust GOD IN ALL things, in the good and in the bad.
    For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭55‬:‭8‬ KJV)

    Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭3‬:‭5-6‬ KJV)

  4. I will bless you. Abraham lived a long life and was blessed with great wealth. Best of all God forgave him and protected him. And Abraham was granted an intimate personal relationship with the Lord.

  5. iLove to eat more Word
    17 And the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house with great plagues because of Sarai Abram’s wife.

    The Lord fought the battle for Abram and preformed supernatural plagues that tormented Pharaoh. The Lord is awesome like that! I wonder how many times that God has stepped into one of our situations in life and has delivered us from something. Praise the Lord.

  6. MORE CONSCIENCE

    1 Now the Lord had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee:
    2 And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:
    3 And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed.
    4 So Abram departed, as the Lord had spoken unto him; and Lot went with him: and Abram was seventy and five years old when he departed out of Haran.

    Abram, listened, serve and obeyed. The promised BLESSING in this life and MORE importantly in the ETERANL LIFE to come should be our motivation to listen, serve and obey the LORD.

    Notice the LORD told Abram to leave his family. The reason is found in:

    Genesis 11:31 And Terah took Abram his son, and Lot the son of Haran his son’s son, and Sarai his daughter in law, his son Abram’s wife; and they went forth with them from Ur of the Chaldees, to go into the land of Canaan; and they came unto Haran, and dwelt there.

    Abrams father stopped short of where the LORD told him to go. Canaan was to be the final destination and they stopped at Haran.

    We must be MORE CONSCIENCE of the will of GOD to know when, where and how to fulfill the call and will of GOD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  7. 7 And the Lord appeared unto Abram, and said, Unto thy seed will I give this land: and there builded he an altar unto the Lord, who appeared unto him.

    Build an Altar!

  8. 17 And the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house with great plagues because of Sarai Abram’s wife.

    Doesn’t this sound like a familiar story, Moses? Abraham out of faith left his home and all he had ever known to follow the Lord. Moses left his comfortable surroundings in the wealthiest kingdom, only to find God in the desert. God promised Abraham that he would “bless those who bless thee and curse those who curse thee” and the moment they took Sarah ignorant that she was his wife they became plauged. Once Moses went back to Egypt the plauges began at Pharoah’s refusal to let His people go. History repeats itself, I bet Thutmose II (likely Phaorah of Moses time) wishes he would have taken note from the Pharoah of Abrams’ time to let Sarah go. History may repeat itself but we can learn from it and be prepared.

  9. 12.1.kjv Now the Lord had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee:

    Lead me ill follow.

  10. 17 And the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house with great plagues because of Sarai Abram’s wife.
    18 And Pharaoh called Abram and said, What is this that thou hast done unto me? why didst thou not tell me that she was thy wife?

    Even the world knows when you cover up something. When we have a true walk with God, people see it. Not just those in the church. But those that are not in the truth. I had my monthly meeting with my manager and asst.manager just yesterday. And wow!!! My manager, she goes to church. But she told me that she liked having me there at the branch. She said that she gets overwhelmed and stressed quit often. And she said that since I’ve been there that when she looks at me that there’s something different about me. That when she sees me there’s a peace that comes to her. It’s not me. But Jesus the Holy Ghost inside of me. The peace that passes all understanding. Even those that may not fully understand know that there is something different about you. Thank you Jesus for setting us apart and living within us.

  11. Genesis 12:3 and I will bless them that bless there and cures him that curseth thee and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed

  12. 14 And it came to pass, that, when Abram was come into Egypt, the Egyptians beheld the woman that she was very fair.
    15 The princes also of Pharaoh saw her, and commended her before Pharaoh: and the woman was taken into Pharaoh’s house.
    16 And he entreated Abram well for her sake: and he had sheep, and oxen, and he asses, and menservants, and maidservants, and she asses, and camels.
    17 And the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house with great plagues because of Sarai Abram’s wife.
    18 And Pharaoh called Abram and said, What is this that thou hast done unto me? why didst thou not tell me that she was thy wife?
    19 Why saidst thou, She is my sister? so I might have taken her to me to wife: now therefore behold thy wife, take her, and go thy way.
    20 And Pharaoh commanded his men concerning him: and they sent him away, and his wife, and all that he had.

    Sometimes it is so easy for us to take things into our own hands instead of fully trusting God. If He sent you and you come to an obstacle He will either deliver you or make you stronger to survive it. For your obstacle is just an opportunity to reveal His Glory!

  13. v7 And the LORD appeared unto Abram, and said, Unto thy seed will I give land: and there builded he an altar unto the LORD, who appeared unto him .

    GOD does not expect us to be wandering through life without direction.
    GOD has particular thoughts for each of us.
    Isn’t that wonderful !!! HIS THOUGHTS for us is ”
    of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end” So if we want to know HIS THOUGHTS we must SEEK HIM.
    SEEKING to know HIM and HIS WILL for our lives will result in an abundant life that will positively influence others for HIS KINGDOM.

    1Timothy 4:16 Take heed unto thyself, and unto the doctrine; continue in them: for in doing this thou shalt both save thyself, and then that hear thee.

  14. 2 And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:

    3 And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed.

    Thousands of years later, God is still honoring the promise he made to Abram. We have no reason to believe that God will not honor his Word out his promises to us

  15. 2 And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:

    3 And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed.

  16. Gen. 12:11-15 & 17-20
    11) And it came to pass, when he was come near to enter into Egypt, that he said unto Sarai his wife, Behold now, I know that thou art a fair woman to look upon:
    12) Therefore it shall come to pass, when the Egyptians shall see thee, that they shall say, This is the wife: and they will kill me, but they will save thee alive.
    13) Say, I pray thee, thou art my sister: that it may be well with me for thy sake; and my soul shall live because of thee.
    14) And it came to pass, that, when Abram was come into Egypt, the Egyptians beheld the woman that she was very fair.
    15) The princes also of Pharaoh saw her, and commended her before Pharaoh: and the woman was taken into Pharaoh’s house.

    17) And the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house with great plagues because of Sarai Abram’s wife.
    18) And Pharaoh called Abram, and said, What is this that thou hast done unto me? why didn’t thou not tell me that she was thy wife?
    19) Why saidst thou, she is my sister? so I might have taken her to me to wife: now therefore behold thy wife, take her, and go thy way.
    20) And Pharaoh commanded his men concerning him: and they sent him away, and his wife, and all that he had.

    Sometimes, we get our ownselves in trouble. But Thanks be to God, who when we ask for forgiveness, has Mercy on us and helps us out of our trouble.
    We serve an Awesome and Merciful God !!

  17. 1 Now the Lord had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee:

    2 And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:

    Why did Abraham get so blessed from God that he promised him a whole nation? It was because of his great faith, and this was confirmed in the New testament

    Galations 3:5 he therefore that ministereth to you the Spirit and worketh miracles among you doeth he it by the works of the law or by the hearing of faith.

    6 Even as Abraham believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness.

    7 Know ye therefore that they which are of faith, the same are the children of Abraham.

    8 And the scripture, foreseeing that God would justify the heareth through faith, preached before the gospel unto Abraham, saying, In thee shall all nations be blessed.

    9 So then they which be of faith are blessed with faithful Abraham.

  18. 2 I will make you into a great nation. I will bless you and make you famous, and you will be a blessing to others.
    3 I will bless those who bless you and curse those who treat you with contempt. All the families on earth will be blessed through you.” (NLT)

    We are blessed! And even greater than that we are given opportunities to be a blessing!

  19. Genesis 12:10 Now there was famine in the lkand and Abram went down to Egypt to live there for a while because the famine was severe. As he was about to enter egypt, he said to his wife sarai I know what a beautiful woman you are. When the Egyptians see you they will say. Thhi is his wife. Then they will kill me but will let you live. Say you are my sister, so that I will be treated well for your sake and my life will be treated well for your sake and my life will be spared because of you.

  20. 7 The Lord appeared to Abram and said, “To your descendants I will give this land.” So Abram built an altar there to the Lord, who had appeared to him.

    Abraham (c. 2200 BC) was given a promise by God. This promise was fulfilled almost 1000 years later during the conquest of Canaan. The word of the Lord is true even though Abraham never saw it in his life.

  21. 7 And the Lord appeared unto Abram, and said, Unto thy seed will I give this land: and there builded he an altar unto the Lord, who appeared unto him.

    8 And he removed from thence unto a mountain on the east of Bethel, and pitched his tent, having Bethel on the west, and Hai on the east: and there he builded an altar unto the Lord, and called upon the name of the Lord.

    Twice in verse 7 it says the Lord appeared to Abraham-he didn’t just hear a voice. This encounter was very personal. It was such a powerful and intimate encounter that Abraham moved to a place where he built built an altar and called upon the name of the Lord! To me, Abraham stopped his journey and spent some time entertaining the presence of the Lord which deepened his relationship or friendship with God.

  22. People make some stupid choices sometimes. God had provided for Abraham, gave him step by step instructions and guidance, and yet he didn’t trust God enough to take care of him that he had to sent Sarai up as his sister for provision. Thankful for the forgiveness and faithfulness of the Lord that he would get them out of the mess Abraham created.

    God does the same for us. We get ourselves into messes by stepping in and doing what we think instead of inquiring of the Lord.

    Lord, Teach us to seek you instead of acting on a whim and getting us into messes.

  23. “As he was about to enter Egypt, he spoke to his wife Sarai. He said, “I know what a beautiful woman you are. The people of Egypt will see you. They will say, ‘This is his wife.’ And they will kill me. But they will let you live. Say you are my sister. Then I’ll be treated well because of you. My life will be spared because of you.”

    Pharaoh treated Abram well because of her. So Abram gained more sheep and cattle. He also got more male and female donkeys. And he gained more male and female servants and some camels.”
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭12:11-13, 16‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    We will have whatever we say. Our words are very power. It’s truly brings life or death.

  24. Abraham is pictured in the Bible as the father of faith in God because of his faithful obedience to God’s call and commands. His greatest test came in his obedience regarding Isaac at Mount Moriah.
    (22:1-14 )

  25. Genesis 12:18-20

    And Pharaoh called Abram, and said, What is this that thou hast done unto me? why didst thou not tell me that she was thy wife?

    Why saidst thou, She is my sister? so I might have taken her to me to wife: now therefore behold thy wife, take her, and go thy way.

    And Pharaoh commanded his men concerning him: and they sent him away, and his wife, and all that he had.

    Abram tried to impress the King in order to gain something from him. Because he chose to please the King rather than God he got what he wished for. This was the begging of his downfall with Hagar, and soon the birth of Ishmael. This one lie caused a chain reaction that is still being felt today.

    Just like Abram should have we too must prioritize God’s will way and purpose above our own. If he would have consulted with the Lord first he could have spared an entire generation.

  26. The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.
    Genesis 12:1 NIV

    How much are we willing to trust God? This is a challenge for us in ministry. We must be sensitive enough not only to here God’s calling but to leave everything that you hold dear to you and trust that God will put you and provide for everything that you will need.

  27. “I will bless those who bless you, And I will curse him who curses you; And in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.””(‭‭Genesis‬ ‭12:3‬ ‭NKJV‬‬)

  28. Genesis 12:1
    Obedience to separate ourselves from this world can be rewarding by God.
    Just like Abrams obedience to God made him father of many nations.

  29. “I will bless those who bless you, And I will curse him who curses you; And in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.””(‭‭Genesis‬ ‭12:3‬ ‭NKJV‬‬)

    People who leave their sins, and turn to God, will be unspeakable gainers by the changes of what they have done in their lives. God will bless them that bless thee, and curse them that curseth thee. God will take care that none of his children are losers, by any service done for his children .Sin, and all the occasions of it, must be forsaken; particularly bad company. Children of God that are bless . They are Obedient believers that shall be sure to inherit the blessing from the lord .In Jesus Name Amen!!!

  30. Bless 1. NOW the LORD had said unto A’-bram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee: 2. And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing: 3. And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed.

  31. “Say, I pray thee, thou art my sister: that it may be well with me for thy sake; and my soul shall live because of thee.” Abram may have forgotten what Jesus (God) had told him; “And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed”. However God did not; “And the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house with great plagues because of Sarai Abram’s wife”. One should never forget Jesus, will do exactly, as he said he will do; for God is true to his word. Dear God, let me never forget what you have said; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In GOD we trust”. “One Nation under GOD, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”. What a mighty GOD we serve! Thank GOD for his word. GOD bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in JESUS name, Amen!

  32. 4 So Abram departed, as the Lord had spoken unto him; and Lot went with him: and Abram was seventy and five years old when he departed out of Haran.

    God commanded and Abram departed. We are so quick to question God. We pray for Gods will but when God commands we question. It’s as if we want Gods will for us as long as it’s convenient or it lines up with what we are doing.

    Will we respond like Jonah, or like Samuel “here I am Lord” No one is exempt from this calling. When Abram was called he was 75 years old, just like Abram was ordained to be the father of many nations, 1Cor 2:9 we have not seen nor heard or ours minds conceived what the Lord has in store for us!

    Let your love toward God never diminish or fail. As this promise is for those the love God.

  33. Arise 14. And the LORD said unto A’-bram, after that Lot was separated from him, Lift up now thine eyes, and look from the place where thou art northward, and southward, and eastward, and westward: Gen. 13 : 11 15. For all the land which thou seest, to thee will I give it, and to thy seed for ever. Gen. 12 : 7 16. And I will make thy seed as the dust of the earth: so that if a man can number the dust of the earth, then shall thy seed also be numbered. 17. Arise, walk through the land in the length of it and in the breadth of it ; for I will give it unto thee. 18. Then A’-bram removed his tent, and came and dwelt in the plain of Mam’-re, which is in He’-bron, and built there an altar unto the LORD.

  34. 17 And the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house with great plagues because of Sarai Abram’s wife.

    Abraham did perhaps one of the hardest steps that a human can do which is to step out of the boat of comfort and follow the leading of Christ. He left his home and everything that he knew behind but when things started going wrong and the fear of confrontation with the world, Egypt, came upon him he gave in to that fear. Despite that the Lord still took care of him and what was his. Even in the beginning stories of the bible we see the frailty of man and the greatness of God’s merciful love. If the Lord is leading you somewhere do not be afraid what the journey brings for he will be with you every step of the way.

  35. 2 And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing.

  36. But look how much strong Abram was in God. When he could have little satisfaction in converse with the Canaanites who he found there, and he had an abundance of pleasure in communion with that God who brought him to this place and did not leave him , he kept this up with his prayer and by the word . yet also notice that he built an altar in many places , we shouldn’t be afraid to build an altar in the middle of downtown or if it’s in the middle school , good will show show him self .

  37. 1 Now the Lord had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee:
    2 And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:
    3 And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed.
    4 So Abram departed, as the Lord had spoken unto him; and Lot went with him: and Abram was seventy and five years old when he departed out of Haran.
    God has given Abram a promise, a destiny. It is by the hand of God that these dreams will come true, not by ours. On our own, we cause destruction and havoc. With God, we are a part of something so much greater than what we can imagine.

Leave a Reply

